BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 4154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2021)

4 Star

(1057)

3 Star

(661)

2 Star

(251)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

B & N PLEASE STOP!!!

Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just ...
Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just skews the whole rating system and makes it of no use whatsoever :(

posted by tana928 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Comments

Stop making comments that do not concern the reading of the book. I am annoyed by people making comments about where they cannot buy or ship this book from. If you are not making a comment about reading the book please keep it to yourself!!

posted by Sweetmd80 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 661 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Missing the spark

    I started reading the Sookie Stackhouse series after picking up "Dead after Dark" in B&N out of curiosity. I was immediately impressed with the social commentary, witty repartee, development of the character's relationships. The books have provided an example of isolationism through the vamps, weres, and other supes interaction with the rest of the world... that correlates with societal outcasts, downtrodden, and historical minorities. It challenges the reader to examine their own feelings on larger issues while enjoying the banter between the characters and general levity of Sookie's interpretation of the folks in Bon Temps.

    "Dead in the Family" is lacking. It feels like "filler"... like a place holder for other books to come. The characters were not true to their already established personas. Eric was weak and small. Scenes with Eric... typically he is omnipresent. I know that part of the plot was Eric's struggle with inadequacy and subserviance, but he never redeemed himself. The conflict between Eric's and Sookie's feelings for each other and whether it was a result of the bond or authentic feelings was contrived and never well-fleshed out. Bill's declaration of love and how this affected Sookie and her inner conflict between her love for the vampires that was left hanging at the end of book 8 wasn't addressed. She was not committed to her statement that bill was "just a friend" when talking to Lorena's other child. Dermot was let off the hook too easily. All in all... the plot was far to simplistic compared to the brilliance of previous books in the series. I am too committed to the series at this point to give up hope... but I am anxious to get back to the bad a*s, strong woman of a character we have come to love and admire in Sookie Stackhouse in the next installment.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Leaves readers wanting

    As a reader who has read all the books in the Sookie Stackhouse series, this new book rates only a 3 star for me. The plot lines feel like a start of something new but author Charlaine Harris did not seem to close any of the new story lines at the end of the book, with one exception. Therefore, the book feels contrived and unfulfilled. Character development wise, the back story of Eric's maker could be fleshed out more. Eric appears out of his usual character of being a decisive boss and becomes clingy and uncertain as he keeps on asking Sookie if she loves him. It may be that Ms. Harris is doing this on purpose to lay the story line for her next book. I guess we will have to wait to find out.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I don't know what to say

    I don't understand why Charlaine didn't create a proper plot for this book. and a few of the others in this series. Was it the amount of pages it would take? Couldn't she have cut out things that were less important?
    This book is only best read if you're reading all ten one right after the other, if you've been waiting for a year and expecting a great progress with the characters you'll be let down. Nothing is resolved, Bill is barely in this, there's very little about Sookie's and Eric's relationship.
    I was disappointed, and I don't think I'll be reading the next book as soon as it comes out. I think I'll take my own advice and only read them all once the series is over, so these small stories won't piss me off as much.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Probably the Worst in Series

    I've not written reviews before, but basically, this book was not my favorite in the series. I don't know - maybe this was just a closure for the last book, but many questions are not answered (e.g. Victor Madden, King Felippe) and this was pretty tame insofar as plots in this series. Sookie seems lonelier in this book than any other and nobody really comforts her, friends, boyfriend or family. I was disappointed in this book - the first book I have been in any of Ms. Harris's series ( I've read them all. ) Maybe she is too busy working on the Tru Blood series screenplays ?!? This was a poor cousin of the series. I hope Ms. Harris doesn't go the way of Laurel K. Hamilton... little substance trading for big profit.

    In my recommended books (below) I've included a few of my favorite authors, but this is by no means a complete list - these books are just the start of each of these series I've read, but not all of the series I've read. One of my favorite is the Bitten & Smitten series - funny and a new take on vamps! I laughed all the way thru this series.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I was expecting more...

    The book had several really great plotlines, however Charlaine Harris only briefly touched on each one before moving on. As a result of the lack of "meat" for each plotline, the resolution at the end of the novel seemed very anticlimactic. I found myself feeling cheated by the time I reached the end of the book.

    While readers of the series are more than aware that Sookie is a huge sunbather, I fail to see why it is so important to mention the fact in practically every book. I do not feel that the sunbathing scenes are necessary. I believe that Harris' time could have been better spent on the plotlines she did not fully develop.

