Customer Reviews for

The Dead and the Gone (Life As We Knew It #2)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Read it!

I enjoyed this book better than the first in the series. The story was a nail biter right to the end. The reader was never allowed to really believe these characters would survive. The characters are completely new and the story is set in New York as the disaster begins...
I enjoyed this book better than the first in the series. The story was a nail biter right to the end. The reader was never allowed to really believe these characters would survive. The characters are completely new and the story is set in New York as the disaster begins. My only problem was it contained extreme religious views. Can't wait to read the next book.

posted by LadyHester on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Imma Hungry

wasn't exactly looking forward to reading this book. I read Life As We Knew It and had so-so feelings about it. But I saw it in the library and was looking for something to read, so I really had no excuse not to read it.

This book was more a companion novel than an ...
wasn't exactly looking forward to reading this book. I read Life As We Knew It and had so-so feelings about it. But I saw it in the library and was looking for something to read, so I really had no excuse not to read it.

This book was more a companion novel than an actual sequel, and it was based around the same catastrophic event: moon craziness. This time the main character was a 17 yr old Puerto Rican from NYC, named Alex. This book follows his story as he and his two younger sisters struggle to survive.

The main problem for me was the main character. He is a Puerto Rican from NYC, so why didn't the author make him Puerto Rican? I mean this boy is very pious, being the Vice President of his class at a Catholic school. And the only thing that the author attempted to do to portray his latina heritage was having him say random words in Spanish. Not quite. Hey, I can say random words in Spanish too! Mama mia! Wait--that's Italian......

And besides that, the plot was just kind of boring. We get it, you're starving. Point made. Although, I did think the book progressively got better. By the end, I was actually interested.

I also didn't think there was much difference between The Dead and the Gone and Life As We Knew It. They both were about starving families stuck in their situation, one way or another. Except one was a rural setting and was an urban setting. But the main characters had very similar voices.

The only way I shall be reading the third one was if it comes to my local library.

posted by Awesomeness1 on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    To start off, the first chapter will be the slowest and the last

    To start off, the first chapter will be the slowest and the last chapter will be the longest. But anyway the moon gets hit by an asteroid that shifts moon’s position in the Earth’s orbit and somehow that knocks out the cable, electricity, phone lines and shortens the food supply. Meanwhile, Alex Morales is working at a pizza place during the whole incident. His father is in Puerto Rico for their grandmother’s funeral.
    Their mother leaves to go work at a hospital in Queens, New York right before he gets home. Then the food supply runs short and they have to ration the food that they cleaned out of their uncle’s bodega. Then, about a month or two later, Alex sends his sister Brianna to a convent and, well I don’t want to spoil the ending for you, but basically she comes home with asthma and it all goes downhill from there.
    The plot was slow and the characters would come in and stay a while then leave and not appear again until the end of the story, or come in and right about when you get to know them they die. The theme would be “don’t take everything for granted”. This book would go with sci-fi books which I enjoy. This book takes place in modern New York.
    This is not a book for children under twelve. It has a lot of death in it and it is very descriptive. The entire middle section is full of people searching corpses for expensive items they can barter for food. Basically the entire book is about an anarchistic New York with the exception of the curfew in the book which you’ll eventually find out about if you read the book. To sum up what I’m saying: this book in my opinion is crap.
    I enjoyed Life as We Knew It but this was just boring. I didn’t want to hear someone else’s point of view because I wanted to learn what happened to Miranda instead. In addition to how boring it was, it was predictable as well. Of course you would expect the first chapter in every book to be slow and boring but this was the entire book! I couldn’t keep my eyes on it and eventually I dozed off at 3:00 in the afternoon. NOT TO BE READ IF AFRAID OF NATURAL DISASTERS! This may not be a well written review, but at least I’m expressing my opinion of this book. I mean no bad energy to Susan Beth Pfeffer but this book was garbage.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    This book is totally emo and horrible

    This book is really bad dont read it

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep

    Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    How is it...........

    Relp to smlies. If it is any good. Iread the frist book and i want too read the 2 book how is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    The Dead and The Gone was horrible. It was an extremely bad book

    The Dead and The Gone was horrible. It was an extremely bad book. Why would a meteor be able to move the moon? It’s just dull. It has a good story line and everything, but I personally think it makes no sense.

    The book was the worst thing I have ever read. How come I had to read this garbage? It’s one of the worst books ever. The author should regret writing it. It’s just EWW!

    The Dead and The Gone is also kind of sad. If you like sad, boring, drama books get it. Don’t waste your time reading this book. I would never waste my money on this book. Worst idea ever is to read this.

    In conclusion this book was horrible. It’s the most boring thing ever. The only good thing about it is to punish someone by making them read it. This book is so boring. Don’t waste your time or money on it.

    I wonder why she wrote the same book twice just different points of view. That’s smart. Never get both
    boring books. If you want to punish your kids make them read it. They will be a little angel after. They will never do anything bad because they don’t want to read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    This book was kind of boring but it was sort of okay, But the st

    This book was kind of boring but it was sort of okay, But the story didn’t make much sense to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    This book was okay. The Dead And The Gone is an okay book a

    This book was okay.
    The Dead And The Gone is an okay book about an 18 year-old boy named Alex Morales and his fight to keep himself and his two sisters alive when an asteroid crashes into the moon setting off a bunch of horrible events in nature. I thought that this book was alright but could have been better.

    This book begins with Alex Morales working his job at a pizza parlor when an asteroid hits the moon and causes a chain of natural disasters to occur. Alex then rushes home only to discover that the power is out and finds his two sisters Brianna and Julie waiting for him in their apartment. It isn’t until their parents don’t come home though that they discover how serious that it actually is. It is then when their fight for survival against nature begins.

    The book started to get less interesting when Alex, Brianna, and Julie started going to school again. It was also pretty boring how they kept just doing the same thing to survive over and over again. The book then picks up again when Alex and his friend start looting dead bodies. I think that people would much rather prefer is sister book: Life As We Knew It. All around I think this book was an average book. Out of ten I would probably rate this book a three or a four.

    I thought that this book was an okay book. The whole first part of the book is pretty boring but it picks up in the second half. I really wish that this book had had more action in the beginning because that would have made the story much better. If I were you then I would probably not read this book.

    I didn’t like this book very well but it was okay.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Eh

    Bad

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Fffffff

    Ughhhhhhhhh ffffffffuuuuuuu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    The cover of the book

    The cover of the book looks pretty scary....

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1