Customer Reviews for

Dead After Dark

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    Um, is the word.

    After waiting anxiously for a release from two of my favorite authors I felt disappointed. <BR/>I love Fury, but I felt he didn't get his due. He was a character who understand hurt and betrayal however wasn't overly indulging in his pain as some other characters were. The book shows his quality that made him an alpha male and an oddity to the community of were-hunters. However his heroine fell short, as I felt with most of the other recent heroines, this author has put forth. I just didn't like her as a person and a human being despite the pain that she seems to be carrying on her shoulders. There is a new transition that is happening in N.O. and it's up to the next book to expose the bring back all the thing's that made this series great.<BR/>JR Ward introduced a new and refreshing story line and plot (Although I had secretly hoped for a BDB story, I'm glad it's not, because to put a reoccurring character and sum his story in less than 100 pages doesn't do him any services). Revolving around a lawyer and her one weekend of captivity, the heroine was someone at first glance cold and not likable, however her human nature allows readers to come to respect her.<BR/>I like Susan S. story, back in historical times ghost and superstition and the unjust criminal system, she introduces all of these elements and more and tie up nicely into one good overall read.<BR/>Diane's story provided a new aspect to the paranormal community. However, I can't seem to think what it was about.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Dead After Dark by Sherrilyn Kenyon, J.R. Ward, Susan Squires & Dianna Love

    Red Alert! Sexy supernaturals ahead!! If you're a paranormal fan, don't miss the "Dead After Dark" anthology with stories by a three well-known names in the paranormal romance genre and one newcomer to watch. <BR/><BR/>Sherrilyn Kenyon's story "Shadow of the Moon" is about the werewolf Fury and takes places in the Dark-Hunter world. Fury has never let himself get close to a woman because the only woman he ever loved turned on him when his heritage was revealed. Now that woman is back, but this time she's in Fury's power. ***My only beef? Not long enough! Well...and I really wanted Fury for my own :)<BR/><BR/>"The Story of Son" by J.R. Ward is NOT a BDB story, but it IS a smoking hot contemporary story about a normal woman who gets caught up in an abnormal situation and ends up loving and saving a creature she should, by human standards, hate. ***I think this was my favorite story and I actually had tears in my eyes at one point. I'd like to see more stories from Ward about/in this world. Well...as long as it doesn't delay more BDB stories:P<BR/><BR/>Susan Squires offers "Beyond the Night" set in her historical Companion series. A man searching for love and revenge instead encounters a vampire who is searching for her own choices after a life of service to the leader of the vampires. Together, they both find the good and bad of what they're looking for. ***A sure winner if you like Squires' series. If you haven't read her series, this will give you an idea of its flavor.<BR/><BR/>New author Dianna Love rounds out the anthology with "Midnight Kiss Goodbye". A reunion romance of a modern-day warrior and the witch he left behind in an effort to keep her safe. Neither knows about the other's 'special' abilities. But know she's hunting and being hunted by a malevolent entity who's looking to use her as a gateway to unleash unspeakable violence on the world. ***Definitely an author to watch. I really enjoyed this glimpse into Love's intricate, mythical world. Very sexy and very urban fantasy. Hope to see more from her soon.<BR/><BR/>All in all, well worth the price and the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    J.R. WARD!!!!

    After reading this book, I had to find more from J.R. Ward. The Story of Son is about a vampire imprisoned in his human mother's basement. He must feed once a year, so his elderly mother and her butler finds a female, locks her in with Son. He feeds, then wipes her memory of the events and free her. The last female is different. The mother is dying so her attorney comes to update her will, but ends up as a meal for Son and they fall in love. This story was so touching, funny, thrilling that I had to have more from Ward. I started reading a book a week from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series also written by her. Her writing keeps you turning the page even when you should be doing something else, ie eating, sleeping, working, cleaning... I so recommend her books--YOU MUST READ LOVER AWAKENEN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great read!!!!

    I love the romantic escape books and this is a very good one. I have read Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward before and just love their writing. Dianna Love is a new writer to me but I would love to find more of her books..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Great collection of stories

    A nice escape and something a little different from some favoriate<BR/>pararomance authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward. I was so looking foward to this anthology! Keep it coming girls!!

