Customer Reviews for

Dead of Night: A Zombie Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

All you expect from Maberry

am a huge Maberry fan & haved loved everything I've read by him so far. Dead of Night does not dissapoint. Zombie lovers will be very pleased with this one. Dead of Night is a slightly different take on the Zombie creation. This time a doctor hoping to dish out the ult...
am a huge Maberry fan & haved loved everything I've read by him so far. Dead of Night does not dissapoint. Zombie lovers will be very pleased with this one. Dead of Night is a slightly different take on the Zombie creation. This time a doctor hoping to dish out the ultimate punishment to a sadistic serial killer is on the hook for causing this Zombie Apocolypse. These kinds of "scientist playing God" stories really scare me as I find them unbelievable but plausible that some stupid doctor or lab geek could one day come up with something to screw up the world.
I also really enjoyed that at least at this point this is set to be a stand-alone novel instead of a series.
Another great horror novel by Maberry that was everything I expected.

posted by beaglezrock on November 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok, to much explanation, not enough action

Wont be reading the second book if there is one

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who Will Be Eaten Next?

    I listened to this story as an AudioBook, narrated by William Dufris.

    Do not even think of opening this book if you are even the slightest bit squeamish. There is brain eating, rotting bodies, skin crawling, and worm-eating flesh. It will affect everyone men, women, and children, with equal gruesomeness.

    This book tells a story of one man's journey to revenge leading to biological experimentation gone bad and gives you a glimpse of what would happen if an unknown disease were to strike in some small town USA. Actually I think the experimental drug worked as it was designed to do, but not the way the good doctor had planned.

    This story had pulse pounding action to the very last word! I am going to have to add Jonathan Maberry to my favorite authors list because I just love his style. I absolutely loved the ending!

    The Narration Review
    William Dufris narrated this book. He has great character voices and you can always tell the difference in the characters when they speak. He put a lot of effort into making the emotions come to life. When he starts to describe some of the gruesome scenes you get the feeling he is actually looking at it and can hear the disgust building in his voice.

    ** Note **
    I received this audiobook as a Random Act of Kindness (RAK) from Darlene over at Darlene's Book Nook. If you haven't heard about RAKs for books, then feel free to click on the link up on my Alaskan Bookie Blog and visit the Book Soulmates website. It is an awesome way to share the love of reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The human element of a zombie plague

    Dead of Night was a new look at a zombie apocalypse. Maberry brings a realistic explanation of how zombies could be created by parasites. The military creating a bio-weapon that gets into the wrong hands, infecting a serial killer and then a small town & how the government would react to such a thing happening. The characters are well developed. As you read, you truly form an attachment to each one. You feel their despair as they are forced to kill people with faces they recognize, as they fight for their lives and not just against the zombies. You are even given a view of what it would be like to be turned into a zombie. For zombie purists, nothing was changed. They still lumber along, moaning, and the only way to kill them is to shoot them in the head. Only one slight change, they can spit black mucus infested with the parasites that can turn you. So not only must the people try not to get bit but they have to avoid getting blood or spit on them as well. Amidst the horror & reality of a zombie plague taking over, there is human emotion that will pull at your heart. The closer I got to the end, the faster I read, wanting to know what will come of the characters I grew to like so much. One of the best zombie books I have read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Zombies, oh my!

    I've just started reading this, but already I love it! Can't wait to get further in it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Best zombie book EVER!

    I believe this may be the best zombie book I have ever read. The characters are very believable. Jonathan Maberry created a novel that I will have to re-read again and again.

    I just hope the writes a sequel soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Paying homage to George Romero, Jonathan Maberry writes an exciting zombie thriller

    At the penitentiary in Stebbins County, Pennsylvania, the prison doctor injects a serum into convicted serial killer Homer Gibbon just before his execution. The elixir is the ultimate cruel and unusual punishment as it will keep the psychopath's brain functioning and aware while his body rots away interred in the ground.

    Following the execution, at the Hartnup's Transition Estate, Doc Lee Hartnup is bitten by Gibbon's corpse. At the same time, local police officers Dez Fox and JT Hammond respond to a break-in at the funeral parlor. They flee from the dead coming at them.

    Meanwhile Dez's former boyfriend reporter Billy Trout investigates a report that Gibbon's body vanished. He soon runs into the dead ripping the living. He eludes the corpses and meets up with Dez and JT. The trio quickly concludes the reanimation disease is highly contagious and the therefore the government will deploy the National Guard to contain the bioengineered toxin with no regard to those alive inside the contamination zone.

