Customer Reviews for

The Dead and the Gone (Life As We Knew It #2)

Average Rating 4
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Read it!

I enjoyed this book better than the first in the series. The story was a nail biter right to the end. The reader was never allowed to really believe these characters would survive. The characters are completely new and the story is set in New York as the disaster begins...
I enjoyed this book better than the first in the series. The story was a nail biter right to the end. The reader was never allowed to really believe these characters would survive. The characters are completely new and the story is set in New York as the disaster begins. My only problem was it contained extreme religious views. Can't wait to read the next book.

posted by LadyHester on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Imma Hungry

wasn't exactly looking forward to reading this book. I read Life As We Knew It and had so-so feelings about it. But I saw it in the library and was looking for something to read, so I really had no excuse not to read it.

This book was more a companion novel than an ...
wasn't exactly looking forward to reading this book. I read Life As We Knew It and had so-so feelings about it. But I saw it in the library and was looking for something to read, so I really had no excuse not to read it.

This book was more a companion novel than an actual sequel, and it was based around the same catastrophic event: moon craziness. This time the main character was a 17 yr old Puerto Rican from NYC, named Alex. This book follows his story as he and his two younger sisters struggle to survive.

The main problem for me was the main character. He is a Puerto Rican from NYC, so why didn't the author make him Puerto Rican? I mean this boy is very pious, being the Vice President of his class at a Catholic school. And the only thing that the author attempted to do to portray his latina heritage was having him say random words in Spanish. Not quite. Hey, I can say random words in Spanish too! Mama mia! Wait--that's Italian......

And besides that, the plot was just kind of boring. We get it, you're starving. Point made. Although, I did think the book progressively got better. By the end, I was actually interested.

I also didn't think there was much difference between The Dead and the Gone and Life As We Knew It. They both were about starving families stuck in their situation, one way or another. Except one was a rural setting and was an urban setting. But the main characters had very similar voices.

The only way I shall be reading the third one was if it comes to my local library.

posted by Awesomeness1 on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read it!

    I enjoyed this book better than the first in the series. The story was a nail biter right to the end. The reader was never allowed to really believe these characters would survive. The characters are completely new and the story is set in New York as the disaster begins. My only problem was it contained extreme religious views. Can't wait to read the next book.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    An Enjoyable Book The Dead and the Gone is a suspenseful, yet w

    An Enjoyable Book

    The Dead and the Gone is a suspenseful, yet wonderful book. It strongly implies the moral of never giving up. This story is a fiction tale of people reacting to a dangerous situation. This dangerous situation is a meteor, which knocks the moon closer to the Earth, causing severe changes in weather, taking out power and putting many people in the hospital. I think it is a very good book, although at times it started to become just a little bit boring. This review should help you decide if you want to read it.

    This interesting book takes place in present day Manhattan. For everyone, it is a normal day… until the evening. They all knew that a meteor would hit the moon, but they didn’t expect it to change the world. The moon was hit, but it went closer to Earth than everyone expected. This launched everything into chaos. Alex Morale’s parents are too far away from him to help. Without his parents, he must take care of two sisters, Julie and Bri. With food running out and no power, they learn how to live a completely different life full of surprises and tragic events. Even though they are barely managing to live, they still try to do special things. A good example of that would be birthdays. No matter what the conditions, they would always celebrate with something. They took a lot of risks and made many sacrifices, one of them having to do with being separated. Despite all this, Alex, Julie, and Bri always try to be optimistic.

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It is and exhilarating tale and at most times, I was sad that I was finishing it. I didn’t realize that there was another book at the time. I really liked the way that, most of the time, it was one event after the other. I like fast-paced books, so this was especially good for me. I would recommend this to many people around the age of 11+. If you enjoy books with suspense then this is a great book choice. If you consider the element of survival, then this is like the Hunger Games.

