Customer Reviews for

Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(894)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(208)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Good series!!

The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terri...
The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.
The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.
This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Did I miss something?

I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way th...
I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good series!!

    The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.<BR/>The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.<BR/>This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The start of something great

    To be honest, I think this is one of the two worst novels in this series, but that by no means makes it bad. I enjoyed reading this book and it is necessary to read it before you continue on to the next ones. While Harrison does give brief recaps and explanations of things in later novels to catch up the new reader, it is much better to have just read them in order. What makes it not as good is simply that the characters (especially Rachel, Kisten, Jenks and Ivy) have not yet evolved into the great characters they become in later novels. Don't worry, though. Hang tight and just enjoy this series as it gets better with each book (except for one that mostly focuses on weres, but that's a personal taste).

    For a specific review of what's going on in this novel: SPOILER ALERT! Several years ago, a virus carried by genetically engineered tomatoes (corny, but works with later story aspects) wipes out a large portion of the human population (and possibly the entire elf population). Since the numbers of humans are down and much less threatening, the creatures of fantasy decide to rally together and come out of hiding to live peacefully among the humans (except the demons). The hometown for this series is Cincinnati, OH, or the Inderlander (non-human) suburb known as the Hollows, where only the brave or fiscally conservative humans (land is cheaper since it's supposedly dangerous) live and play. Rachel Morgan, an earth witch, which means that she makes potions and charms that need to be invoked with her blood, rather than casting spells which draw energy from ley lines (basically power lines which connect our world with the ever-after, where demons dwell), is in a dead end job with the I.S. (inhuman version of the FBI, the human version of which is called the FIB in this series) and she wants out of the contract. The only thing is that no one gets out of their contracts alive, or so stories say. Anyway, when she tries to leave by making a leprechaun give her 3 wishes (I know, pretty cheesy, but bear with it again), her high-speed coworker Ivy, a powerful living vampire, and Rachel's backup pixy, Jenks, want in on the action for their own reasons. In her attempt to get out, Rachel comes under an I.S. death threat which she has to avoid while trying to take down the local crime-lord/ celebrated public figure Trent Kalamack, who is equally dangerous. She uses her own willpower and the help of her friends to get past all obstacles. Obviously, with 6 other books and counting in this series, Rachel makes it, but this book helps a lot with the back story for the other ones.
    Also, if you're wondering what population this series caters to, I would say it is more mature than the Twilight or Harry Potter series, but much more fun and easier to follow than Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Creative Premise Surprises

    I bought this book because I wanted a cheap paperback novel to take on a plane trip. The author, Kim Harrison, has a new hardback out, so I thought I would start at the beginning of the Rachel Morgan series. The beginning of this book was a little off-putting, dropping me in to this universe she has created with little in the way of explanation. But I stuck it out and soon enough the premise for this very creative alternate universe was explained. I won't spoil it here, but I will say that in this universe witches, vampires, werewolves, and other "mythical" creatures have come out of the closet and live openly in a contemporary setting, Cincinnati to be exact. So how would our contemporary society handle other people with magical abilities and unusual strengths? Apparently with a lot of insurance, licensing, and bureaucracy. And the magical people have their own police force to keep them in line. That's where our protagonist Rachel Morgan comes in. She's a runner for the I.S., bringing in tax-cheating leprechauns and the like, who decides to go out on her own. She partners with a fellow runner, a living (as opposed to undead) vampire who's been on the wagon for three years and a pixie who's an expert at sniffing out other magical creatures and disabling security cameras. In retaliation the I.S. puts a contract out on Rachel Morgan. She spends most of the book avoiding assassins while attempting to bring in Cincinnati's bio-drug and brimstone kingpin. It's like Mickey Spillane meets the Brothers Grimm. Occasionally the writing seems a bit awkward, not uncommon in first novels, but the premise gives rise to its own vernacular and dark humor. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy, adventure, and mystery novels. I have already read the next book in the series, and it only gets better.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good first book

    Although i hated the fact that there was barley any romance and that it was mostly slow paced, i turned out to really like this series. The characters were wonderful! Jenks is awesome and had me laughing out loud several times throughout 1 chapter alone! And the situation with adjusting to living with a vampire was hilarious. Im really looking forward to reading the next book to see what will happen in the future with Nick, her death threats, and just to see what Jenks has to say next! I think any person looking for a good read, or some good laughs will definitely fall in love with this series. I just hope that there is more romance because ive got to have some lovin' going on in what im reading. ;]

