Customer Reviews for

The Dead of Night (Tomorrow Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    YES YES YES!!

    You have to read this book series it is the most outstanding book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2002

    Great Book

    I love this book! You can not put it down. It has a way of making you feel as if you are there or you know the characters, it all seems so real. It deserves more than 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    I LOVED IT!!! IT WAS AWESOME!! YOU JUST CAN'T KEEP THE BOOK DOWN!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    THE BEST!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! It was the best book i have ever read (along with the rest of the series!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Nate

    Yeah i go by dinkle fairy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    My d itchs so bad maybe if you rub it it'll feel better guy

    Rub it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Jade

    I moan louder and release more juices. "Baby I wanna cu.m for you so bad!" I cry out losing myself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    The Dead of Night picks up where Tomorrow When the War Began lea

    The Dead of Night picks up where Tomorrow When the War Began leaves off. The characters struggle with what they did and worry about their friends Corrie and Kevin. Hell is home and the only place they feel safe, but they also know that sitting around and doing nothing isn't a long-term plan. Once again, they feel compelled to do something. They explore beyond their immediate surroundings and stumble upon another group of free citizen who call themselves Harvey's Heros.

    After blowing up the bridge at Cobbler's Bay, Ellie and her friends bristle at being treated like kids by this new group and  feel more like captives than the warriors they are. But when the enemy gets too close for comfort, they need to make some tough decisions.

    Plot
    The plot is gritty, and as with Tomorrow When the War Began, it's difficult to put down once it really gets going. What makes it so gripping is that it's terrifyingly real. Unlike other young adult dystopian novels, it isn't a stretch to get to where these kids are. John Marsden doesn't rely on alien invasions or weird supernatural events to bring about his world. Everything that happens feels like a natural culmination of events that could really happen.

    Characters
    The core characters are strong and even the new cast members have more depth than you would expect from tertiary characters. Major Harvey in particular is complex and hard to pin down.

    Ellie and the others are deeply affected not only by what happened to Corrie and Kevin, but also by what they did. There are no quick fixes to the psychological trauma they experience which makes this book dark, but emotional and real. One of my favorite things about John Marsden is that he doesn't gloss over the aftermath and have his characters act as if they didn't just suffer horrible losses or inflict unimaginable pain on others. They're haunted by the things they've seen and done, the way human beings they are.

    Bottom Line
    The Dead of Night is a solid follow up to Tomorrow When the War Began and carries the story forward without losing the magic of the series. It builds on the plot and characterization from the first book and doesn't let up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Good series, but kind of drug out

    I enjoyed the first two books of this series very much even with all the strange Australian words. Seemed pretty real and always a possibility for something like the takeover by a hostile country of one's homeland.

    Not sure I will buy another book in the series unless it's a final one because this story can only go on for so long, plus it is very expensive to purchase - around $9.99 for each nook book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Really great book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Better than Hunger Games, please read series in order!

    I saw the movie and noticed that is was based on a book, so I came to B&N to look for the nook books and was excited to see that it was a series of 7. Please read series in order!

    This is supposed to be a youth/teen book, but they did not write them this way when I was young. I recommend that parents glance through these books to be sure they think that their child can handle the "war time" theme.

    But anyway, i loved the series and really was sad when it was over!! In it's own way, this is educational on survival that unfortunately may be needed one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    What a Masterpiece! John Marsden has once again left us in awe s

    What a Masterpiece!
    John Marsden has once again left us in awe suspence. His 2nd book The Night Of dead is literally off its chain! I loved it! But it left me in tears especially what Ellie says about not loving Chris at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    AMAZING

    I waited an entire year to reaad this book because i couldn't ever find it in stores and it was worth the wait. I love this author and think that this book was better than Tomorrow When the War Began. Its my favorite type of book, action with a touch of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    The Dead of Night

    Six teenagers are alone to fend for themselves in the Outback of Australia. In the sequel to Tomorrow, When the War Began Ellie, Lee, Homer, Fiona, Chris, and Robyn these teens are trying to survive as well as fight back their invaders, locate supplies such as food, and attempt to find more survivors of the invasion. They have already lost two of their friends, Corrie and Kevin, in the combat. The Dead of Night is an awesome book that is full of suspense. It keeps the pages turning, because you never know what is going to happen next. Because it is told from Ellie¿s point of view, the reader feels a strong connection to her. The reader knows all of Ellie¿s thoughts, emotions, and conflicts, but only knows about the other characters from their actions and what Ellie writes about them. These kids need to show courage and strength to survive. Will they make it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    I LOVE IT!!!!

    Its better than 5 stars! I think Its a grate book. Like you said you can't put it down Im reading it for the therd time...it draws you in and you become Elli...All I have to say its an Awsome book!!!...READ THE SEARES!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    best book along with all the other books in the series

    Great book I couldn't put it down I read it all in 24 hours!!!! Read the other books too they're almost just as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    Great book

    It was a great book, and I just couldn't put it down. The action keeps you really wrapped up in it and you feel like your there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Can't stop reading it

    The best book. Can't put it down. The hole sereis is so great I read them in a week. I am now rereading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    ITS THE BEST...deserves MORE than 5 stars

    This is actually the first book I read from the Tomorrow Series, and I'm was very glad to find the first(Tomorrow When the War began). This book allows you to learn a bit of Aussie while reading it. You can't put this book down. I can't tell you how many times I got in trouble for laying in bed and reading it WAY past my bedtime. Like the first book, it draws you in, and makes you want to be Ellie. Don't Crack a Mental because you don't have it....you can buy it right here...at Barnes and Noble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    the best series

    this is the best book, and the best series... you just get drawn in and you can't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2