    The Dead and the Gone is a very entertaining book about how people react in dangerous situations. When the moon is knocked closer to Earth, disaster strikes. It leads everyone struggling for food, resources, and ultimately survival. Focusing on Alex Morales, a teenage boy, it tells a story of how he and his sisters get involved in a mad struggle for survival. They hardly have any food and no one is there to take care of them. They meet a few unexpected friends along the way, but every time something really good happens, something tragic happens shortly after. It is packed with suspense and is very captivating.

    I give this book four stars. I really enjoyed the way Susan Pfeffer combined the joyful parts with the gruesome details. It is an exhilarating tale and most of the time was hard to put down. The one thing that wasn’t good was that sometimes it didn’t progress as fast as I would have liked it to. That is my only complaint. This is a must-read for people who like fictional books with people in a life that resembles ours, but with its own twist.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A great book, but can use some more details!

    In the beginning of the novel Alex wants to hear from his parents and know that they are safe. In this book disaster strikes and Alex steps up to the plate to safe his life and also his two younger sisters. In this novel the main focus would have to be standing up to help safe and protect his family.
    The main characters are Alex Morrales, his sisters Brianna and Julie, Father Franco and Father Marooney, and Harvey. The first main event that happens is the moon gets knocked out of sink and is now closer to planet Earth. Then the power goes out and he worries that his mom is in danger. Then Bri gets an offer to go to a Convent in rural New York. Also, the four distinct seasons get out of sink and due to the outcome school has to close earlier. But, he wishes that he could go back before the disaster.
    This book “The Dead and The Gone” shows how a young boy steps up to become a man. Since his parents are gone, he helps provide the needed essentials for him but also his sisters to survive. But, throughout this book, it leaves you wanting more, to find out the main twists! If you want to read books with major and shocking events, I highly recommend this book for you! So, is this book the correct book for you? Read it to find out!
    This book, is a great suspense novel, especially for people who like dramatic endings! I just wish there was more detail to some if the events, so they would be more clearly written! But, I would recommend this book for middle school students, because it’s from a younger person’s perspective. Overall, from this book, I would say it becomes very emotional!
    This book, is like a rollercoaster, it has its peeks and its pits. Alex changes drastically throughout this book. The reason I gave this novel four stars is because, I feel it is lacking some distinctive details and or events.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Great Book

    Book title and author: Dead and the Gone: Susan Beth Pfeffer
    Title of review: The Dead and the Gone
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction: This book was the perfect example of how the boy of the family becomes the man. This occurs when an apocalyptic event happens and the moon gets knocked closer to the Earth. This is the true test for this New York City boy to take his responsibilities when his parents don’t return home, and he has to take care of his siblings. Things gradually keep getting worse, and it becomes a matter of life and death to escape the city.

    Description and summary of main points: The main characters in this book are Alex Morales, and his two sisters Bri and Julie. It all starts when the moon is hit closer to earth, and his two parents never come home after the great flooding. Food becomes more scares every week the stay alive. Along the way Alex meets a good friend named Kevin, and Kevin is very important in the Morales family survival. Rapid death starts occurring in the city, and it starts to affect Alex more and more every time.

    Evaluation: This book is a very good book and it was easy to read. I didn’t want to put it down once I had started. It changed my life in how I see things now, knowing somewhere else there is somebody in more pain then I am. The author did a great job in creating this dark adventurous book.

    Conclusion: This was an overall great book. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the story. It was a great story on how this New York city boy became am man and stepped up for his family.

