Customer Reviews for

Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(894)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(208)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Good series!!

The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terri...
The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.
The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.
This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Did I miss something?

I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way th...
I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Did I miss something?

    I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

    First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

    I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
    Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

    I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow! It takes a while for the characters and the plot to come together.

    This is the first book in the Rachel Morgan Series. If one can get through the first hundred or so pages the rest of the book is a real treat. The reader starts to feel like part of the action. The way the supernatural world and the human world combine in this series is intriguing. By the end of this book I personally could not wait to read the next one in this series.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    It's just ok...

    This series was recommended to me by a friend because I enjoy Charlaine Harris and Laurell K Hamilton. I was told that if I can make it through the first book that the others are better. I really hope so. I'm almost finished reading this and it was all I could do to make it through the first 50 pages. I find Rachel to be annoying and whiney. And as others have said before me, she is supposed to be some super witch that can make these awesome potions but yet she does really stupid things and doesn't plan ahead. It seems like someone in her position as a "runner" would have learned by now to plan. As for the other characters in the book; I enjoy Jenks but I really wish Ivy's character would be developed a little more. And maybe in other books after this, it gets better but as for this book, she needs work. Supposedly Rachel and Ivy have worked together before but yet one would think that they are perfect strangers trying to live together. I think the relationship between them and their living arrangement is just far too exaggerated. Rachel, in her profession and from just being exposed to vampires in general, she should be a little more familiar with vampires. It's not as if she has never seen a vampire before or knew they existed. I really hope that the second book is much better than the first.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed it!

    Urban fantasy just may be my new favorite genre. I absolutely love the three main characters in Dead Witch Walking. The vibes between Rachel and Ivy are intriguing and I'm interested to see what the series does with their relationship. Jenks is an awesome pixy who plays backup and also has a family that lives in Rachel and Ivy's garden. Well technically it's his family's garden now, but it's behind the church Rachel and Ivy live in. Yep...they live in a church. With dead people in the backyard. How freaking cool is that? Will be checking out the second book in the series tonight & will keep an eye out for other Kim Harrison books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Twilight fans may like this, but it wasn't deep enough for me.

    I got this for free from one of the Free Fridays e-book offers B&N is doing on their e-reader / nook blog, so I'll try to be nice.

    Overall, I was sort of underwhelmed by this novel. I'm not much into the whole supernatural realism / urban fantasy trend that has been growing, but this book didn't manage to turn me off immediately, so I guess that's a positive. The characters were introduced pretty well and the back-story of the alternate history was filled in piecemeal in the earlier chapters, though it was a bit shallow in the details and it felt like only a partial recap. Overall the story was well planned out, however many of the plot threads were left unresolved at the conclusion in an obvious attempt for a continuing series. Some of there characters were only sparingly described as I suppose they would be featured more prominently in later novels, but as this was the first book in the series, I was left disappointed with what I got. Between the less than impressive writing style and the plot that did not manage to keep me hooked, I won't be reading any more of the series (unless they pop up for free, but even then it still wouldn't cause to drop whatever book I'd be in the middle of at the time).

    I gave it a 3/5 since it was free and I actually read the entire book, but if I had to base my decision on the sample chapters, I wouldn't have bought it. It had a lot of potential that just wasn't filled.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Like a G-rated version of the Anita Blake series

    I really wanted to like this series. I love the whole vampire genre and a friend of mine recommended these. The writing is a little weak and the main characters a little annoying. But the supporting characters are fun and the plot is solid.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Recommend

    Although this book started out kind of slow, it kept me wondering what was going to happen. I found it easy to put down. I did however purchase and am currently reading book 2 in the series. So far, it is a pretty good read. I say give it a chance, because each books seems to get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Recommended

    I enjoyed it., and plan to read the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    not the best

    Had to force myself to finish it. Coulda been so much better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Not bad for 99cents

    This is a cute beach read. Kind of slow and repetitive at times but it was alright. Loved Jenks the pixie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not too bad. Would not pay eight dollars for

    Got this vook for 99¿. Enjoyed the read and hope to be able to check out the rest from he library some day. This book wasn't sso good that I would pay a lot for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Proofreading needs to be done

    For 99 cents I can tolerate errors like "goodooking" instead of "good looking." But really - having seen how bad the proofing is in this book, it makes me question getting books from this publisher.

    The story itself is fun and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good Read!

    I enjoyed this so much that I bought them all before I even finished the first one! If you like Charlaine Harris and others, you should give Dead Witch Walking a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can you say SLOW!!!

    I had a very hard time finishing this book. The author had such a great concept, but it failed to translate onto the pages. Maybe the author's writing style is not my cup of tea. I found myself getting bored in between chapters, and I started daydreaming. There is a lack of chemistry between characters, or maybe even a lack of characters. Rachel (main), Jenks (pixie) and Ivy (vampire sidekick) were unfortunately not very entertaining to me. Great idea, poor execution! I am a little surprised at the high ratings for this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I feel like I missed something...

    This book was a decent read, in that the story was different and because of that enjoyable. The only qualm I had with this story was that it felt like I came into the middle of this series rather than the very beginning. Sure there's an extensive history lesson wrapped in the story, but it still feels like I missed out on a lot of things - Why did Rachel join the I.S. in the first place, how did she meet Jenks and Ivy? What led her on the downward spiral of failed runs?

    I can agree with a lot of other reviews that this story does leave a lot up in the air when it ends. But those I feel were purposefully put into the story to make you continue reading the series and find out how the FIB guy "recognized" Nick and his history, what's with this weird relationship she has with Ivy, Trent really never lets go, and so on.

    All in all I thought it was a fun read when I finally let go of my frustration that I felt like I had missed something. Convincing myself that I hadn't really made me enjoy this book, and I plan to start the next in the series in a few days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ok - I'm looking forward to the rest of the series

    Now that I've read the first one... I'll have to read the rest. I really don't have any idea were the relationship are going, which is usually a good thing. I'll have a better idea on whether or not I can recommend this after I've read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OK novel

    This book gets an OK from me. It was so hard to get through but I couldn't tell if that was my own distraction or the book itself. The story itself is merely OK, neither thrilling, nor terrible. The positives are the setting and the secondary characters who only get more intriguing as the series goes on. In fact, the main issue with this novel is that on its own it's not terribly satisfying. However, as the series progresses it keeps getting better and I was pleased that I stuck through this first novel and decided to read the second and the third...<BR/><BR/>What I love about the series as a whole is Harrison's ability to transform seeming villains into romantic heroes. Despite being the narrator, Rachel seems to serve more as a means for the secondary characters to shine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Slow beginning

    Sexy Rachael Morgan is not enough to get this book going in the beginning. I only started enjoying the book toward the end, but hey it's a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    i forced myself to read it

    Dead Witch Walking was an interesting book, but unlike its counterparts, such as anita blake, it simply drops you off in an alternate reality, and leaves you to figure the world out by your self. instead of enjoying the first half of the book i was confused trying to figure out wording, and what different things were, living vampire? inderlander? and many more. if i sat down and read it again it might be more enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    I liked this book a-lot. The pacing was amazing, the description

    I liked this book a-lot. The pacing was amazing, the description and writing rich and colorful - once you got past the first half of the book. I'd have given it a 4 star had it picked up sooner. That said I'm excited to read the next story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11