BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 4154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2021)

4 Star

(1057)

3 Star

(661)

2 Star

(251)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

B & N PLEASE STOP!!!

Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just ...
Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just skews the whole rating system and makes it of no use whatsoever :(

posted by tana928 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Comments

Stop making comments that do not concern the reading of the book. I am annoyed by people making comments about where they cannot buy or ship this book from. If you are not making a comment about reading the book please keep it to yourself!!

posted by Sweetmd80 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sookie,where you at girl??

    I love Charlaine Harris. I have read and loved all of her Sookie Stackhouse books.
    This book disappointed me.

    SPOILER ALERT***********************
    1.The story has no arc,no clear build up of anticipation. It was like cruising in a car enjoying the sites.
    2.The beginning of the book leads you to believe that it is about having a showdown with Victor. That story is barely touched upon and we see Sookie wanting to plot on how to kill him but is impotent to do anything about it.
    3. The chemistry between Sookie and Eric is gone. They use to burn up the pages but now they barely simmer.
    4. Eric, who always came across as the uber male bad a*# is weak and ambiguous in this book. A flimsy excuse for it is because his maker is in town and he is conflicted on how to handle him. Sookie wants him dead of course.
    5. Sookie's character development is disturbing. She has definitely changed. She has lost her innocence but not the faith she has in herself. She was raped and tortured in the last book and that would change anyone. Her attitude is reminiscent of Beatrice Kiddo in "Kill Bill". She wants revenge and death on anyone who has harmed her or her loved ones. Her personality is becoming closer to that of a vampire and I hope she will not choose to loose her humanity in subsequent books.
    6. I feel this book was for the fans because alot of little story lines from the past got wrapped up,(Bill gets reacquainted with his family). The story would be confusing to newcomers and I don't think they would appreciate obscure references.

    On a positive note I liked the subplot with the werewolves and I wish that would have been more developed. Sookie acted as a shaman to Alcide's pack and that was a very cool scene.
    I hope this book was just a bump in the road for Mrs Harris because she still remains my favorite author.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Lacking cohesion and plot...

    As an avid reader of the Sookie Stackhouse series, I was very disappointed by this last installment. There are too many small subplots and within the last couple of pages Harris attempts to bring it all together. Characters did not live up to standards, ie. Bill especially. I would hope that Harris can revive this story with something more wound together and coherent. It's a paperback must.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as thrilled as I wanted to be!

    I read the first nine books of this series back to back to back and loved them all! Every book was a new adventure I couldn't put down. I literally had nights in bed reading where I stayed up til two hours before my alarm was set because I had to know what happened next.

    I had to wait a while between #9 and this one, so I was super excited when it came in. I was let down. I still love the series and if #11 comes out I will buy it, but this seemed to be filler. There wasn't a huge event that seemed earth shattering. It was just so anti-climatic. It actually made me wonder if Charlaine Harris ran out of adventure ideas and just had to put out something to make a publishing contract deadline.

    I am still a fan. I just hope the next one is back to what I've come to love and expect from Sookie Stackhouse.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Yawn

    I don't pick up the Sookie books expecting to be intellectually stimulated. I like them because they are a fun and entertaining easy read. This book wasn't terrible, it just wasn't good. Nothing profound happened. The book just kind of went along, addressing some of the events in the prior book. Sookie is bitter from the last books events. This leaves her with a poor attitude and Eric seems almost whiny. All the characters become less likeable. The story was also choppy, it seemed like she was trying to cram lots of random, unexciting events in this book to keep her options open for the next book. Usually I have a hard time putting a book down; this one I did not. If you really like the Sookie books it's worth a read but I wouldn't get too excited about it. Hopefully the next one will be better.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just could not get into it :/

    After waiting a full year for this book i have read the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, The Rachel Morgan series, The Night Huntress series, and many more that werent as good but still worthy. Therefore, after waiting so long and reading many amazing novels i just could NOT get back into the -southern/true blood/eric is the hottest ever- feeling that i used to get back when i first started reading these books. Truth be told, the writing style is... mediocre compared to many i like and am used to, and there was a lack in plot. While i read i felt like i was reading to just get the book done and over with and to see if Sookie is with Bill or Eric, but at the same time i really didnt care. Basically, the first few pages told me everything i wanted to know so i just... closed the book. To many, this series is dragging on and on and needs to end already and the characters that led me to fall for this series have become a bit boring and have changed. Maybe one day ill pick the book back up again, but after reading the reviews for this book i probably will not do so.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Plug your nose...it's a stinker!!!