    I was also very disappointed in Eric's character. I felt that it while it was expected for him to act a little out of character given the circumstances, Harris took Eric's character to the extreme opposite of his usual personality. Eric came off as weak. It is a complete disappointment to have to say that I thought BILL showed greater character in this book.

    That being said, it is not to say that the entire book was a disaster. One thing that I particularly liked in this book was getting to see Sookie interact with several characters that she's not normally seen with. I liked getting a greater perspective of those characters. I liked seeing Claude, Pam, Hunter, Jason, and Tara in this book. I also liked Kennedy and Danny in this book but would have rather the plots have been "beefed up" and the scenes with Kennedy and Danny had been fewer.

    Read the book, but don't expect a lot of it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I waited for a year for this.....

    I am in LOVE with the sookie books and i've been dying for book 10 to come out. I was soo excited when it finally arrived that i read it in 7 hours! Let me just say this was not the best book in the series. I found it almost boring! It seemed like a whole bunch of stuff was going on but none of it really got resolved. Eric has been after sookie since book one and now that there actually together they don't really act like a couple =( Where is the romance? I was just bummed to wait for so long and be so disappointed. I REALLY hope the next books are better and come out SOONER!! because Ms. Charlaine Harris is a hell of a writer normally. = )

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Worst of the Series

    Not a bad book, but definitely the worst of the series. I am a huge fan of the other books, but this one seemed incomplete. The main plot was hardly meaty enough for a subplot, but the Sookie universe keeps me wanting more. Hopefully the next book(s) make up for this slow disaster.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Disappointed!!!

    Spoilers!!!
    I was hoping this book was so much better, I love Sookie with Eric, but come on!!! I waited 9 books for them to get together, and all of the sudden they are, just like that!!?? don't get me wrong I love Eric, but she could have written a little more sparkles between them. Eric didn't seem like himself at all. I hope she's not planing to make Eric into a boring character like she did Bill. Eric is a big reason why I read this series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Not as good as the other books.

    Not only does this book seem short in comparison to the other Sookie books, the plot seems to have little going on in the way of mystery or intrigue. It's more of a "then this happened" and "then this happened" and "the we defeated this guy" and "then we figured out this minor thing" and the end. A series of random events that all worked themselves out in a few sentences. Literally. "He's under a spell...how do we break it?...I heard you do this...and it worked!" I was waiting for the exciting part the whole time and it never came. I was pretty disappointed. It answered all the unanswered questions from the previous book and introduced a couple new characters that didn't seem all that important and then it was done.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Expected more than this!

    First of this is my first review.Where to start?Wow this book could of been way better than this.It felt rushed,basically it felt like a filler.It did not feel as if she wrote it herself.I was not feeling the characters what so ever.I waited so long for this book....what a big let down.But hey you be the judge of it.I would not recommend this book at all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Getting Tired of Sookie?

    As much as I was looking forward to this tenth installment in the Sookie Stackhouse series, I was really disappointed by it. I'm not sure if Harris is getting tired of writing about Sookie or is running out of ideas or what but this book lacked the "punch" of the previous nine. There was too much going on, there are too many characters and "supes" to keep track of -it felt jumbled and confused. Additionally, it took more than half of the book for the plot to become clear. And, honestly, even when I was finished, I wasn't completely sure of what the point of the book was. There are still a lot of loose ends so I'm assuming that Harris is planning an eleventh book but I have to admit that I'm just not as excited about it as I was just a week and a half ago. There were also some cheesy moments -a reference to the theme song for "TrueBlood?" Really? I guess it's okay to acknowledge the explosive popularity of the television series but it felt silly and contrived. Hope the next Sookie book is better.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    What In The World Happened?

    This is not the book I've been anticipating. Was "Dead in the Family" just a filler book? There were too many little pieces of the characters left exposed but not fully understandable.

    Compared to the first 9 books, I don't feel it deserves a place with the collection.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Lackluster!

    This book was lackluster and disappointing. I have been a huge fan of the Stackhouse series for a long time. Waiting impatiently for this book to come out was like torture. I sat down very excitedly to read it and was left with a rather apathetic feeling toward the book. In the past the books have been page turners. Wading through all the twists and turns in Sookie's life has always been exciting. However, with this book I felt as though the Sookie I have come to love has checked out and what is left is an empty shell of the person she used to be. I expected her to be changed from past events, however what has been left falls flat for me. I was also really excited to watch the relationship between Eric and Sookie develop. That, I must say, was the biggest disappointment of all. I felt as though there was absolutely none of the chemistry that was there in the past books. It is as if they are just going through the motions of a relationship with none of the substance and fire that used to be present. My ultimate hope is that this book is just one full of information that is going to make the next book over the top amazing. I will go into the next book being as hopeful as I did with this one......