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and entertaining

    I really enjoy the characters and the story line - am glad I started this series for the summer. Just the right mix of private detective, danger, and a little suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Dead w Dead Witch Walking

    Sometimes a little hard to follow but very fast paced and kept me turning page after page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    A great paranormal action romance thriller

    The first chapter of this book made me put it down the very first time that I tried to read this book.... however on one stormy fall night i picked it up again and tried to read it again. Well low and behold to my surprise not only did i get through the first chapter... i finished the entire book. It was confusing for the first chapter or so but the plot picks up so quickly that i couldn't put it down until i finished it. So now i am hooked on the whole series because it keeps me on my toes, makes me laugh, and makes me sigh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Totally hooked on this series!

    I love this series - I havent been able to do much of anything else except read!! The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because the books and ebooks have typo's and some editing errors. I need to hurry and finish reading all of them so I can start cleaning house again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Plenty of character

    Always love reading this series. I've never seen an author who puts this much action per page into a book. The characters are also memorable, authentic-feeling and entertaining in their nuances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Fun series

    This series of books are fun to read. If you like the Shape Shifter books with love you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Love it!

    It isn't something to take seriously, but if you want to be entertained, it's a winner. The only drawbacks are numerous typographical errors and occasionally less explanation than I feel is warranted of the varied species of supernaturals. Overall I enjoyed it immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little different

    I don't need a book with big words... I want a good story, and good character development, and this is what Harrison gives. I like the silly Pixie humor and it is only appropriate in the 20th century America. I thought the book was clever and cute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Story!

    For those who enjoy the urban fantasy genre, this is the perfect series to add to your collection! Fun plot, great characters, and plenty more to come - if you liked Sookie Stackhouse, Anita Blake, and Riley Jensen, you'll definitely get a kick out of Rachel Morgan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Well, I got this book by complete accident, bought it when I thought it was free on my nook. That being said, I loved it. Though I think it was intended to be a ladies read, it has completely enthralled me. Those of you who liked twilight, (or hated it as I did) will like this. A fine mix of vampires and witchcraft in a modern world. I am looking forward to the sequels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    took me a minute but...

    It was kind of hard to get into this book at first. I didn't get alot of the lingo and the beginning was slow. There was a lot of unnecessary content; i didn't need to know every single smell, color and feeling of every situation and character. Anyway, some readers like all that attention to detail i guess. I also noticed quite a few typos (Francis was spelled wrong several time) and punctuation errors. On the other hand, I loved every single character and i thought it had a great plot! It just took me a minute to get hooked but i am definitely going to get the next book! I think I will like this series

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    love the mix

    a very good mix of supernatural characters ... pixies, witches, vampires, faeries, demons, oh ... and then there are the humans :) the first 100 pages was kind of confusing ... too much? too soon? too fast? ... almost lost me ... however, when things settled in they got very good and fun ... harrison's use of magic is intensely clever and jenk's and matalina are worth the entire story ... got the ebook for free on promotion, but will def be reading the rest of this quirky, inventive, fast-paced series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    not bad

    It took me a real long time to get into this book. But I kept going and finally got hooked. Maybe it was because the backgound info wasn't till a quarter of the way though. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood. It wasn't bad once I wanted to find out what was going to happen. I guess I'm just a Harry Dresden fan. I would problably read the next one now that I know a little more of whats going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Great world to Escape into

    Diving into a new world is sometimes confusing, but Kim Harrison's smooth writing style makes it a plesure to learn about Rachel Morgans life. All though I find Rachel Morgan a little on the "whiney" side, the quick moving plot makes it easier to accept her as the heroine. I am excited to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the series so far

    Personally i thought the series was quite exiting. The first book started off a little slow but after you got used to the terms and wording the book got even better; even more so as the series went along and i was exceptionally pleased that i stuck with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    If you Like Sookie

    A little slow getting into but once I did I know I will read the entire series. Well written with each character having big enough personalities and enough mystery to carry many more story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23