Customer Reviews for

Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1995)

4 Star

(780)

3 Star

(268)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and Engrossing

I truly enjoy this series and heartily recommend this latest multi-layered addition. This book is a murder mystery about the crucifixion of Sookie's estranged were-panther sister-in-law and a tale of survival when Sookie becomes the target in a war between two faerie fa...
I truly enjoy this series and heartily recommend this latest multi-layered addition. This book is a murder mystery about the crucifixion of Sookie's estranged were-panther sister-in-law and a tale of survival when Sookie becomes the target in a war between two faerie factions. These two story lines, with the help of a few plot twists, are ingeniously interconnected and thrillingly concluded. The romantic sub-plot (which begins a relationship between Sookie and Eric and ends with Sookie's last minute doubts about Bill) is also a fun and interesting read. Personally, I hope her relationship with Eric continues for awhile. Although Sookie has not yet realized who she really loves, I have no doubt that her 'true love' will be revealed at the series' end. Until then, I'm happily, (although a bit impatiently), along for the ride.

Occasionally, the story's flow is slightly slowed by extraneous events (see below)*; however, overall reading enjoyment is not diminished. Further, unresolved issues concerning the FBI and Sookie's half-fae great uncle linger at book's end. Although unessential to solving the mystery, these unsettled matters tend to niggle any reader who prefers 'end of book' answers to all questions.

As regards the Eric vs. Bill dilemma, IMO Bill and Sookie have been done to death. Bill will fight to the death for Sookie, but in Dallas he pursued the humans leaving Sookie unprotected while Eric took a bullet for her. Plus, Bill has always disregarded Sookie's monetary needs, (like her potholed driveway), while perversely providing economic independence for his distant and clueless descendants. In contrast, even when uninvolved with Sookie, Eric was attentive to her economic needs and tried to help her to the greatest extent she would allow. Most importantly, Eric has never really been in-love and he doesn't really know what Sookie means to him. In the distant past he cared for his family, but he never had a love relationship. He doesn't know what it means when he wonders why he hasn't had 'enough' of Sookie even after a night of lovemaking, and that is pretty intriguing. On the other hand, when Sookie asked Bill to emotionally commit to her in the past, Bill responded by telling her that he had already lived and loved during his human life. (Note, I'm not even counting Bill's presumably involuntary break-up with Skokie at the direction of his maker, and his sudden disappearance from her life. Plus, it's impossible to forget Bill's 'car trunk' rape and mauling of Sookie, as well as his failure to reveal that he had been ordered to befriend and seduce her.) Of course, there's always Sam. He loves Sookie and, as an added bonus, he's actually alive.


*(Unnecessary/unresolved subjects include: Octavia's immaterial household presence and departure; Sam's inconsequential out-of-state trek and family problems; the FBI's superfluous and unresolved involvement; Quinn's pointless and brief appearance; Hunter's clairvoyance issues; the seemingly useless knowledge about the unavenged killing of Sookie's parents; the inexplicable behavior and questionable motivation and whereabouts of Sookie's half-fae great uncle; and the diverting but unessential public 'shapeshifter' reveal.)

posted by dalnewt on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Is this the same Mrs. Harris? The author?

Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of Mrs. Harris' work (not just the Southern Vampire series). She is one of the few authors that I keep coming back too. I have almost always found her books entertaining and well-written. With that being said I would like to review ...
Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of Mrs. Harris' work (not just the Southern Vampire series). She is one of the few authors that I keep coming back too. I have almost always found her books entertaining and well-written. With that being said I would like to review Dead and Gone, the latest installment in the Sookie Stackhouse series. This book managed (in 320 pages)to take away everything that I have ever like about this series. Let me explain. One thing I like about the books is that they are told from Sookie's point of view. While this book does the same thing, it was horrible because there was hardly any dialogue. The book was mainly filled with her thinking...could've, would've, should've. Blah, I can do that myself and don't want to read about someone else doing it no matter how short the book is. Basically if this book were to be made into a movie it would fall under the silent film category. Secondly, while a lot of loose ends were tied up, there was hardly any plot at all. Yes, there was a murder, but haven't we come to expect a murder in this series by now (one way or another). There was also a war with the supernatural. Again, not the first time that's been done in this series. The war (if one can call it a war) didn't take place until close to the end of the book and was over within a couple of pages. It seemed to me that Mrs. Harris threw the war into the book because she realized after page 290 that her book was anticlimactic. Hopefully the real Mrs. Harris didn't write this. Any day now the publisher will issue a statement apologizing for the huge mistake. Then, the FBI will quit wasting time in this book and start investigating the real problem...who is this imposter claiming to be Charlaine Harris? To sum it up, I feel more than disappointed. Some of the characters are thrown in just to make some sort of appearance and our protagonist acts as if she will have a mental breakdown and end up in a straightjacket. I understand Sookie has been through a lot and feels strained. However, if that's the direction Mrs. Harris is going to take her personality I think it would be best to set the next book up in the Bahamas. Otherwise, Sookie won't be much use to us. In Hindsight, maybe I built this book up to much (I had a year) and I ended up setting my expectations so high that no matter what Mrs. Harris wrote I would've been disappointed. Then again, maybe the increase in fans, money and demands became to much for Mrs. Harris and this was the result. Maybe, it was both reasons.

