Customer Reviews for

Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1669 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(891)

4 Star

(453)

3 Star

(208)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Good series!!

The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terri...
The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.
The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.
This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Did I miss something?

I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way th...
I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1677 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 84
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Proofreading needs to be done

    For 99 cents I can tolerate errors like "goodooking" instead of "good looking." But really - having seen how bad the proofing is in this book, it makes me question getting books from this publisher.

    The story itself is fun and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Dead Witch Walking

    This is an awesome series! Sarcastic and has witches, wolves, vampires, pixes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Come on ladies

    STOP WRITING FREAKING NOVELS OF YOUR OWN INSTEAD OF A REVIEW!!!!!!!!! IN THE TIME IT TAKES TO READ YOUR NOVEL SIZED REVIEWS I COULD BE 3 CHPTS INTO THE DARN BOOK!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    New Fan!

    I loved Dead Witch Walking. It's the first book by Kim Harrison I've read and now I want to read her others. I'm a new fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awesome

    Im re-reading the series in order again. Tinks a disney whore loveeee Jenks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    JENKS RULES!!!!!

    Love me some pixie :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Truly an awesome series

    You will be captivated by this whole series with the most amazing cast of characters! Truly a magnificent writer with an incredible sense of humor and you will be spellbound until the end. You will be ready for thestory to continue.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    F

    Its a Fantastic series .... the kind of book you cant putdown and sad when you read SO fast and over to soon!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Love this series!

    I stumbled upon this series by accident, and fell in love with it immediately. This writer blends fantasy with real life in this amazing way so that it all seems perfectly reasonable and it makes sense. I love Rachel because she is the epitome of a reluctant hero. This author quickly became a favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    i love her writing techniques and the characters the books are a great read!!!! already up to book 5 and I just started 3 weeks ago!!!! BEST READ EVER!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Very good book

    I picked this one up and was immediatly hooked.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    A great paranormal action romance thriller

    The first chapter of this book made me put it down the very first time that I tried to read this book.... however on one stormy fall night i picked it up again and tried to read it again. Well low and behold to my surprise not only did i get through the first chapter... i finished the entire book. It was confusing for the first chapter or so but the plot picks up so quickly that i couldn't put it down until i finished it. So now i am hooked on the whole series because it keeps me on my toes, makes me laugh, and makes me sigh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Totally hooked on this series!

    I love this series - I havent been able to do much of anything else except read!! The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because the books and ebooks have typo's and some editing errors. I need to hurry and finish reading all of them so I can start cleaning house again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Plenty of character

    Always love reading this series. I've never seen an author who puts this much action per page into a book. The characters are also memorable, authentic-feeling and entertaining in their nuances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Fun series

    This series of books are fun to read. If you like the Shape Shifter books with love you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Blah

    Unless you are okay with reading a book in which the characters constantly annoy you, I would not buy this book. I read this series to a certain point and than just gave up. The plot pushes you forward enough to make it slightly interesting, but the characters are not engaging at all. Even her love interests in future books make me want to yell into the book and say "Why????" In no way, shape, or form was I ever rooting for boyfriend #1 or #2. And the whole thing with Ivy drives me crazy. I just want to shout "Make up your mind already!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good Read!

    I enjoyed this so much that I bought them all before I even finished the first one! If you like Charlaine Harris and others, you should give Dead Witch Walking a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Very Highly Recommend

    This book alone got me into reading. It's fast paced, action, adventure & comedy. Very little drama & romance. What do ya get when a witch, vampire, & a pixie live together in a church? Come visit the Hollows & find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    BORING

    I don't understand how this book has received such high ratings~! I had to make myself finish it... completely HORRIBLE storyline, could not relate w any of the characters ~!

    #thisbookshouldbefree

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can you say SLOW!!!

    I had a very hard time finishing this book. The author had such a great concept, but it failed to translate onto the pages. Maybe the author's writing style is not my cup of tea. I found myself getting bored in between chapters, and I started daydreaming. There is a lack of chemistry between characters, or maybe even a lack of characters. Rachel (main), Jenks (pixie) and Ivy (vampire sidekick) were unfortunately not very entertaining to me. Great idea, poor execution! I am a little surprised at the high ratings for this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1677 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 84