BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1881 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1170)

4 Star

(478)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly wonderful

Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.

The book picks up on the s...
Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.

The book picks up on the storyline that was laid in book 4. Eric has his memory back, but doesn't remember. Jason has been bitten by a werepanther and is waiting for the first full moon.

Someone is trying to kill werewolfs and shifters, the search for Debbie Pelt continues and there are attempts made on Sookie's life. While I would have liked to have seen more with the vampires in this book, we got to see enough of them and the storyline with Eric and Sookie is further developed. (love that) Lots of great and well developed plot in this book.

Definetly a page turner and a worthwhile read in this series.

posted by 148617 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bloody Filler

I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out me...
I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out members of the supernatural world. Sookie endures the usual litany of sticky situations and mortal injuries but this time around the story is extremely diluted with pointless commentary and insufferable podunk metaphors ("my face burned like a pack of fire ants"). Cue the banjo.
Furthermore, this book is somewhat hard to follow. Many of the pivotal characters are people/things that have never before been referenced and there are times when the dialogue is completely without context; "I turned to Maryelizabeth and her daughter and thanked them for the glass of water. Maryelizabeth gave me a hostile look and said to her daughter 'We should've never sent you to school'". What? What does that have to do with anything? I very often read after I've had a couple (six) glasses of wine but I have a pretty good recollection of the major action items in this story and Maryelizabeth's daughter's education had nothing to do with anything and while we're at it, who the hell is Maryelizabeth?
I mean, I'm going to continue reading the series (if anything it makes the HBO series more fun to watch) but I sincerely hope later stories have a little more umph.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on August 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1901 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 96
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly wonderful

    Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.<BR/><BR/>The book picks up on the storyline that was laid in book 4. Eric has his memory back, but doesn't remember. Jason has been bitten by a werepanther and is waiting for the first full moon.<BR/><BR/>Someone is trying to kill werewolfs and shifters, the search for Debbie Pelt continues and there are attempts made on Sookie's life. While I would have liked to have seen more with the vampires in this book, we got to see enough of them and the storyline with Eric and Sookie is further developed. (love that) Lots of great and well developed plot in this book.<BR/><BR/>Definetly a page turner and a worthwhile read in this series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    After watching 6 seasons of the HBO series based on these books,

    After watching 6 seasons of the HBO series based on these books, in many respects I still like the books better (that is, Books 1-10). Unlike most book in a series, I think that the books in this series would make for satisfying stand alone read because the main mystery or mysteries are solved within each book so although the saga continues the books don't end on the typical cliffhanger fashion. Nevertheless, to become truly immersed in the Sookie Stackhouse world I recommend reading the books in order. The reader is again taken on a journey with Sookie through a captivating, humorous and often perilous adventure into the secret world of the two natured and the undead, as well as, the secret thoughts of the living. This edition is filled with loads of action, mystery, danger, suspense and a bit of humor. The writing style leaves a bit to be desired but I love the originality of the plot and the characters so this book, as well as books 1 thru 10, is still primarily a winner in my opinion. Given Sookie's physical attributes, her personality, her zeal for life, her vitality and her special &quot;gift&quot; and heritage I neither find it surprising nor unrealistic or irritating that the supernatural males find her desirable. Besides, it's fantasy people and I for one enjoy Sookie's romantic encounters and almost encounters with such a diverse variety of sinfully sexy and deliciously alpha supernatural males. I always enjoy a sookie book. The characters are great (especially Eric) I love Eric! The crazy situations and things that happen are fun to read about. With mystery and suspense and great characters you can't go wrong!   

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Filler

    I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out members of the supernatural world. Sookie endures the usual litany of sticky situations and mortal injuries but this time around the story is extremely diluted with pointless commentary and insufferable podunk metaphors ("my face burned like a pack of fire ants"). Cue the banjo.
    Furthermore, this book is somewhat hard to follow. Many of the pivotal characters are people/things that have never before been referenced and there are times when the dialogue is completely without context; "I turned to Maryelizabeth and her daughter and thanked them for the glass of water. Maryelizabeth gave me a hostile look and said to her daughter 'We should've never sent you to school'". What? What does that have to do with anything? I very often read after I've had a couple (six) glasses of wine but I have a pretty good recollection of the major action items in this story and Maryelizabeth's daughter's education had nothing to do with anything and while we're at it, who the hell is Maryelizabeth?
    I mean, I'm going to continue reading the series (if anything it makes the HBO series more fun to watch) but I sincerely hope later stories have a little more umph.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Different but great

    Different from series on hbo, but super exciting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Secret

    Go to potter res1

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome!,,

    Every book is great, just great, im not sure wich one is better the books or the tv series, anyway now im going to enjoy the next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No spoilers please

    I am enjoying this series. Some parts and books more than others. One request is that those of you writing reviews quit giving away major plot points. Say whether you like the book, give vague details and then be done! A review is not a book report where you have to list all the details!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    5th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I loved it. I'm intrig

    5th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I loved it. I'm intrigued by the new character Quinn, and also to see what Eric is going to do now that Sookie has told him what really happened when he was under the witches spell. I look forward to book 6. BTW... Bill is a bit of a douche in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    OOFIOOIYO??IJOIIIIIIUUOKYY

    YYYUIYYYYYYOPPPGLPPYPPKYPPLP

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Bad book

    Bad

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Sookie rocks!

    This was another great read..... she keeps us wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series! While this book was not as action packed as

    I love this series! While this book was not as action packed as some of her previous ones, it was still an awesome read! I love being able to read the series while watching the series. Cannot wait to read book #6! B++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Excellent!

    On to the next one........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A great read.

    AWESOME!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great series!!!!

    Great book!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Panther?

    Dont think im weird about the were creatures, still enjoyed this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Confused

    I really enjoyed this book but I was confused at some point in the story when she started describing Claude and Claudine. How did she find out about fairies, and how did she know what weakens them? It threw me off the momentum of the story but still enjoyable. Just certain parts leave you wondering, " Wait, what did I miss?" Which made me backtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Awesome in all aspects!

    Johanna Parker is great when reading this book and all the series. Very talented at what she does...and the novels are amazing. Just love the Sookie Stackhouse series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Fun as always!

    Quick, fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Love the books!

    Love the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1901 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 96