Customer Reviews for

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1881 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1170)

4 Star

(478)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly wonderful

Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.

The book picks up on the s...
Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.

The book picks up on the storyline that was laid in book 4. Eric has his memory back, but doesn't remember. Jason has been bitten by a werepanther and is waiting for the first full moon.

Someone is trying to kill werewolfs and shifters, the search for Debbie Pelt continues and there are attempts made on Sookie's life. While I would have liked to have seen more with the vampires in this book, we got to see enough of them and the storyline with Eric and Sookie is further developed. (love that) Lots of great and well developed plot in this book.

Definetly a page turner and a worthwhile read in this series.

posted by 148617 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bloody Filler

I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out me...
I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out members of the supernatural world. Sookie endures the usual litany of sticky situations and mortal injuries but this time around the story is extremely diluted with pointless commentary and insufferable podunk metaphors ("my face burned like a pack of fire ants"). Cue the banjo.
Furthermore, this book is somewhat hard to follow. Many of the pivotal characters are people/things that have never before been referenced and there are times when the dialogue is completely without context; "I turned to Maryelizabeth and her daughter and thanked them for the glass of water. Maryelizabeth gave me a hostile look and said to her daughter 'We should've never sent you to school'". What? What does that have to do with anything? I very often read after I've had a couple (six) glasses of wine but I have a pretty good recollection of the major action items in this story and Maryelizabeth's daughter's education had nothing to do with anything and while we're at it, who the hell is Maryelizabeth?
I mean, I'm going to continue reading the series (if anything it makes the HBO series more fun to watch) but I sincerely hope later stories have a little more umph.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on August 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Filler

    I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out members of the supernatural world. Sookie endures the usual litany of sticky situations and mortal injuries but this time around the story is extremely diluted with pointless commentary and insufferable podunk metaphors ("my face burned like a pack of fire ants"). Cue the banjo.
    Furthermore, this book is somewhat hard to follow. Many of the pivotal characters are people/things that have never before been referenced and there are times when the dialogue is completely without context; "I turned to Maryelizabeth and her daughter and thanked them for the glass of water. Maryelizabeth gave me a hostile look and said to her daughter 'We should've never sent you to school'". What? What does that have to do with anything? I very often read after I've had a couple (six) glasses of wine but I have a pretty good recollection of the major action items in this story and Maryelizabeth's daughter's education had nothing to do with anything and while we're at it, who the hell is Maryelizabeth?
    I mean, I'm going to continue reading the series (if anything it makes the HBO series more fun to watch) but I sincerely hope later stories have a little more umph.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No spoilers please

    I am enjoying this series. Some parts and books more than others. One request is that those of you writing reviews quit giving away major plot points. Say whether you like the book, give vague details and then be done! A review is not a book report where you have to list all the details!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book in the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Hard book

    Hard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    kinda spoiler- more like an opinion...sorry?

    i love these books! i love the spunky, no-nonsense heroin and the way the plot is laid out. But im getting a little tired of all of these seemingly random men falling head over heels for her all the time.
    i like the eric-bill conflict with a little sam on the side, but when alcide, calvin, and now apperantly this new quinn guy are going to get the hots for her-and of course she's get a little list for all of them.
    really i just want her a bill to make up and all the rest of them(i.e. sam and calvin)to take a hint and stop trying to get in her pants!
    (and to make it worse, watching TrueBlood makes me dislike bill more than i want to. but i like the series despite its-major-faults)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Liked the story enough but a tad slow at times.

    I find she is great at hiding the mystery from you by keeping all the parts from you until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    A Captivating Space Filler?

    Sookie ends up in a bind & -- as usual -- ends up getting hurt. Her brother, Jason, is being accused for shooting other Shifter (but now that he, too, is a werepanther it seems unlikely). Unfortunatley Sam becomes a victim & is shot, which leads to a substitute bartender to replace him -- the sub bartender is a vampire that Eric loaned out to Sam. Also, Sookie tells Eric what happened when he had amnesia. But while dealing w/ all the drama, Sookie is also pulled into the Werewolf politics after their packmaster dies. She witnesses the ritual of selecting the new packmaster & meets a new man, Quin. The search for the recently deceased Debbie Pelt (who Sookie shot) causes an uproar of investigations, but nothing too serious. Sookie is also proclaimed a victim when her house is set on fire & she gets shot. As a result the Shifter killer is revealed as Merlotte's new cook & the Werewolves acheive a new packmaster, -- tragically, Alcide's father loses & dies. At the end another killer is revealed & the vampire baretender also dies.
    Harris works out another captivating story, but nothing truly exciting happens. I found this particular book to be more predictable than usual & it seemed more-or-less like a space filler, though it was still very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Werepeople and Shifters take center stage.

    This is probably the my least favorite of the series. It delves deeper into the Were population and their customs and leaves the vampires to the side. If you follow the series then you need to read it to keep up with the following stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9