    I have devoured the books of the Stackhouse series and this book was such a disappointment. It seemed forced and contrived....a book forcibly created by the author under pressure from the publisher/fans. I would have waited another year for a better story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened?

    So I was completely and utterly obsessed with this series. I found it almost exactly a year ago (before the true blood fiasco) after trying to ween myself off of the twilight books. Yes, the obsession all started with twilight and I don't miss those books one bit. Eric had me hooked. He was stong, assertive, sexy, masculine, and dangerous. Bill had me ticked off but he was one of those annoying people that I couldn't live without... like I'd miss his attempts to show his love for Sookie. Alcide, Quinn, and the drama and exitement all had me... BUT... this book completely threw me. I wasn't sure if it was because I've read 12 of the Anita Blake novels so I expect romance and excitement, or because this book was really that bad. I called a friend who hasn't read anything but the Sookie series over and over again and to my suprise she agreed with me! Eric was a big softie, the plot was all over the place, and there was a complete lack of connection with ANY of the characters. I felt empty. We are in the same place that we started and we've gained nothing. I feel like I could have completely skipped reading this book, and gone on to the next and missed nothing for there is nothing to be gained by reading this. I read the entire book in a few hours and I just felt empty. I'm not sure if the whole True Blood movement diverted the authors attention from the original story or what but this book did nothing for me. If the next book is like this then I'm done with the series. Let's just hope Charlaine can find her way back to the passion and excitement.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    who wrote this??

    this book was a complete waste of my time. it took me over a week to read it, and i am a very fast reader. as a huge fan of the sookie stackhouse series, i'm at a loss for words to describe my disappointment. this book basically had no point. i can'y believe harris wrote this. it was absolutely horrible. i waited for the excitement and thrill that never came....i could have had a better week NOT reading this but hey, you have to.. when ur a fan i guess....blah.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    what a disappointment!

    After waiting such a long time between books, I was really hopeful for at lest something of substance. Read through the book in less than a day, as I did with all the others in the series, but this one just seemed to lack the fun and quirkiness that Charlaine Harris always seems to bring to Bon Temps. Dead in the Family seemed almost phoned in. The storyline left so much to be desired and Sookie has become, dare I say, boring? What gives? This was definitely not the page-turner I anticipated after finishing Dead and Gone.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weak, a bit disappointing. Was CH in a hurry?

    I love this series because it was always fun, funny, romantic and a bit on the lighter side compared to CH's contemporaries. (ie: L. Hamilton, JR Ward etc) I loved the previous 9 books in the series but this one fell flat. The story seemed a bit weak or perhaps rushed. Possiblity of wonderful characters but they were never expanded. They were introduced, they came, they did and they went...absolutely no depth to this one.

    If you're a fan of the series then you absolutely must read this one too. You know you want the answers to the questions left in previous books but lets give CH a break and plenty of time to write the next one.

    If you enjoy the vampire paranormal romances, try the "Brotherhood of the Black Dagger" series by J.R. Ward for a bit darker read. On a much lighter and funnier side, try MaryJanice Davidson's "Undead and Unwed" series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    what the heck happened?

    I love this series and have been reading it since it started- a favorite summertime book I could tear thru- but I'm wondering if I can finish this edition. I agree with other reviewers that found this one boring- the Sookie/ Eric relationship has no zing, Bill is non-existent, the Ocella- Alexei thing is just uncomfortable, the action is uneven, Jason and other characters are just making perfunctive appearances, and even Sookie's narrative is lax. The vampire politics are becoming over-blown and bogged down. Normally I am caught up immediately and cannot put the book down, but I'm having to struggle just to get thru this one. Hopefully Ms. Harris will spark some life into #11- or just end the series if she is tired of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Skip this book and you'll never miss it.

