Customer Reviews for

Dead, White, and Blue (Death on Demand Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I fell in love with this series 23 books ago! I was captivated

    I fell in love with this series 23 books ago! I was captivated by Annie and Max Darling and the serene setting of Broward's Rock. The latest release includes all the characters we've come to love and a marvelous plot that kept me guessing right up until the very end. This is one of my all time favorite series and I hope it goes on forever!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Another Annie and Max book I couldn't put down!  Buy this book a

    Another Annie and Max book I couldn't put down!  Buy this book at your earliest opportunity-you will love the characters, the plot, the descriptions and most of all the  pacing of the latest addition to a great series!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I have always loved the Annie and Max series. Another wonderful

    I have always loved the Annie and Max series. Another wonderful book from a wonderful author

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Read

    I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and this one is no exception. I love the characters and the setting and have come to feel that these people are friends. It is worth the time to read and get acquainted with all kinds of mystery books and authors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Carolyn Hart's 23rd book in the Death on Demand series, Dead, Wh

    Carolyn Hart's 23rd book in the Death on Demand series, Dead, White and Blue has shades of Agatha Christie running through it, as well as, as old fashioned game of Clue. Annie Darling and her husband Max are investigating a couple of disappearances in Broward's Rock and there are definitely some fireworks. Long times readers of the series will marvel at Hart's ability to keep the series fresh and original, while new fans will line up to read the other 22 books in this long lived series. A great addition to the series!

    What I liked:

    Carolyn Hart is a master at devising new and entertaining plots for her Death on Demand series. Every book has a central theme that Hart works from and Dead, White and Blue is no different. Hart works not from a murder, but a disappearance angle with this book, which was an interesting plot device, and one she hasn't used before with the series. I think readers continue to flock to Hart's books because they are tied together but still provide an original plot every time. 

    Adultry seems to be on the dance card at the Broward's Rock 4th of July Dance. Shell Hurst is a bit notorious in town and wives have to keep close tabs on their husbands when she is around. When she abruptly disappears during the dance, several people are glad to see her go. But it's up to Annie and Max to find out what really happened in Dead, White and Blue. I liked the theme for this one. There are tons of suspects and a plethora of motives. Hart pulls out all the stops to explain what could have happened to Shell and to the waiter who saw her walk away that night. I think readers will have a difficult time trying to pin down the killer. It's one of the things that make the Death on Demand books so good, they are not at all predictable.

    Was it Miss Scarlett in the Lounge with the knife? The ending for this one reminds me a good old fashioned game of clue. Where Annie and Max think they know whodunit, but they can't prove it without drawing out the killer. I love the fact that Hart stays true to her writing roots and continues to write her stories with a flair for Agatha Christie. Her writing is similar to one of the greats in mystery writing and the ending in Dead, White and Blue is exactly how Christie would done it. Get them all together and force a confession. Miss Marple or Hercule Perot would have been proud. It was perfect!

    What I didn't like:

    Not much to talk about here, since this is one of good ones. Hart has a knack for writing great old school mysteries that draw the reader in and won't let go. I loved it.

    Bottom Line:

    If you love Agatha Christie, Carolyn Hart is the writer for you. This a great addition to the Death on Demand series which I for one, hope continues until there are a hundred titles. It's just that good. You'll be missing out if you don't give this one a close examination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Dead, White and Blue is the 23rd book in the A death On Demand B

    Dead, White and Blue is the 23rd book in the A death On Demand Bookstore Mystery series.

    I had a hard time getting started on this one, but once I understood the relationship between Wesley Hurst, Vera Hurst and Shell Hurst, I was able to really get going with the book. Hart, once again, provides the reader with a relaxing story and a wonderful cast of characters from Broward Rock.

    Annie and Max are looking forward to annual Fourth of July dance and fireworks after. At the dance, Shell Hurst, who hasn't met a man she doesn't love, is fashionably late to the dance, has words with her husband and visibly upsets some a couple other dance partners. Five days later, Hayley Hurst, comes to Max's office and ask for him to look for her step mother. Max is hesitant, but it soon becomes apparent that she has in fact gone missing. When her Porsche and her dead body are found in a pond on the country club's golf course, Annie and Max get serious about looking into her disappearance. And Hayley's brother seems to be the prime suspect. There many suspects to consider, other than the step-son and finally Annie and Max stage a recreation to put the finger on the murderer.

    As is Hart's norm, Death on Demand holds there monthly" name the book" contest.

    Always a treat to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Yukikit

    Hello?

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1