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Lack luster

    Having only recently discovered the Sookie Stackhouse novels... and having just read all nine of them in a month and finding out by happy coincidence number ten would be released within days of me finishing nine... I was super let down! I love love love the series and the characters... they've sort of taken over my life lol!!! That being said Harris really let's the Eric/Sookie fans down to the extreme, the spark between them seems like it's fading fast and it seems to be all Sookies doing. She has a feeling of indifference the whole time... not really showing us any real feeling for Eric. I absolutely love the new Eric, the in-love Eric!!! I do wish she would've keep the playful banter between them but Eric really loves her and he's had the whole other nine books to come to terms with it and realize it. As you can tell I'm Team Eric all the way! Back to Harris... she jumbles several lack luster plots... that leave you wanting more mystery more action... more LOVE... more everything!!! I especially dislike the ending... leaving a cliff hanger of what's to come with Eric/Sookie... which I'm pretty sure is heading to break up :( but like I said I love the series and will keep reading about Sookie's adventures! I did kind of like the new Sookie in some ways she's more take charge, desensitized, and ballsy... an understanding change due to the events of book nine... she also semi debates whether or not she wants to become a vampire to be with Eric, but it seems just a passing thought in her head. Over all not my favorite by any means, looking forward to book 11 to see what happens to my favorite herione and vampire!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Charlaine, what were you thinking??

    I have waited patiently for this 10th book in the series and I am so disappointed!!! I had to force myself to finish this one, whereas I couldn't put the other 9 down. There was no real plot to this one. The 9th book left you waiting to see what would happen with Eric and Sookie, and the 10th started with them in a full blown sappy relationship. And Eric has gone soft!!! I was glad to see Alcide make a return, but again, where was the drama and intrigue that was in the previous books. This seemed like a book published out of requirement or deadline. If there is an 11th in the series, I really hope Charlaine can bring back what made this series popular to begin with.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    left feeling...unsatisfied

    I generally love Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse books and can read them over and over. Unfortunately this book didn't feel complete to me. I think Mrs. Harris should have put some more time into explaining certain aspects. (i.e. Bill getting better and getting together with Judith) It felt like more of a side note than anything. Also I wasn't a fan of how the Dermont issue was cleared up. I don't want to spoil it for anyone but seriously?! That was LAME! As far as Sookies character goes I do love how she has grown and I enjoy her inner conflicts such as her own morality. Overall I did enjoy most of the book but some parts were irritating.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Confused?!?!?!

    I could not have been more excited about the book..... That was before I read it. After finishing the book i was confused and disappointed. It seemed very out of sort and scattered. I am a huge fan of Charlaine Harris and maybe thats why i was so disappointed. I am hopeful (but doubtful) that IF there is an 11th book it will stand with the rest of this series. But as for this book it seemed to not fit. :(

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good

    I was pretty disappointed in this book, mainly because I didn't feel like this was "up to par" based on the rest of the series. The first nine books were quick, easy reads that had basic plots and character development, but were still fun and each had their own little mysteries.
    I picked up this book, excited, but after I was about halfway finished, I realized not much had happened. It read more like a journal than a paranormal mystery novel. The plot was definitely not up to the standards Charlaine Harris has set for herself throughout this series. It also felt like she (Harris) had incorporated more of the HBO series "True Blood" aspects into this book - the little nuances hinting at what's happened in the tv series, as well as the character's manners reflecting those in the series.
    On a side note, Sookie has become very snooty and for lack of a better word, b*tchy. I really wish she didn't feel like everything should revolve around her, as a small town Southern woman, you'd think she'd have different views and actions regarding the men and events happening around her.
    All in all, not nearly as well written as the other nine in this series, would have been better if she (Harris) put some more thought and time into this one and just released at a later date.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    Disappointed as well

    Though I did finish this book rather quickly, I still was quite disappointed with it. I wouldn't say don't read it but I really hope Charlaine makes it up to us readers in the next Sookie Stackhouse book she writes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spread to thin not enough substance

    Sorry Charlaine but this was worst in the series. I was so excited for this book to come out and see what was going to happen with Sookie and Eric's relationship. Love Eric! There was reference to Eric and their relationship but not much occurred in the book. There are several scenes with Bill but nothing happened with that either. Could have skipped the younger cousin since it didn't offer anything to the plot. That could have been played up. In the next book I would like to see more happen with Bill and his "Sister" and also with Sookie and Eric.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 661 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34