    Your final review: This is one of the best books I have ever read. It always kept you wanting to know what was going to happen next. I would recommend this book to anybody that is looking for a good adventure book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Suzanne Beth Pfeffer¿s the Dead and the Gone is an exhilarating

    Suzanne Beth Pfeffer’s the Dead and the Gone is an exhilarating novel about teenager Alex Morales. He and his two sisters must struggle to stay alive after a meteor strikes the moon knocking a piece of it closer to earth, which intern unleashes colder weather, higher tides, and a world of chaos. The book is the second in the life as we knew it trilogy. The setting of the story is in a basement apartment in New York City in which Alex, his two sisters Bri and Julie, his mom, and his dad live. His older brother, Carlos is stationed in the air force in California.
    The book starts out immediately with the whole “meteor hitting the moon” scenario which is the whole point in the series. After that Alex’s life is all downhill. One thing leads to another as conditions worsen every day. As the conditions worsen Alex is forced to make life and death decisions not only for him but for his two sisters as well. There are a few bits of action in the book but for the most part it’s pretty plain.
    The book is a great example of what may come in the future. It’s full of love, suspense, and sacrifice. The book is full of vivid details about what Alex is seeing that make you feel like you are right next to him. But, despite this book having some action it has its dull parts. Pfeffer keeps coming back to death so much in this book it makes you want to throw the book out of a ten story building on to a busy high way, but since I purchased this book on my kindle I refrained from doing so. Death is so prominent in this book it literally makes you depressed.
    All in all I think this book is a pretty good choice for teens. It’s full of vivid details about a boy and his sister struggle for survival in a catastrophic scenario. The suspense will get you through the books few dull parts and will keep you turning the pages until the end. It is a well thought out suspenseful novel that will keep you wanting to read until the end. Even though the book has its dull boring filled parts I think we can look past that and appreciate the book for what it really is.
    I gave this book four out of five stars because I thought that what it deserved. I probably would’ve given the book five stars if Pfeffer would have concentrated a little less on death and a little more on the family. I gave it the rating because it was a well thought out, vividly detailed piece of literature. If death isn’t your thing then this book just isn’t for you. If you like a nail bitter death filled story then this book is most definitely for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    NO! AMATUERS ALLOWED! eight graders that understand hard times.

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: THE DEAD AND THE GONE: SUSAN BETH PFEFFER
    Title of review: THE DEAD AND THE GONE STUDENT REVIEW
    Number of stars (1 to 5):

    Introduction
    I defiantly prefer the book to eight graders. It really has u going and if you like books with different emotion, than this is the book.
    Description and summary of main points
    This story was about a boy named Alex. Who has his life planned out. Then something g happens that is unplanned to everyone which leaves Alex and his family in struggle. The story is scary and surprising. “The struggle to survive intensifies when Miranda’s father and stepmother arrive with a baby and three strangers in tow.
    Evaluation
    I thought everything was fine until the unexpected happened. People were getting ready to try to save themselves, but only some could. Most didn’t get to live. That’s why part of it is sad, terrifying, and horrifying.
    Conclusion
    I think the story is good, but they just talked about some unnecessary parts too much. It’s really not a five star story to me it’s more of a three. Parts are scary and nerve recking , but it’s just part of the story
    Your final review
    I recommend this amazing book to all eight graders. It’s very emotional which means it has all the emotions in the story. The book leaves you guessing about what’s next. That’s what makes its amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A dark and scary tale

    Book title and author: the Dead and Gone By: Susan Beth Pfeffer
    Title of review: A dark and scary tale
    Number of stars (1 to 5):4

    Introduction
    This book is a dark and scary book based in an apocalyptic New York City. The main character is Alex Morales. He is an intelligent, Latino boy who lives in an apartment in downtown New York. The book mainly focuses on his struggles with himself and the outside world.

    Description and summary of main points
    When Alex Morales is walking home from his job he realizes something is amiss. The moon seems larger, nobody is on the streets and when he gets home his mother is nowhere to be found. When he turns on the news it all makes sense. The moon was hit by a giant asteroid knocking it closer to the earth, causing many natural disasters to spark up all around the world. When he can’t reach his mother he knows he must take care of his family until his parents get back. He also knows that he must believe in himself and believe in god if was ever going to survive this.

    Evaluation
    This book tries to display an apocalypse type scene in New York City. It also gives a good look on what really could happen if the world was ever faced with a situation like the one displayed in this book. I fell that the book really did a good job of creating a dark and depressing setting that really contributed to the tone of the book. Also I felt that it gave a great look into the dark and scary aspect of New York.