posted by TNVolsFan25 on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 780 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Parellel Love

    Dead and Gone was truly a good read. I anticipated the release of this novel and was not disappointed. I enjoyed the inclusion of the character & background additions. For someone who has been reading the series for awhile, it will offer welcomed answers to story elements that had puzzled me. I was also happy to see that Sookie is learning to stop taking crap off her brother and the Bon Temp community. I enjoy that Sookie's character is slightly changing. I have started to becomed disappointed with characters in other series novels who have drasticly changed Though it isn't clear to me how the Fae inclusion will pan out in following books, or the reason for Hunter's inclusion, I look forward to Harris' next novel.
    In this novel Harris finally lets the reader get to know who the real Eric is. With each new novel, the reader is given little tidbits, but this is the first to actually give him a background. This novel gives the supernaturals more human qualities and the humans are portrayed more as monsters.
    The parellel between Eric & Sookie is the best element of this novel. Eric is cold & Sookie is sweet, but somehow Harris shows how they both are learning about themselves, and love. And the reader gets to witness the change in both characters. And the chemistry between the two is very magnetic. If for no other reason the one-on-one dialogues between these two make this book a must read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Sookie Stackhouse but................

    I love this series, and unlike a lot of peole who came to the series only after True Blood was shown on T.V. I've been following it since the very first. I fell in love with Bill when Sookie did, and I was just as star struck by Eric. I even cried when Sookie broke up with bill, and again I cried for poor broken hearted Quinn the weretiger. But underneath all of that love is a quite a bit of disappointment for this book. I hate the fact that after all this time Sookie can't seem to make up her mind about Bill and Eric, and she still takes all of Jason's crap, and Sam's too. It just seems that this book is a perfect example of a series that is kind of stuck. Sure in the past years a lot has happened, and the Author writes about so many changes in Sookie, but evey book is more of the same. Everyone either wants to sleep with Sookie or kill her, and she is torn between two, or three or four men. I love the author and I still love the series, and I waited in aticipation for this book but I can't say that I'll be doing the same for the next. i'll definately buy it, but I won't pre order and won't mark the days either.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it, but too short!

    I was soo happy to get this book, I read it in one day! Of course the characters were great and I really liked some of the plot twists, it felt kind of anti-climatic when the end came. I was saddened by the plot lines for some interesting characters (I won't ruin it).

    All in all it was like eating three potato chips... just not enough! Which in my opinion is a compliment for Ms. Harris, I'm a Sookie junkie! GET ME ANOTHER ONE QUICK GIRL!

    Until then if you need a vamp fix without the whimsy... try any of the butt kickin' Anita Blake novels by Laurell K. Hamilton, the first is Guilty Pleasures. ...Or the baddaz witch Rachel Morgan novels by Kim Harrison, yes us goofballs can kick azz too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dead And Gone

    Everything seems like it's going to be quiet in Bon Temps Louisiana and that's how Sookie likes it. But there is change in the air. Now that the Vampires are out of the closet, the shifters are ready to do the same thing. But as soon as the shifters announce themselves, a were-panther is crucified in back of Merlottes. The panther is Crystal Stackhouse, Sookie's brother Jason's wife. Immediately everyone believes Jason did it, because he and Crystal were separated. But it soon turns out Jason is innocent and there is another killer loose in Bon Temps.
    I really liked this chapter of Sookie Stackhouse. This is the ninth and things are really getting tense. I don't want to give away anything, but this book is definitely worth reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of her best, but I liked it

    After reading all the other books in the series, I found this book to be weaker than the others. It started out slow, but picked up in pace towards the end of the book...The ending was amazing, and I can't wait for the next book to be published. Not as well written as the other books, but definately worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The darkest one yet

    I bought this book.

    The last book in the Sookie series was a palate cleanser, but this one doesn't shape up like a traditionally formed mystery story. It doesn't need to however, as now Sookie is official embroiled enough in the paranormal world that even when she doesn't stumble into or seek out danger, it will come to her.

    The first thing readers will notice is that Sookie has a lot of problems in this book. Some of them are external, but mostly she's struggling to deal with the series so far. Unlike other urban fantasy heroines Sookie is not okay with being a killer, not even when it's to save her own life. That she's had to make that choice before is weighing heavily on her. In fact, it's pretty clear in Dead and Gone that Sookie's suffering from full on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

    So when her sister-in-law, Crystal is found crucified in Merlott's parking lot and her great-grandfather, the fairy prince Niall, gives her cryptic warnings about his enemies seeking her out, and even worse, Eric, Sookie's on-and-off vampire romance (who now remembers what happened when he was under a spell and they almost had a real relationship) pulls Sookie into vampire politics without her knowledge, Sookie is unable to really handle things. Raw, emotional, and on the edge of a break down, Sookie still has to try to clear her brother Jason's name (again), deal with the backlash of the shifters coming out to the public, defend herself from a vampire and FBI agents who want to force her into their service, face the betrayal of people she thought were her friends, and dodge fairy assassins, which is the scariest of all.