    DITF lacks the adventure, romance, humor and excitement that made this series great; the author's lack of interest is very apparent. I feel like this book isn't even part of the original series, the plots and characters have changed so much that it makes me wonder if Ms Harris really wrote it and what her publishers were thinking. Eric and Sookie are finally together, but they are no longer sexy and fun, they're boring, cheesy and cheap. Bill is pathetic, Eric is weak and Sookie has become tiring...she wants children, but dates Vampires; wants someone who cares about family, but rejects Quinn because he cares about his family; has a hard time trusting people, but takes an unknown drug from Alcide who repeatedly lies to her, etc., etc. The blood bond/marriage is so old and far fetched, it seems like it was from another time and place. Instead of romance, we have cheesy sex; instead of exciting adventures, we have long discussions and weakness; instead of humor, we have depression and loneliness; fiesty, lovable Sookie now kills without remorse. Dermott and Claude were wierd; babysitting Hunter was pointless. Ocella's relationship with Alexi was disturbing and this subject has been dealt with in at least 3 past books. The story of Bill and Lorena was disappointing and incomplete; Sookie's lack of interest was annoying, as is her constantly refering to Bill as her 'ex'. This book didn't continue with any of the past events or anticipate new ones; it was basically about Sookie's mundane daily life and thoughts. Charlaine Harris is a great story teller, but she has managed to turn a series that I loved, and couldn't put down, into a series that I don't care to finish reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    disappointing

    I have read all of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and this was a huge disappointment. I didn't like the way she portrayed Erics character in this book. He was a total wuss. I agree with what others have said about there being too many subplots. It did seem like Harris was just trying to fill the pages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    lack-luster

    I expected so much more. I found this book lacking in so many respects. I still enjoyed reading it, but it doesn't compare to her other books

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Bon Temps has turned boring for now.

    I was excited to see another installment of Sookie Stackhouse adventures come out again. However, after reading this book I am disappointed. Sookie pines for her wild lover Eric when he is tied up with vamp politics. Eric is not a stay at home vamp that's why we love him. Sookie stays close to home and seems scared of the unkown. This book does not show the spunky Sookie we all know and love. The book jumps around and reads like a novella instead of a book. Ms. Harris bring Sookie back the right way.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    NOT impressed

    I have read the previous 9 and LOVED them. I have to say, not so much on this one. I was bored!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    i was so excited to read this book...

    i am a diehard sookie fan and a fan of charlaine harris herself, but i was completely let down with this book. firstly, sookie seems to have lost much of her spark (i understand it's a dark time for her but still) and her firey witt seems to have fizzled out. in this book many of the other characters are pleasent enough, but the plot dragged and fell short. i feel there were many unresolved issues and the book was over before it even got really interesting. i would have liked to find out what happened to arlene too. i think it best that the series come to a satisfying end. sookie has so much history that i feel like any more books about her might sadly be the same.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was a MAJOR disappointment

    I love Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse series but this book was lackluster at best. I was bored through three fourths of this book. There was no real story-line and no action until the last two chapters. I wish there was some growth in Sookie and Eric relationship or an major shake up but nothing happened. I did like that she is starting to face her mortality and whether or not she wants to be with Eric forever but it wasn't enough especially for a years wait on this book. I hope Charlaine Harris steps up her game on the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Will the Real Sookie Please Stand Up?

    I am an avid reader of this series and genre of books and have come across many different writers but I have never been a fan of Charlaine Harris' writing style (changing details/terrible fashion descriptions/typos) but I love Sookie so I have stuck it out. However I might have to change my mind after this snore of a read. I believe any true Sookie fan will feel as deflated as I do.

    After hiring a continuity editor (in fact 2 of them), I figured the typical typos and errors would not be present. I was wrong, they are abundant in this book as well and make reading her books almost irritating for the errors that appear. C. Harris takes a year to put out a book, which many other authors put out 2-3 times as many books a year that are of higher quality than this book. I assumed since C. Harris publishes so infrequently that this book would be well thought out, full of action, and finally give us some answers about Sookie/Eric. Unfortunately folks, none of this is the case. It seems as if Charlaine was on vacation for 9 months and then slopped together this book. The plot just seems to stall out and lose steam altogether. There isn't much character interaction (maybe because Charlaine has killed off so many characters?) except with people that the average Sookie fan wouldn't be interested in spending large quantities of time with anyway.

    Although the story picks up the last 75 pages or so, overall this book leaves you bored, sad and with just as many questions as when you started reading the book. I hate when a series ends but I think that if Charlaine can't come up with a better story line, she needs to consider giving Sookie her happy ending and stepping away from the keyboard. And honestly, as much as I love Sookie and want to see her to the end, after this monstrosity, I will have to seriously consider if I will continue on this horrible train wreck.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    Not what I waited for!

    I couldn't wait to read the new Sookie book! After I did, I'm not excited anymore at all. I felt like there was a lot of fluff and not a whole lot going on. The book didn't clear up anything between Sookie and her love interests and once again introduced more characters. The ending was an ending or was it? hmmmm that's all I have to say. Boring - fell asleep a few times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13