Customer Reviews for

Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 4155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2020)

4 Star

(1059)

3 Star

(661)

2 Star

(251)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

B & N PLEASE STOP!!!

Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just ...
Isn't there a way for B&N to set up the review system to not accept reviews until the book is actually released? Every review up until this point is worthless. Some people give low ratings because they can't download it yet or the book isn't available yet. That just skews the whole rating system and makes it of no use whatsoever :(

posted by tana928 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Comments

Stop making comments that do not concern the reading of the book. I am annoyed by people making comments about where they cannot buy or ship this book from. If you are not making a comment about reading the book please keep it to yourself!!

posted by Sweetmd80 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 210
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Worst of the Series

    Not a bad book, but definitely the worst of the series. I am a huge fan of the other books, but this one seemed incomplete. The main plot was hardly meaty enough for a subplot, but the Sookie universe keeps me wanting more. Hopefully the next book(s) make up for this slow disaster.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Very Disappointing...

    I really have loved all Charlaine Harris' books and I've read all of them, but this one was just a bunch of stories tied together with no overall plot line, no climax or conclusion. In fact, all we got was rising action. It wasn't even a cliffhanger.

    I think the publishers are at least partly to blame with their write on demand publishing. Not every writer is going to be able to write a new book for a series every twelve months and Ms. Harris has written a new one for two of her series for at least the last two years. I think this proving to be recipe for disaster.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    So disappointed!

    I've read all of Harris' books and I was sorely disappointed with this one. It didn't move the story forward in any way and just seemed to be a filler; I'm sure she is under tremendous pressure to release new books to please her rabid fans (and I include myself in that group), but I would gladly wait for a decent book that actually progressed the story and characters. Hopefuly, if there is a next book, this will happen.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Disappointed!!!

    Spoilers!!!
    I was hoping this book was so much better, I love Sookie with Eric, but come on!!! I waited 9 books for them to get together, and all of the sudden they are, just like that!!?? don't get me wrong I love Eric, but she could have written a little more sparkles between them. Eric didn't seem like himself at all. I hope she's not planing to make Eric into a boring character like she did Bill. Eric is a big reason why I read this series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Not as good as the other books.

    Not only does this book seem short in comparison to the other Sookie books, the plot seems to have little going on in the way of mystery or intrigue. It's more of a "then this happened" and "then this happened" and "the we defeated this guy" and "then we figured out this minor thing" and the end. A series of random events that all worked themselves out in a few sentences. Literally. "He's under a spell...how do we break it?...I heard you do this...and it worked!" I was waiting for the exciting part the whole time and it never came. I was pretty disappointed. It answered all the unanswered questions from the previous book and introduced a couple new characters that didn't seem all that important and then it was done.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Expected more than this!

    First of this is my first review.Where to start?Wow this book could of been way better than this.It felt rushed,basically it felt like a filler.It did not feel as if she wrote it herself.I was not feeling the characters what so ever.I waited so long for this book....what a big let down.But hey you be the judge of it.I would not recommend this book at all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    This series is fantastic. This book is one of the best. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Getting Tired of Sookie?

    As much as I was looking forward to this tenth installment in the Sookie Stackhouse series, I was really disappointed by it. I'm not sure if Harris is getting tired of writing about Sookie or is running out of ideas or what but this book lacked the "punch" of the previous nine. There was too much going on, there are too many characters and "supes" to keep track of -it felt jumbled and confused. Additionally, it took more than half of the book for the plot to become clear. And, honestly, even when I was finished, I wasn't completely sure of what the point of the book was. There are still a lot of loose ends so I'm assuming that Harris is planning an eleventh book but I have to admit that I'm just not as excited about it as I was just a week and a half ago. There were also some cheesy moments -a reference to the theme song for "TrueBlood?" Really? I guess it's okay to acknowledge the explosive popularity of the television series but it felt silly and contrived. Hope the next Sookie book is better.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    I think Charlaine Harris misplaced the real book

    This was the worst in the series- very dissappointing. I think between filming for True Blood ( which has deviated SOOOO from the books these days) and touring book signings, Ms Harris must've laid down the real book and accidentally sent this crap to the publisher. I was waiting on pins and needles for the 10th book but UHGG what a waste of money.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    who wrote this??

    this book was a complete waste of my time. it took me over a week to read it, and i am a very fast reader. as a huge fan of the sookie stackhouse series, i'm at a loss for words to describe my disappointment. this book basically had no point. i can'y believe harris wrote this. it was absolutely horrible. i waited for the excitement and thrill that never came....i could have had a better week NOT reading this but hey, you have to.. when ur a fan i guess....blah.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    What In The World Happened?

    This is not the book I've been anticipating. Was "Dead in the Family" just a filler book? There were too many little pieces of the characters left exposed but not fully understandable.

    Compared to the first 9 books, I don't feel it deserves a place with the collection.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Disappointed

    I really expected so much more from Charlaine Harris, I love her writing and her stories. There was nothing new there were no new characters, normally her books take me about 2 days to read I had no interest in this book it took me a week. I hope she redeems herself with the next book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Lackluster!