    Conclusion
    In conclusion I feel that this book really achieved what I believe it set out to do. Which is that even under the most dark and depressing of times if you stick together you can achieve anything you set out to do.

    Your final review
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. It really displayed a great look into how family will always help you. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes scary books. Also I would recommend this to anybody looking for a suspenseful, thrilling book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Depressing but great book The Dead And The Gone is about a 17 y

    Depressing but great book
    The Dead And The Gone is about a 17 year old boy named Alex who lives in an apartment in New York with his sisters, and they try to survive after something hit the moon out of its orbit and now it is very close to earth. It causes major destruction and many people die. I think the author wanted to make the book entertaining and depressing. In my opinion this book was one of the better books I’ve read in a while.
    Alex and his little sisters can’t find their mom, and they don’t really know what happened to their dad who is in Puerto Rico. They still go to school! Everyone is trying to survive.
    There are some depressing parts in the book like when Alex is in Yankee Stadium looking at dead bodies hoping to not see his mom. . I think this book is very entertaining, because you don’t know what is going to happen and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. I think this book was way more interesting than Life As We Knew It.I think this book was entertaining and a little depressing. This book was about a teenage boy and his little sisters trying to survive after a meteor hit the moon. I read Life As We Knew It, and Dead and The Gone. In my opinion Dead and The Gone is way better than Life As We Knew It.
    I would recommend this book to anyone between the ages of 12 and 18

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    Like this series so far. Ms. Pfeffer didn't insert her politica

    Like this series so far. Ms. Pfeffer didn't insert her political views into this book like she did the first one, so I was happy about that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Great sequel

    Good read. Excellent teen series! Waiting anxiously for the fourth book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A Captivating Tale of Survival

    The Dead and The Gone is a book that tweens, teens and adults will find to be a truly riveting tale of a young man and his two sisters. Alex is a young Catholic boy, born in New York City. When sudden events turn the city into a place of chaos in death, leaving Alex and his two sisters to fend for themselves, Alex finds himself suddenly to be the man of the house.

    The family continues to struggle for survival, succeeding with the help of friends, and those who continue to uphold their humanity, the family pulls through many tragedies and hopes.

    This is truly a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    In book one of this series the moon has been hit by a meteor and

    In book one of this series the moon has been hit by a meteor and is knocked closer to earth causing changes to the earth due to the change in gravitational pull of the moon.  In book two, we revisit this event but switch to the point of view of Alex Morales, a Puero Rican American living in New York.  The disaster is compounded by the fact that Alex and his two younger sisters haven't heard from their mother since she left for work on the night of the disaster, nor have they heard from their father who was visiting family in Puerto Rico.  With only his upbringing and his religion as a guide, Alex and his two sisters must find a way to survive this horrible disaster.




    On the story...
    In many ways this book is better than the first but I strongly dislike more things in this one as well.  The book skips the build up to the moon being hit and gets right to the consequences.  I feel like The Dead and the Gone is less depressing than The World as we Knew it though tons of bad things happened.  Things moved along much faster.  Because I knew from the previous book some of the upcoming events that would occur, I was more alert and curious about how Alex would deal with these events.  I also wanted to know how these events would play out in New York.  Because of this, this book is a bit more adventurous and exciting.  I was not disappointed either.  Everything was unpredictable.  I was intrigued from beginning to the end.  It felt so real.




    I loved all the characters with the exception of Alex.  There was such growth in his sisters as the story went along and I loved the characters that Alex met  and befriended.  There were moments that I disliked Alex and many more moments where his actions were chauvinistic and archaic.  This came from a bigger problem though.