    Paying homage to George Romero, Jonathan Maberry writes an exciting zombie thriller. The cause for the epidemic is stolen Cold War research used on the psychopath Gibbon. The lead protagonists possess different personalities as they conclude they are humanity's only hope. Although somewhat similar in blood and gore as the typical zombie thriller, Dead of Night provides freshness with a deep look at the psychological impact on the three heroes and other humans who know that no matter what actions they take inevitably there is no escape; perhaps not even death.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Zombie Horror at its Best!

    Award winning bestselling novelist, Jonathan Maberry, pulls out all the stops in this gut-wrenching, intensely brutal, and very plausible horror novel about a virus unwittingly released into a small town in rural Pennsylvania. And the source of the deadly virus is a serial killer recently put to death, but the truth of it is even more horrifying. Town police officers, Dez Fox and JT Hammond, are caught up in a horrible slaughter at the town mortuary, where the unthinkable has happened, and continues to happen, and the body count rises, along with the dead. Aided by journalist and former boyfriend, Billy Trout, Dez attempts to find answers and survive the growing horror, even while the military surrounds the town of Stebbins, not just to keep the hungry infected from getting out...but to ensure no one in Stebbins survives!

    Arguably, one the best zombie horror novels written, with a sequel, Fall of Night, forthcoming. Definite must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    The story starts at Hartnup’s Transition Estate, the local

    The story starts at Hartnup’s Transition Estate, the local funeral home. The body of recently executed murderer Homer Gibbons has just arrived. A last minute change of plans has Homer coming to his aunt instead of the usual prison grave. But Homer is not really dead, and he is very hungry.

    Dez, Desdemona Fox, and her partner JT Hammond are called out to check out the funeral home. When they get there, they find the mortician and the housekeeper chewed on and dead and an empty body bag. When backup arrives, that’s when everything goes bonkers when the mortician and housekeeper start snacking on the local police.

    At the same time, reporter Billy Trout has hear about the mysterious aunt that wants Homer Gibbons buried with family. There he stumbles upon Dr. Herman Volker. He used to experiment on people during the war. He was sent to the states, under supervision, to keep versions of those experiments going. When he stumbled upon Homer Gibbons crimes, he felt he must act. He injects Homer with Lucifer 113, a concoction that will keep him alive as he rots in his grave at the prison. Unfortunately, with Homer being moved elsewhere, Lucifer 113 has broke out.

    Now Dez, JT, and Trout are trying their best to stop the spread of Lucifer 113. But when the government steps up, help is the furthest thing going to be offered.

    I loved this story. It has elements of possibilities that could come true. There is a great concept for the zombies and I loved the interaction with the government. If you are a zombie lover, you will want to read this book. I’m sad to admit that it was the first Jonathan Maberry story but I’m sure to hunt down his other books and catch up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought the characters and their back stories were very cliche but the main story line was creative and incredibly suspenseful. The ending was pretty heartbreaking but that's what made it so good and it ended in a way that it would be possible to come out with a sequel. I don't think it needs one though. Definitely a good read for anyone who loves suspense, zombies, and gore!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Zombies as they should be

    Dead of Night is pretty much exactly what I expected ¿ instant action, great characters, government conspiracy and zombies by the truck-load.

    I was instantly drawn in, for the reasons above, but also due to the inclusion of a serial killer which added a chilling twist, and the relationship between the characters of Dez, JT and Billy. The science behind the infection is well laid out and easy to understand whilst being an integral part of the story. There is a military/government influence in the book, but it is an important part of the story and doesn¿t become overwhelming if it isn¿t really your thing.

    Dez is a great character, with baggage, attitude and brains, which makes her a little hard to like to begin with but as the book progresses more of her past is revealed and gives insight into the way she behaves and the choices she makes. Her interaction with the other major and minor characters is believable and the dialogue is well-written.

    Dead of Night is a full on zombie book ¿ there¿s no holding back on the descriptions of zombie attacks, and the atmosphere is truly dark and terrifying. This is a book for zombie lovers, action lovers, horror lovers and a fantastic introduction to the genre for new readers. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Amazing authur

    His dust and decay book was amazing i couldnt put it day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    CHAOS....awesome!!

    Evilllllll.....slow going at first with all the background bios, but then it gets GOOD!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Premier zombie author

    Mayberry is one of the best writerout there when it comes to zombie fiction surpassed only by brian keene. If you like this check out his joe ledger series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    wow

    another amazing maberry zombie book. i just cant get enough of this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down once i started. Great new twist to zombie genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2