Customer Reviews for

Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(894)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(208)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Good series!!

The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terri...
The storyline is pretty good, and it's a fresh take on what can easily become cliche. If you can get past the sometimes stilted prose and repeated usage of phrases ("my stomach knotted", "made my head throb"), it's an entertaining, light read. The vocabulary isn't terribly interesting or challenging, though every once in a while, the author will come up with a beautiful Koontzian phrase to paint the imagery which offsets the clangers.
The main character though isn't nearly as interesting as the conflicted Ivy, which can be quite distracting, and the strengths of the writing come in the confrontational scenarios between Rachel and Ivy. I'm guessing this is where Kim Harrison really got cranked up and engaged in the writing.
This book was entertaining enough for me to purchase the second in the series, which I am currently reading and will review.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Did I miss something?

I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way th...
I picked up this ebook when it was offered free, a fact I'm glad for because I never would have paid for it.

First of all, I seriously thought I had started in the middle of an established series. The characters keep making references to places and things in a way that makes you think you should know what their talking about, and when they finally do explain it, it's very brief and written like a recap.

I found the main to character to be, well, somewhat wishy-washy. Not at all like the tough, bad guy-go getter I'd expect. One minute she's fine and appears to be on the verge of a break through, only to collapse back again into the realm of sad and almost pathetic. Rachel Morgan can't make her mind up about anything, and when she finally does she seems to regret it almost immediately.
Personally I found her Vampire roomy Ivy and her partner in crime Jenks the pixy and his massive brood to be more interesting, which is sad considering how underdeveloped the characters, were. There was potential, the back-story was there, but it was never brought out.

I'd consider reading more of this series...but only if they offer it for free!

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 894 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Love this series!

    I stumbled upon this series by accident, and fell in love with it immediately. This writer blends fantasy with real life in this amazing way so that it all seems perfectly reasonable and it makes sense. I love Rachel because she is the epitome of a reluctant hero. This author quickly became a favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    i love her writing techniques and the characters the books are a great read!!!! already up to book 5 and I just started 3 weeks ago!!!! BEST READ EVER!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Very good book

    I picked this one up and was immediatly hooked.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Very Highly Recommend

    This book alone got me into reading. It's fast paced, action, adventure & comedy. Very little drama & romance. What do ya get when a witch, vampire, & a pixie live together in a church? Come visit the Hollows & find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Love Love

    I have read the first four of this series in a week. It's fast moving, with a lot of action and laughs, but also leaves you gaping and worrying. Excellent character development and relations, as well as a truly original story had me flying through these books. Also, I'm not big on romance novels and these books have just enough without overkilling it and sending it to the romance novel section. Kim Harrison has put an imaginative and original twist on all aspects of the supernatural world as we know it and it is just beautiful. I wish we could see a world like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Kim Harrison!

    I actually have this book in paperback, but wanted the ebook for when I'm out and about, and I will read again in a heartbeat. Love the Rachel Morgan Series and I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Review for Dead Witch Walking

    I LOVE this series. It took me a minute to get absorbed into the world of Rachel Morgan, I was hooked once I got through book 2. Kim Harrsion had me chuckling and I don't always do that when I read, so that was refreshing (I especially like the character of Jenks). If you like the paranormal this is a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!!

    I've never been much of a sci-fi fan, but after reading Twilight & the Sookie Stackhouse series....I'm sold! Kim Harrison is a great writer - her characters are complex & interesting. The book was very hard to put donw!
    I just bought the next one in the series...can't wait to read it, too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kim Harrison makes this series a great one to read.

    If you're looking to lose yourself in a great work of fiction and enjoy stories of action, adventure, werewolves, witches and anything that may go bump in the night then this one is for you.

    I discovered this book by chance, I thought the cover art was interesting and picked it up, read the snippet of what the book was about and thought it may make an interesting read.

    I wasn't disappointed at all. Kim Harrison's writing style is strong, fun, original and imaginative. The characters in the books are well thought out, original, and they take a lot of beatings of all different sorts.

    A Fistful of Charms is my favorite so far, but that is likely change with future books.

    This series is a must have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    A new take on old themes.

    Ms. Harrison has created a new style of characters, set in a new type of fantasy world, with a different system of magic. If your tired of the tried and true, been there done that, then Harrison's books will delight you. Like Charlene Harris, Sookie series, and Jim Butcher's Dresden, these books are NOT set in New York, L.A., Miami, etc, and like Harris and Butcher Harrison's take on the entire genre is uniquely her own. I've read all of the books in this series and I love how the characters change, become more or less powerful, and the relationships are constantly changing. Like Butcher's Dresden one gets the feeling that all of the books are part of a larger over all grand plot while each book stands entirely on it its own as a complete story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    A fun read!

    I discovered this book while browsing for something to read on the plane, and I was hooked immediately. Her characters are well defined and amusing, and the story keeps your interest. I've read all KH's books so far and eagerly await the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Outstanding!

    I've read lot's of books but none can compare to this. It's like the Harry Potter world all grown up with a hint of Robert Ludlums the borune trilogy. The magic worl has been exposed and now all humans know about it though it's more serious than HP it's not completly real and keeps you in fantasy fantastic suspence all the way I'm on the second one and cant wait for the third. Please write more Kim! The charchters are a Witch, a Vamp, and a Pixy he's hilarious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    A good balence between Anita and Sookie

    I picked this book up at B&N in Anchorage, AK to read on the plane to Seattle, WA and was hooked! My favorite kinds of books are the ones with strong female characters who kick major bu** and still looks after her friends in the process! Harrisons lead character Racheal is a nice mix of Anita Blake and Sookie, and her 'gang' is completely unique. There not the usual werewolf vs. vampire bunch, Racheals friends include a pixie family, a mysterious guy who knows about demons (perhaps he is part demon himself?), witches (are there male witches? or are they called warlocks?) and of course the non-praticing vampire chick! They are a hoot! This book was action packed while still mataining a sense humor it didn't take itself to seriously, I loved it and can not wait for the next one to come out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Good book

    Great start to a great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    I have enjoyed all the books so far i can not wait for the last

    I have enjoyed all the books so far i can not wait for the last one. They have a little something for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Awesome!

    What's not to love!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Absolutely wonderful

    I hated this book so much. First there aren't any sex scenes. Second i hated the main characters vaginal opening that i didnt finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Best series i have ever read

    This is my absolute favorite series and for those that didnt finish the first book or any others in the series......your loss.....they only got better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    great new series

    Excellant read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Must read

    This series is great. A must read from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 894 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 45