Customer Reviews for

Dead After Dark

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Dead After Dark by Sherrilyn Kenyon, J.R. Ward, Susan Squires & Dianna Love

    Red Alert! Sexy supernaturals ahead!! If you're a paranormal fan, don't miss the "Dead After Dark" anthology with stories by a three well-known names in the paranormal romance genre and one newcomer to watch. <BR/><BR/>Sherrilyn Kenyon's story "Shadow of the Moon" is about the werewolf Fury and takes places in the Dark-Hunter world. Fury has never let himself get close to a woman because the only woman he ever loved turned on him when his heritage was revealed. Now that woman is back, but this time she's in Fury's power. ***My only beef? Not long enough! Well...and I really wanted Fury for my own :)<BR/><BR/>"The Story of Son" by J.R. Ward is NOT a BDB story, but it IS a smoking hot contemporary story about a normal woman who gets caught up in an abnormal situation and ends up loving and saving a creature she should, by human standards, hate. ***I think this was my favorite story and I actually had tears in my eyes at one point. I'd like to see more stories from Ward about/in this world. Well...as long as it doesn't delay more BDB stories:P<BR/><BR/>Susan Squires offers "Beyond the Night" set in her historical Companion series. A man searching for love and revenge instead encounters a vampire who is searching for her own choices after a life of service to the leader of the vampires. Together, they both find the good and bad of what they're looking for. ***A sure winner if you like Squires' series. If you haven't read her series, this will give you an idea of its flavor.<BR/><BR/>New author Dianna Love rounds out the anthology with "Midnight Kiss Goodbye". A reunion romance of a modern-day warrior and the witch he left behind in an effort to keep her safe. Neither knows about the other's 'special' abilities. But know she's hunting and being hunted by a malevolent entity who's looking to use her as a gateway to unleash unspeakable violence on the world. ***Definitely an author to watch. I really enjoyed this glimpse into Love's intricate, mythical world. Very sexy and very urban fantasy. Hope to see more from her soon.<BR/><BR/>All in all, well worth the price and the read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great read!!!!

    I love the romantic escape books and this is a very good one. I have read Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward before and just love their writing. Dianna Love is a new writer to me but I would love to find more of her books..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE Sherrilyn Kenyon and J.R. Ward. I was so looking foward to this anthology! Keep it coming girls!!

    Love the series of the two main authors and their supporting authors were good follow ups for a good escape. I great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    J.R Ward is amazing

    Story of Son is super memorable, but I forgot the rest quickly. The five stars are for that story alone, a real page-turner. Wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great Read!

    This was a great read by three really good authors. J R Ward is one of my favs. Loved the stories in this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is so interesting and captivating. It had me changing the pages fast and then hoping for more when i got to the end! J.R. Ward's story was my favorite... but they were all awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    WARD FANS must have!

    If you are a Black Dagger Brotherhood fan then this is a MUST have. You will LOVE "SON"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Story of Son

    This is an EXCELLENT addition to the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by JR Ward. It was everything you would expect of the BDB series, handsome hero, strong heroine, evil villian and a wonderful love story. I strongly recommend this story to all BDB fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All delightful stories.

    The first story in the book revolved around Fury, a were-hunter from the DH series. I've always loved Fury's character and I felt that his story could've been elongated more and made into a whole book to add to the already awesome Dark Hunter Series. The story took a lot out and I felt it was rushed, but it was still very entertaining.
    However, I must admit that J.R. Ward's Story of Son took the cake. HOLY COW was that an emotional story and I had to read twice just because I enjoyed it so much. The vampire in the novel reminded me a lot of the BDB men, which was just fine for me. I so can't wait for next book to come out :-)
    The last two stories in the book were quite entertaining as well. I've never read any stories by the last two authors, but it did make me curious enough to read more of their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Reading

    This is a great book! "The Story of Son" is the best of the best-- so touching and the reason I started reading books by J.R. Ward. I'm glad I did. She brings her characters to life and the events just flows~~~ One of the authors in Dead after Dark has a ghost character, which I don't care to read about. Other than that, great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kenyon and Ward

    Kenyon - Fury got his own story but its short...im thirsty for more about him... been dying to read his story and to know his mate when Ash mention it before that he already know his mate..anyways its great!

    Ward - well as for Ward this is the first novel of her that i have read definitely not the last! loved the characters! great story!