    There's a serious emotional load in Dead and Gone, possibly the darkest Sookie book yet. While this does take up a large part of the book, there's other plots too, woven back and forth and ultimately giving Sookie little time to handle any threat, much less deal with her own issues. Some readers might not be okay with the darker notes to Sookie's voice. But others will be able to recognize Dead and Gone as the natural, and compared to some other urban fantasy series more honest, progression of Sookie as a character. In a way she takes on a beaten puppy dog feel, and many readers will sympathize all the stronger with Sookie as she reevaluates everything her life has become so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The unwitting betrothal to Eric.

    The Weres and shape-shifters have finally decided to step out of the shadows and reveal their existence to the world. After all, the vampires came out of the coffin a few years ago and the world seems to have accepted their presence now that the immediate horror wore off. But Sookie Stackhouse (telepathic bar maid in the little town of Bon Temps, Louisiana) knows that this is just the tip of the iceberg in the supernatural world that surrounds us. And she'll have to deal with her fairy relatives in this episode, when two worlds collide, two philosophies conflict, and there can be no compromises. In the meantime, as if it isn't enough for Sookie to deal with, having to look over her shoulder constantly for fae foes, it seems that there are some consequences to the Great Revelation for the Weres and some mighty angry humans who have turned vigilante. When a Werepanther's half-changed body is found crucified out behind Sam Merlotte's bar, Sookie feels compelled to find out who did it, be they human or otherwise. Sookie's got plenty on her plate in this episode, what with fairy wars and vigilante bigots running wild -- and did I mention her unwitting betrothal to Eric?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    Vampire Eric is the new Mr. Darcy

    I actually started to think about the comparison during book 8 but it seems to continue in book 9. This book isn't as well written as the others and they missed some continuity checking but it's still addictive. Many readers are team Bill but I have to speak up for Eric. Like Darcy, he is obnoxiously proud, aloof and misogynitic. During this book the reader gets more of his background and we also get to see a bit more of his vulnerability. Remember, Bill willingly cheated on Sookie and intentionally deceived her. He also never helps Sookie financially but is glad to spend gobs of money on his progeny, the Bellefleurs. Eric actually notices things Sookie needs and is willing to help - especially if damage was done because of him (her new red coat, her cell phone, the new front door). She never has to ask for it. He also appreciates her strength and cares for her because she isn't like other women - something important to her because she's always felt like not being typical was a bad thing. The best part about this series is that the reader can become emotionally invested in the characters. None of the regular characters are strictly good or bad. There's a lot of gray areas and it keeps you on your toes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    I love the Sookie Stackhouse series...

    I find myself getting sucked into Sookie's life. I only wish Charlaine's books were longer. I need more details! There was so much going on that I think the book should have been longer. She goes into indepth detail on some trivial details, but has less detail for some climatic events. Other than that I have no complaints. She ends it so that it could be the end of the series, but I hope not! I look forward to another installment of Sookie's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A little disappointed

    I waited for months for this book and I really have to say that I was a bit disappointed with it. It just didn't keep me involved like the other books did. It left many loose ends. I now want to read book 10 to see what happens, with Niall, Sookie, Jason, Eric and Bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but could have been better.

    Compared to the rest of the series, Dead and Gone isn't as thrilling. The beginning was very slow and did a lot of recapping of what happened in the last book. There was a lack of dialogue in this book and most of it was Sookie thinking about her own problems. The ending did surprise me and I was sad when I finished. There are some unresolved issues so I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Cant Wait!

    I cannot wait for this newest Sookie Stackhouse novel to come out. It is one of the few series of books that I really anticipate and am antsy about until I get to read it. It is definitely a must-read for anyone who enjoys the Anita Blake series, or any other good series about vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural folks. I hope that Sookie decides to give up on all of the vamps and weres and go for the one that cares the most for her. Go for your shifter, Sookie. TEAM SAM!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Another great read about the world of Sookie!

    Another great read about the world of Sookie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Fun series.

    I own the first 8 books in a soft cover set. Since True Blood is one of my guilty pleasures it was only a matter of time for me to read the books. Although different from the TV series in very big ways, these books are fun and addictave. I read all 13 in six days. I recommend them to any True Blood fan. Or to anyone who enjoys a good vampire, werewolf and many other creatures story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Love these stories

    I dobot know why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    a thrill with lots of drama and vary sweet

    a thrill with lots of drama and vary sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommend, Esp. for Sookie Fans!

    I enjoyed this book as much as any other Sookie Stackhouse book, and really enjoyed her tying together a lot of the plot lines of previous books. However, it might be tough for newcomers to the series to follow.
    All in all, I would give it an 8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Good read!!!

    Sookie's at it again! Similar twist but different story. I read right through it and can't wait for more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Awesome Fast Service

    From ordering to receiving the package at my doorstep, the service was so fast! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Wish it were better...

    A good book but a little uneventful compared to the previous books in the series. It seems that after the initial 8 books the plots have gotten a bit thin(having read #10 as well).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 780 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39