Customer Reviews for

Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(894)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(208)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Good series!!

The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terri...
The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.
The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.
This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Did I miss something?

I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way th...
I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1681 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 85
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the best fantasy novels I have read. The supernat

    This is one of the best fantasy novels I have read. The supernatural aspects blend well with the somewhat dark humor and compelling plot. I also love the characters. Jenks the pixie is hilarious! All of the characters are wonderfully three-dimensional. Rachel is a great, tough heroine. Kim Harrison is an author whose work will be anticipated in the future. Her writing and her wonderful look into the preternatural world reminds me of Laurell K. Hamilton. This is  an outstanding series that I gladly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    There is an interesting idea here, but the characters don't feel

    There is an interesting idea here, but the characters don't feel like real people and the situations don't draw me in, except in small bits.  Neither the characters or the story made me care enough about them to want to read the next book, though they kept me just interested enough to finish this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Recommend

    Although this book started out kind of slow, it kept me wondering what was going to happen. I found it easy to put down. I did however purchase and am currently reading book 2 in the series. So far, it is a pretty good read. I say give it a chance, because each books seems to get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Love at first read,

    This is the kind of book i like to call love at first read, the first chaper had me hooked, im on book #9 right now, and i can tell u, ot keeps gettin better and better, if you like the antia blake series you will love rachal morgan, she is as firey and fisty as hernhair is red, this series will have you laughing, jumping out of your seat screaming, you heart pounding for love and the steamy sex scenes, and even you heart breaking. Where u ball your eyes out... its a awesome paranorrmal book that has a little bit of everything, this author is wonderful and makes u feel everything she wants you too. So if you r a reader likr me. than dont be dumb ad miss the chance to find this series. Cause you'll regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Short

    Too short. Had potential story just didn't develop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Recommended

    I enjoyed it., and plan to read the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    not the best

    Had to force myself to finish it. Coulda been so much better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    This was one of my "likes". I am a fan of paranormal r

    This was one of my "likes". I am a fan of paranormal romance and this one was fun. It wasn't sappy and it had alot of intrigue. A good story line and support for what you are reading. It did not leave me wanting to put the book down but looking forward to the next in line for the series. One of the ratings complained that she just jumped right into the story and did not explain her new world before and they were confused. Well I caught on pretty quick and that was a good part of it that was fun. I read to dive into a new world not to experience the same thing that I deal with in real life. So I give this one a thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and entertaining

    I really enjoy the characters and the story line - am glad I started this series for the summer. Just the right mix of private detective, danger, and a little suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Review

    Story to slow. Couldnt grab my atention

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Not bad for 99cents

    This is a cute beach read. Kind of slow and repetitive at times but it was alright. Loved Jenks the pixie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    With every emotion you ever want to feel in a good adventure: thrill, alarm, humor, impatience, amusemnt, suspense, sorrow, and hope, Ms. Harris flies you through her PG-13 urban vamp story with ease. This is no amatuer at work. I'm looking forward to more great work from this author and her cast of characters.

    There are some typos, (at least in the ebook) particularly on Harris's many hyphenated words; that was a little distracting. Also, it took me some time to warm up to her protagonist. Her villian for this story, however, is complex and represents just the right mix of mystery and power for me to crave more. Altogether a satisfying read for any sort of sci-fi or urban fantasy fan (a taste for vampires not really required). Please try this book and enjoy it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Just Plain Fun to Read

    Very easy to follow. Interesting characters. Twisting plot. What more could you ask for. I have no idea what the other reviewers were looking for in a novel, but I read for the fun factor. It is not written for teens. Sex is there but tastfull. Funny as hell at one moment and scary as hell the next. I love this series. Im on book 4 and dont regret reading a single page. Its not rocket science, its a fun series that is addicting to everyone I have told. I like this style of writing even more than the Hunger Games series. I laughed out loud several times and keep my eyes wide open at the scary parts. Easy read, enjoyable. It is what it is. It wont change your life, but it will put a smile on your face if you give it a chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    GREAT PAGETURNER!!

    I was not especially eager to read this book at first because i am not really into the whole vamp thing, BUT once i began readimg i could hardly put it down ,,, Highly recommend,,,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not too bad. Would not pay eight dollars for

    Got this vook for 99¿. Enjoyed the read and hope to be able to check out the rest from he library some day. This book wasn't sso good that I would pay a lot for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Must dig deep

    Definitely not "gush-worthy" but not horrible. Took me awhile to get into this one. Once I got interested it was merely b/c I wanted to see how it would end. The author didn't explain strange terminology & that made parts wierd especially when they were repeatee often. It would have been acceptable in a 3rd or 4th book in a aeries but just left me confused. Im still confused about Rachel & Ivy's relationship but that is the only reason I'd read on...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Dead w Dead Witch Walking

    Sometimes a little hard to follow but very fast paced and kept me turning page after page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Such a fun and exciting book! I love the way Harrison brings her

    Such a fun and exciting book! I love the way Harrison brings her characters to a believable reality. The interactions between Rachel and Ivy make you excited to read more. I absolutely love Jenks! His character made me long to have an actual pixy as a friend. This book is entertaining and fun from beginning to end. I find myself not wanting to put it down as I've become invested in the characters and their lives. It's like listening to a friend. love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Excellent first book - great series

    Well written, characters are believeable. Great read and is diverse with vampires, banshee's, ghosts, demons, fairies, pixies, elves hounds of hell, and witches. You will come to love Rachel Morgan and her pixie friend Jinx. Harrison is an excellent writer and rarely if ever are there typos, grammatical issues or lack of character development. She is an awesome writer - highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Why is this book in paranormal romance? Paranormal - yes. Roma

    Why is this book in paranormal romance? Paranormal - yes. Romance - not at all. I usually go through a book in a day or two if it's good enough because I don't want to put it down. This one took me several days. It was mildly entertaining and I kept forcing myself to go thinking the romance would blossom LATE in the book but was disappointed to find nothing other than the introduction of a possible love connection for the future. I just don't know that I'll waste my time and money on reading further in the series if possibility of a romance is all I'm going to get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1681 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 85