Customer Reviews for

Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I found it to be an easy read and it went by quickly. Too quickley, in fact I found mysekf staying up way too late just so I could read a little more. In typical Stephen Hunter fashion his details for the weaponry is excellent which I believe not only ' puts you there' ...
I found it to be an easy read and it went by quickly. Too quickley, in fact I found mysekf staying up way too late just so I could read a little more. In typical Stephen Hunter fashion his details for the weaponry is excellent which I believe not only ' puts you there' it brings the adventure to life. Simply pur if you enjoyed ISnipe you will right at home with Dead Zero. Enjoy!

posted by 9785244 on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

horrible

was the worst stephen hunter book i have ever read. i looked to me like he was trying to set the series up for a new character. bob lee was not bob lee, he had none of the quality's that we grow to love about this character. the idea was sound but the delivery was reckl...
was the worst stephen hunter book i have ever read. i looked to me like he was trying to set the series up for a new character. bob lee was not bob lee, he had none of the quality's that we grow to love about this character. the idea was sound but the delivery was reckless and unimaginative. it seemed to me like he is tired of writing this character so he just made it bad on purpose. i could expect this kind of novel from a beginner, but not after books like time to hunt and 47th samurai. shame on him and shame on his editors

posted by RED1981 on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    horrible

    was the worst stephen hunter book i have ever read. i looked to me like he was trying to set the series up for a new character. bob lee was not bob lee, he had none of the quality's that we grow to love about this character. the idea was sound but the delivery was reckless and unimaginative. it seemed to me like he is tired of writing this character so he just made it bad on purpose. i could expect this kind of novel from a beginner, but not after books like time to hunt and 47th samurai. shame on him and shame on his editors

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Good Book

    I found it to be an easy read and it went by quickly. Too quickley, in fact I found mysekf staying up way too late just so I could read a little more. In typical Stephen Hunter fashion his details for the weaponry is excellent which I believe not only ' puts you there' it brings the adventure to life. Simply pur if you enjoyed ISnipe you will right at home with Dead Zero. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Swagger thriller is a fabulous entry with a strong cast

    In Afghanistan near the Pakistan border, U.S. marine sniper team Whiskey 2-2 is deployed on a covert operation to kill Taliban commander Ibrahim "the Beheader" Zarzi. However, someone betrayed the unit leaving them massacred by professionals in the tribal area.

    Several months later, Zarzi quits the Taliban. He travels to America where he meets the president and congressional leaders. The State Department believes he is the best choice to bring a corrupt free stable government to the war torn nation. At the same time, apparently Marine Gunnery Sergeant Ray "the Cruise Missile" Cruz, thought dead in the Zarzi massacre especially with the crater remains of the unit as proof, has reported by radio using last years codes. He resolutely will complete his final mission. The FBI deploys retired Marine sniper Bob "the Nailer" Lee Swagger to prevent Cruz from beheading the Beheader while someone in the shadows tracks Bob in order to kill Cruz before he can be debriefed.

    The latest Swagger thriller (see I, Sniper and Night Thunder) is a fabulous entry with a strong cast especially the lead male trio. Besides non-stop action, the story line contains an insightful look at political strange bedfellows in which yesterday's most wanted for assassination becomes today's most wanted ally or visa versa; think of Reagan-Bush 41 befriend Hussein in the 1980s becoming public enemy number one for Bush 41 and Bush 43. Swagger understands this as his mission is to do whatever including kill a fellow marine to protect an Afghan who probably led the slaughter of Whiskey 2-2. Fast-paced, fans anticipate the collision as The Cruise Missile targets the Beheader with The Nailer targeting the Cruise Missile while someone waits in the shadows to clean up the mess.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Big Bad Swagger

    Swagger comes ouy of the hills and hollers to excite us once again. Each new book just brings me closer to Swagger as if he were the neighbor up the road and just stopped by and asked if I would feed his dog for a few days. Then he is gone for a few months and just reappears. It never ceases to amaze me how many people know of his exploits the world over he was never declared a national hero. I know this is fiction but written as if you really do know the man as a close neighbor. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to ne entertained with a fast moving good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action-packed relentless suspense thriller!

    Stephen Hunter does it again. More intense action than usual, even! Don't read all the reviews - they tell too much about the plot! Just start the book and you will be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Good read.

    Satisfying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Another good read... so where are the other movies?

    Another page turner with seemingly promise of more to come. Mr. Hunter writes with well researched prose weaving another great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Always a excellent read

    Started reading and didn't put down until finished.
    Stephen Hunter is factual while still keeping the reader totally absorbed.
    Top marks again for an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    As usual Hunter's books, a Great Read

    Stephen Hunter has created a "can't wait for the next book" series based upon three characters. Earl Swagger, Bob Lee Swagger and now Ray Cruz. Good story that will keep you interested.

    The books weren't written in order by the characters, so I recommend that you start reading with the fist of these books with Hot Springs. I didn't and now I'm going back and reading them in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Another great read from Stephen!

    This must definitely become a movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    These times cry out for a real Swagger!

    Love Bob Lee, love his toughness, his devotion the right over wrong, and his willingness to step up. Mr. Hunter is one of the greats currently in print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Stephen Hunter and Bob Lee Swagger - what more could anyone want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Zero

    He walks away of agony

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Agony

    Stands up and staggers around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Like all the Bob Lee Swagger series, this one was great!

    From beginning to end, a great read. Stephen Hunter has introduced Ray Cruz. Bob Lee is gettingn too old for all the action and Ray is going to pick up where he leaves off. The only problem I had was I couldn't put it down once I got started reading. I've read all the Earl Swagger, Bob Lee Swagger series and have enjoyed every one. I hope there will be more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Excellent

    This book continues the series in a good way. Enjoyed the book immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best "Bob the Nailer" to date!!

    Although Swagger did not do any shooting in this book, I still think it was the best in the series. The story was modern, believeable and well told, a real page turner. I liked all of the high tech elements the author incorporated as well as the need to try to figure out who the bad guys were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Dead Zero

    I just finished reading this book on my new ebook reader. I've read most of Hunter's books, this one is the least satisfying of the bunch. It was a mediocre introduction for a new charactor I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Great book

    I found the book hard to put down. The characters of Cruz and Bobby Lee kept your attention from start to finish, with a twist at the end.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow to get started... fairly exciting middle... uninteresting climax.

    First of all, Bob Lee does not come into the picture for a little while in this one. It finally gets started when he is teamed up with Nick Memphis again, but the ending left me unsatisfied. Bob Lee Swagger has always been a character with a hands-on approach to solving things, and the ending to this one did not really match up to his character. It felt more like a Jack Ryan story than a Bob Lee Swagger story. My favorite Swagger story is still I Sniper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9