    Love the series of the two main authors and their supporting authors were good follow ups for a good escape. I great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Decent

    Kenyon & Ward make this book worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    passes the time

    Love Kenyon and Ward, the other two I am not familiar with. These short stories were okay. I am used to the full lenght stories, so these shorts were okay, passes the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    J.R Ward is amazing

    Story of Son is super memorable, but I forgot the rest quickly. The five stars are for that story alone, a real page-turner. Wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great Read!

    This was a great read by three really good authors. J R Ward is one of my favs. Loved the stories in this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is so interesting and captivating. It had me changing the pages fast and then hoping for more when i got to the end! J.R. Ward's story was my favorite... but they were all awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    WARD FANS must have!

    If you are a Black Dagger Brotherhood fan then this is a MUST have. You will LOVE "SON"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    Got me interested in J.R. Ward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Story of Son

    This is an EXCELLENT addition to the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by JR Ward. It was everything you would expect of the BDB series, handsome hero, strong heroine, evil villian and a wonderful love story. I strongly recommend this story to all BDB fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dark Hunter story by Kenyon is not a stand alone but the other short stories are

    I really wanted to read this book for the Dark Hunter novella Shadow of the Moon, which is story #16.1 of the series. Fury Kattalakis is brother to Vane and Fang and first appeared in Vane's book, Night Play, which was book #5. Asheron had told Fury that he had met his mate but never told him who she was. 10 books later, it was great to finally read his story. This story didn't disappoint, but it's hard to enjoy a love story when you don't like the heroine. She had betrayed Fury in a way that I found unforgivable, more than once. But Fury has a more forgiving heart and accepted Angelia as his mate. It was enjoyable but not a must read for Dark Hunter fans.

    The J. R. Ward short, Story of Son, was very good. A definite 4 star love story of a lawyer and a vampire finding love against all odds. This story was very touching the I loved the heroine. She was smart, aggressive, and fiercely loyal. All traits making her worthy of an alpha male vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All delightful stories.

    The first story in the book revolved around Fury, a were-hunter from the DH series. I've always loved Fury's character and I felt that his story could've been elongated more and made into a whole book to add to the already awesome Dark Hunter Series. The story took a lot out and I felt it was rushed, but it was still very entertaining.
    However, I must admit that J.R. Ward's Story of Son took the cake. HOLY COW was that an emotional story and I had to read twice just because I enjoyed it so much. The vampire in the novel reminded me a lot of the BDB men, which was just fine for me. I so can't wait for next book to come out :-)
    The last two stories in the book were quite entertaining as well. I've never read any stories by the last two authors, but it did make me curious enough to read more of their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    non of these stories will disappoint - worth the read

    Got this book because of the Dark Hunter short story in there. There were actually 3 other really good short stories. 2 about vamps and one about some kind of Balador warrior and witches with Gods/Goddesses. All of the stories were sexy and intriguing keeping you turning the pages. Actually wouldn't mind reading more of the last story - midnight kiss goodbye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Great! Ward and Kenyon fans won't be diappointed!

    I bought this book when it first came out for the Kenyon story. I have been a great fan of Kenyon's Dark Hunters since she started the series. However, it was 2nd to Ward's Story of Son. It is such a good short story that I have read it multiple times. I only recently found the Black Dagger Brotherhood books from Ward and it seems to me that her Story of Son should be connected somehow. BDB fans will notice a similar description of the vamps. Good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It Was Good

    I'm always reluctant to buy novellas. What usually draws me in is the well known author or authors names on the cover. In this case, it was Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward. I was not at all familiar with the other two authors, but was not adverse to reading their work. The problem with novellas for me, is that you may get a couple of good stories and then the others are not as good. There are four different writing syles here and I found myself addicted to the ones I know best, more than the others at times, which I don't think is unsual for a novella. The two main authors have the strongest stories and because of my familiarity with their work, I had no problem reading them. I wished for longer stories from both of them. I just felt that there was more to tell and they ended too soon. While the other two authors stories were good, I did find myself having to plow my way through them. Maybe because of the unfamiliarity or maybe because if they were a stand alone book, it would have been better. Even though I had a hard time getting through the other two stories, I did find them enjoyable and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very short insignificant stories

    reading this book was frustrating...not that most of the writers aren't great...it felt like i was reading a chapter or two from four different books. SO not fun. i wouldn't suggest reading this unless you had nothing better to read. seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12