    Squires - also first novel I've read... i like it but too much romance scenes but the story and characters were great!!!

    Love - honestly i haven't started her story, don't understand the first pages though.. but give it a try guys! it should be nice also... interesting characters

    this book is definitely a must read specially for those dark-hunter lover and were-hunters!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sherrilyn + JR = GREAT BOOK!

    I started reading this book because of Sherriln Kenyon and JR Ward.
    In Sherrilyn Kenyon's Story Fury finally meets his mate, who is also trying to help his mother kill Vane, Fang, and Fury. Then he finds himself mated to his crush that he left behind.
    JR Ward's story is very interesting. A lawyer finds herself trapped with a handsome vampire who needs her blood. Soon the lawyer finds herself in love with Son. Soon their times runs out and Son takes her memories and she finds out that she is going to have a baby. Once she got her memories back she helps son excape. The other story's i didn't read but Sherrilyn Kenyon and Jr Ward are really great writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sneak Peeks

    I bought this book because I am currently obsessed with Kenyon. In her short story "Shadow of the Moon" she develops the character Fury, who has appeared occasionally in a few of her other novels. It was nice to learn a little more about this character, who didn't really need an entire novel to focus on him. It was a sweet tale, and I can see that it may become important in later novels (like in "Bad Moon Rising"??) to know who Angelia is.

    What I think I love most about anthologies though, is that they give you a great sneak peek at other authors. Once I finish the story I bought the book for (and before I can get to B&N for another) I can read the other stories and determine if I like the other authors or not without having to buy a whole novel from them only to be disappointed. I actually found Kenyon this way, by purchasing "Tapestry" for Lynn Kurland's story.

    I highly recommend buying this novel or others like it if you aren't sure who else you might like to add to your shelf. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I really liked all the stories in this book. I wish all the stories were books of their own. This book is a good read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice preview for the rest of their work. Exciting and full of love...

    I had a great time reading these stories. I thought they were thrilling.
    It opened my eyes to there other series by these author's...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Hunter Series

    The whole book was exciting and stimulating. Sherilyn Kenyon is one of my all time favorite authors. When I was first introduced to her Dark Hunter books, I had to have every single one of them. I even got my mother and best friend hooked on them. I always look forward to her next book and recommend her books to everyone with a dark side, fantasy, and erotic sexual desires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    These are four exciting romantic fantasies

    "Shadow of the Moon" by Sherrilyn Kenyon. In New Orleans, vowing to keep his clan safe, Fury seeks the adversary who assaulted a werewolf. Vowing to keep her people safe, Angelia knows her people are under siege by the furious werewolf; she hunts him. Neither expected what happened between them. <BR/><BR/>¿The Story of Son¿ by J.R. Ward. In Caldwell, New York drinking Earl Grey while on a business visit to her nonagenarian wealthy client, attorney Claire is taken aback when the elderly woman says her Son will like her. The tea was drugged and when she regains consciousness, Claire is incarcerated with Michael the ¿Son¿.<BR/><BR/>"Beyond the Night" by Susan Squires. Fifteen years ago, Drew Carlowe was accused of theft; he swore he did not do it, but no one believed him. Now he is finally home with the goal of regaining the love of the one person he missed. He buys the allegedly haunted Ashland where he finds himself desiring the occupant Freya the ¿ghost¿ who haunts his home and his heart while possessing his body.<BR/><BR/>"Midnight Kiss Goodbye" by Dianna Love. As a VIPER, Belador warrior Trey protects humanity from evil. His current assignment is to keep human witch Sasha safe while they go after a malevolent warlord, but he wonders who will protect her from his attraction for her as his control when it comes to her bewitching him has slipped.<BR/><BR/>These are four exciting romantic fantasies starring lead characters that bewitch the audience while making the respective ¿worlds¿ seem genuine; fans of the Dark Hunter and the Companion sagas have an added treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Have to love J R Ward And Sherrilyn Kenyon

    These are two of my favorice Authors and would like to see more of their books. I specially like the new story that Ward came out with, would like to see if Michael would meet his father, find out if there are more vampires in his world and since the story is in Cadwell,New York if he is going to meet any of the Brothers. I also Love the story about fury but I though that it was way too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Finally Fury's story

    to bad he didn't get entire book for himself...got to love that wolf and his "attitude"...yummy yummy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5