    Ms. Pfeffer took on a few issues in this installment.  We get a lens into Puerto Rican culture, the Catholic faith, and the separation between those who have and those who do not.  The perspective of Puerto Rican culture and the Catholic faith seemed a little forced and stereotypical at times, making Alex come across in the ways previously mentioned.  I commend Ms. Pfeffer for taking on such issues and creating diversity in her books though.  I think it went well for the most part, but it did result in a very off-putting character.  I think the look at the difference between the elite and others came off quite well.  It seemed real and it wasn't as in your face as the culture components.  The second installment of this series added an extra dimension to the tragedy.




    On the Narrator...
    Mr. Dean had an extremely deep voice.  While I liked his voice, it didn't sit well for a YA boy.  And his voices for the girls were as good as they could be with such a deep voice.  They didn't sound like girls.  I think Mrs. Dean's voice contributed to some of my feelings toward Alex.  When Alex said something overbearing to his sisters, it came across extra aggressive and callous.  I would listen to Mr. Dean narrate other books though.




    Overall...
    I enjoyed this book more than the first, I think.  It is a close one.




    I'm not sure that I'll finish the trilogy though.  Since book two gave an additional perspective, there was little progress on the actual disaster.  I have little hope that much progress will occur because of Ms. Pfeffer's writing style that tends to focus on the day-to-day details  and because there is only one book left.    I don't think I'll get what I want out of the third book.  Plus, Alex and Miranda in the same book does not appeal to my sensitivity to teenage drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I read Life As We Knew It in like November 2012 and I absolutely

    I read Life As We Knew It in like November 2012 and I absolutely loved it and wished there was a sequel, so you can imagine my excitement when today I put it in the BN search bar and found there were more. I havent read it yet but I am super thrilled and looking forward to reading it. Since the average rating is 4 I will give it a 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Heart Renching

    I loved this book. It was very sad and depressing but when you read this you will feel just how Alex felt about his life and what he had to do to live it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Xavier

    Omigosh!! That is so cool! I missed you too xD I'm so glad you two are healthy ^_^ She sounds cute. How have you been since? :))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Great Book

    This book was awesome, I couldn’t put it down I just wanted to read it all day. The beginning was a little slow at first then the whole book just sped up all at once. The things happening inside of New York in the book was phenomenal. The Ending of the book was the best part of it all. I could just read over and over it would never get old to me. Going to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    The Dead and Gone is a very inversing book. It is written by Sus

    The Dead and Gone is a very inversing book. It is written by Susan Beth Puffer. This book can and defiantly holed the reader’s attain. This captivating book is very well written as well as suspenseful. This review tells the highsAlex is a normal boy who works in a pizza shop. That all changes one day when the moon gets too close to the earth then Alex and his two sisters’ whole world changes. This story has many ups and downs. This story gets crazier as it continues. This book has a twist at the end. and the lows of this exhilarating book.
    I highly liked this book. I would recommend it to kids twelve and up. It is defiantly for mature readers only. Susan Beth Puffer did an amazing job this story. This book really ends with a twist. It is so good it makes you want to read the next one. Over all I enjoyed this book. Susan Beth Puffer did a magnificent job on it. This book was so good it made me read the second one with the hope that it would be just as good if not better. I think everyone should read this book. If you don’t read this book you have really missed out.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    The book The Dead and the Gone is a companion novel

    The book The Dead and the Gone is a companion novel of Life As We Knew It written by Susan Beth Pfeffer. The book is about 336 pages and keeps writers entertained throughout the book with situations that the reader or audience would have never thought about. The book is based on survival and is good in making you believe that your are part of the book, something I like to have in a novel that will keep me on task with the book. The point of this book is to make the things you take for granted and show how life would be without that. While you read this book for extended periods of time you will feel like you are part of the book.

    The book is based around this one character with the name of Alex Morales. He is a Catholic-Puerto Rican and is 17. He works at the Pizza Parlor and has a family of 6. His family consists of one brother who works for the military, his name is Carlos. He has two sisters; Brianna and Julie, and his mom and dad. The conflict starts when Alex is at the pizza parlor while watching a game he put a bet on. In a bit he notices that all electronics are down and that he is sent home early. He goes home and finds out that his mom is still not there. That is when the book starts and the main character has to take care of his sisters and the rising action starts.