    This book was lackluster and disappointing. I have been a huge fan of the Stackhouse series for a long time. Waiting impatiently for this book to come out was like torture. I sat down very excitedly to read it and was left with a rather apathetic feeling toward the book. In the past the books have been page turners. Wading through all the twists and turns in Sookie's life has always been exciting. However, with this book I felt as though the Sookie I have come to love has checked out and what is left is an empty shell of the person she used to be. I expected her to be changed from past events, however what has been left falls flat for me. I was also really excited to watch the relationship between Eric and Sookie develop. That, I must say, was the biggest disappointment of all. I felt as though there was absolutely none of the chemistry that was there in the past books. It is as if they are just going through the motions of a relationship with none of the substance and fire that used to be present. My ultimate hope is that this book is just one full of information that is going to make the next book over the top amazing. I will go into the next book being as hopeful as I did with this one......

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    what a disappointment!

    After waiting such a long time between books, I was really hopeful for at lest something of substance. Read through the book in less than a day, as I did with all the others in the series, but this one just seemed to lack the fun and quirkiness that Charlaine Harris always seems to bring to Bon Temps. Dead in the Family seemed almost phoned in. The storyline left so much to be desired and Sookie has become, dare I say, boring? What gives? This was definitely not the page-turner I anticipated after finishing Dead and Gone.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Lack luster

    Having only recently discovered the Sookie Stackhouse novels... and having just read all nine of them in a month and finding out by happy coincidence number ten would be released within days of me finishing nine... I was super let down! I love love love the series and the characters... they've sort of taken over my life lol!!! That being said Harris really let's the Eric/Sookie fans down to the extreme, the spark between them seems like it's fading fast and it seems to be all Sookies doing. She has a feeling of indifference the whole time... not really showing us any real feeling for Eric. I absolutely love the new Eric, the in-love Eric!!! I do wish she would've keep the playful banter between them but Eric really loves her and he's had the whole other nine books to come to terms with it and realize it. As you can tell I'm Team Eric all the way! Back to Harris... she jumbles several lack luster plots... that leave you wanting more mystery more action... more LOVE... more everything!!! I especially dislike the ending... leaving a cliff hanger of what's to come with Eric/Sookie... which I'm pretty sure is heading to break up :( but like I said I love the series and will keep reading about Sookie's adventures! I did kind of like the new Sookie in some ways she's more take charge, desensitized, and ballsy... an understanding change due to the events of book nine... she also semi debates whether or not she wants to become a vampire to be with Eric, but it seems just a passing thought in her head. Over all not my favorite by any means, looking forward to book 11 to see what happens to my favorite herione and vampire!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Charlaine, what were you thinking??

    I have waited patiently for this 10th book in the series and I am so disappointed!!! I had to force myself to finish this one, whereas I couldn't put the other 9 down. There was no real plot to this one. The 9th book left you waiting to see what would happen with Eric and Sookie, and the 10th started with them in a full blown sappy relationship. And Eric has gone soft!!! I was glad to see Alcide make a return, but again, where was the drama and intrigue that was in the previous books. This seemed like a book published out of requirement or deadline. If there is an 11th in the series, I really hope Charlaine can bring back what made this series popular to begin with.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    left feeling...unsatisfied

    I generally love Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse books and can read them over and over. Unfortunately this book didn't feel complete to me. I think Mrs. Harris should have put some more time into explaining certain aspects. (i.e. Bill getting better and getting together with Judith) It felt like more of a side note than anything. Also I wasn't a fan of how the Dermont issue was cleared up. I don't want to spoil it for anyone but seriously?! That was LAME! As far as Sookies character goes I do love how she has grown and I enjoy her inner conflicts such as her own morality. Overall I did enjoy most of the book but some parts were irritating.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weak, a bit disappointing. Was CH in a hurry?

    I love this series because it was always fun, funny, romantic and a bit on the lighter side compared to CH's contemporaries. (ie: L. Hamilton, JR Ward etc) I loved the previous 9 books in the series but this one fell flat. The story seemed a bit weak or perhaps rushed. Possiblity of wonderful characters but they were never expanded. They were introduced, they came, they did and they went...absolutely no depth to this one.

    If you're a fan of the series then you absolutely must read this one too. You know you want the answers to the questions left in previous books but lets give CH a break and plenty of time to write the next one.

    If you enjoy the vampire paranormal romances, try the "Brotherhood of the Black Dagger" series by J.R. Ward for a bit darker read. On a much lighter and funnier side, try MaryJanice Davidson's "Undead and Unwed" series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    Pointless waste of writing

    I've read all of Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books and this one I have to say was a waste of writing. The plot was weak, there was no climax, and at the end you find yourself wondering what the hell was the point of this book anyway. I don't know if it's her last book or not but it definitely doesn't make you want to read the next one or leave you hanging for the next one.

    This would have been better off as one of her short stories. Actually, I don't want to devalue her short stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    what the heck happened?

    I love this series and have been reading it since it started- a favorite summertime book I could tear thru- but I'm wondering if I can finish this edition. I agree with other reviewers that found this one boring- the Sookie/ Eric relationship has no zing, Bill is non-existent, the Ocella- Alexei thing is just uncomfortable, the action is uneven, Jason and other characters are just making perfunctive appearances, and even Sookie's narrative is lax. The vampire politics are becoming over-blown and bogged down. Normally I am caught up immediately and cannot put the book down, but I'm having to struggle just to get thru this one. Hopefully Ms. Harris will spark some life into #11- or just end the series if she is tired of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 210