    The book was great and breath-taking but there was a couple of stuff the author could of done to make the novel better. First he could’ve made the story in a first-person view and that could be done like Life As We Knew It. Kind of like a diary. That would make the book much more realistic instead of having a third person view. He could of also skipped a couple of chapters because; yes, I get it, you’re hungry. One other thing that could of been better could be if Julie and Brianna could talk more. The story always seemed to have Alex do the talking and his sisters with all the action. Nothing wrong with that, It would just help.

    Overall the book was great. It did a great job with the story, and actually made it seem like the world was ending. It didn’t seem like 2012 the movie where it was unrealistic. It made me feel like it could actually happen. When I came down for dinner I felt like my mom was crazy giving me full meals, until I realized I wasn’t reading the book. It did a great job of making me feel grateful for all the things we take for granted on a daily basis.

    I give this book a 4/5 stars for having such a realistic approach. I highly recommend reading this book, as you will truly feel what it is like in countries that are not nearly as developed as the United States and the rest of the developed world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: The Dead and the Gone

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer
    Title of review: Amazing book
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4.5/5

    Introduction
    The Dead and the Gone tells the story of a 17 year old boy, named Alex Morales, view of an astronomical disaster. The setting is the big state of New York, which is already hard to live in without catastrophe. But after there is a problem involving the moon, mass hysteria breaks out upon the U.S. And to make it worse, Alex has no parents to help him through it.
    Description and summary of main points
    The main character is a young boy named Alex Morales. He lives in the city of Manhattan with his two younger sisters, Briana and Julie. His father is currently in Puerto Rico for his Grandmother’s funeral. And his mom has been called to the hospital. Because the story is written in a first person point of view, you do not know what is going on with the parents. And because the disaster is happening around the world, Alex has no clue what is going on with his father.
    Evaluation
    I liked most of the book, but it takes a couple chapters to get started up. However, once the book starts, you won’t be able to stop. The way the author adds challenge after challenge for Alex makes the book so much more interesting. The book will be the puppeteer, pulling on your emotional string. All in all, if you like action books, I would suggest you read this book.
    Conclusion
    Pffefer goes above and beyond when giving information about Alex’s point of view of the world collapsing around him. Not only did she make Alex fend for himself, he also made him have to care for his too little sisters. Pffefer adds hurdle after hurdle for Alex that will leave you guessing what’s next. And there’re many twists that you won’t see coming.
    Your final review
    All in all, I enjoyed this book and am going to read the rest of the series. If you read this than I hope you enjoy it. I hope my evaluation helped you decide if you want to read this book or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    : A descent story The goal of The Dead and the Gone is to enter

    : A descent story
    The goal of The Dead and the Gone is to entertain the reader. It is supposed to entertain the reader by telling a story about disaster. The story is mainly about a boy and his two sisters surviving during a global disaster. It is an entertaining story about surviving in the city when all hope is lost.
    Description and summary of main points
    Some of the main characters in this story are Alex, Bri, Julie, Carlos, Papa, Mama, and Kevin. It started out when the asteroid hit the moon and changed everything. Alex and his sisters have to survive in New York City when everything was gone.
    Evaluation
    I personally found the book to be very entertaining but depressing at times. I had mixed emotions about it. There were times when I couldn’t put it down and times that I’d put it down whenever I got a chance. It was one of the best books I’ve read in the past 2 years. I’d recommend it to anybody that finds it interesting.
    Conclusion
    This is a very good book. It has an interesting story to it. An asteroid hit the moon and completely changed the climate globally. People were leaving there homes to move south. Alex, Bri, and Julie had to survive in New York until they could get out. Their friends were gone and the city was sinking. It was worth reading.
    Your final review
    The book was very good and was worth reading. I liked it and found it enjoyable but at times it would get depressing. I spent one night reading it as long as I could. I would recommend it to anybody that likes a survival, or disaster book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5