BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dead or Alive

Average Rating 3.5
( 1448 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(536)

4 Star

(367)

3 Star

(256)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

For all the vitriol on e-book pricing.

In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks...
In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks are printed on very cheap recycled paper, a step above newsprint, which is part of the reason why they feel like garbage. There is still a 2.38 cents saving purchasing the e-book over the physical format.

The reason new e-book prices have been creeping upwards is that the publishers are setting the e-book prices with the caveat that there is no discount applied to that price, or they will refuse to issue further titles in e-book format.

Publishers are doing this for a few reasons, one, they are afraid of e-books eroding their total profits. Total unit sales have been declining as books are facing stiff competition for the limited entertainment hours available to public from movies, television, the internet and video games. Piracy is another concern for publishers, they see how it has nearly crippled the music industry. Publishers also feel that their physical format is being undervalued by mass market channels such as internet retailers, large book retailers and large discount chains.

If you have a gripe about an e-book's price point, I highly suggest writing a letter, or email to the publisher, don't rail against a perfectly good e-reading device, threaten to throw said device into the trash, or give poor ratings to a book because of it's price, rate the book on the merits of the story, if it caused a genuine emotional reaction, and how well the author executed his craft.

posted by Altadis on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

I doubt it

The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting...
The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

posted by willye on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For all the vitriol on e-book pricing.

    In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks are printed on very cheap recycled paper, a step above newsprint, which is part of the reason why they feel like garbage. There is still a 2.38 cents saving purchasing the e-book over the physical format.

    The reason new e-book prices have been creeping upwards is that the publishers are setting the e-book prices with the caveat that there is no discount applied to that price, or they will refuse to issue further titles in e-book format.

    Publishers are doing this for a few reasons, one, they are afraid of e-books eroding their total profits. Total unit sales have been declining as books are facing stiff competition for the limited entertainment hours available to public from movies, television, the internet and video games. Piracy is another concern for publishers, they see how it has nearly crippled the music industry. Publishers also feel that their physical format is being undervalued by mass market channels such as internet retailers, large book retailers and large discount chains.

    If you have a gripe about an e-book's price point, I highly suggest writing a letter, or email to the publisher, don't rail against a perfectly good e-reading device, threaten to throw said device into the trash, or give poor ratings to a book because of it's price, rate the book on the merits of the story, if it caused a genuine emotional reaction, and how well the author executed his craft.

    60 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Tom Clancy is BACK!

    As an avid Clancy fan, I have for years missed his writing. I have been looking forward to this book since I heard it was coming out and I was not disappointed at all. It was a great pleasure to see all the old "friends" again. John Clark, Ding, and of course Jack Ryan Sr. Even jr. wasn't a disappointment. I hope this is a harbinger that the real Tom Clancy has returned to writing. I highly recommend this to any Tom Clancy fan out there.

    54 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    Review the Book NOT the ebook cost

    I would appreciate a review of the book NOT the ebook price complaints. You are no help to those of us thinking of PURCHASING the book and saving someone's job!!

    38 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read.

    I read an early copy of this book and I am glad to say it was good. up to par with the others in the past. Although I miss the Jack Ryan character.

    36 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    I doubt it

    The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

    I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

    27 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    A MUST READ!!!

    The real Tom Clancy is back! I first read his Jack Ryan novels 5 years ago and was left wanting more, even though THE TEETH OF THE TIGER was not up to par. When I heard this book was coming out, I reread every Ryan novel. This book was definitely worth the wait. It was great to read about John Clark, Ding Chavez, and Mary Pat Foley again, as well as appearances from other characters from the seires. I was quite surprised at much I enjoyed reading about the Caruso brothers and Jack Jr. this time. The font is rather on the large side with wide margins making the book longer, but either way, once I started reading I couldn't put it down. I thought this would be Clancy's last attempt at reviving this franchise, but the as the plot develops, it's obvious there is still more to come. The return of Jack Ryan Sr., the rise of Jack Jr., and the reemergence of the legendary John Clark will leave you spellbound. You can complain about the price all you want, whether its hardback (that's what I bought) or on ebook, but you will easily get your money's worth. Quit whining, buy the book, read it, and you will be glad you did it!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Looks Pretty Good!

    Have gotten to read the first couple of chapters, and it looks -- from that limited sample -- like the old Clancy is back at work. You know, the one who actually wrote (most of) his (own) stuff? Like Red Storm, etc.? About time!

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No review, just a comment

    Instead of all of your complaining about the price, how about writing an actual review of the book? If you haven't read it, then shut up. This is a major release that many die hards have been anticipating for years, and your negative reviews BASED on the price are ridiculous. Now I am going to take my own advice and shut up.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Master Returns

    Tom Clancy returns after about seven years hiatus. The question is the return is permanent and can he compete with the new king of technothrillers Vince Flynn?

    14 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I've read better from Mr.Clancy.

    Mr Clancy is a superb writer with insight into conspiracies, military weapons and procedures. He gives us great plots and heroes that we can root for, but this book gave me very little to cheer about. It should have because the book is the size of a "door stopper". One would think that with all the side stories being bounced around in the story there would be a great read. It never happened for me. Very disappointed in the book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    please quit

    I like to check the review to see what other people thought about the actual content of the book. Write the publisher a letter if you're so outraged by the price.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    "REVIEWS" NOT HELPFUL

    Unlike some on this board, I come to read actual reviews of a book before making the decision of whether to buy or not. If enough people give a negative review and give compeling reasons for their opinion, I generally will not waste my money. I have seen approximately 2 helpful reviews on this board. The rest of you (none of whom have actually read the book) should just shut up. No one is forcing you to buy the Nook or the book!
    And here I am submitting yet another unhelpful review. I plan to buy this book, in electronic format, and I anticipate fully enjoying it. And for those of you who came here expecting to read actual reviews of this book, I offer my humblest apology.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    For the people moving to Amazon

    You realize that BN matches Amazon prices, right? This book is the same price for the Kindle. You will be paying the exact same amount if you go over there.

    Way to do research before making a dumb comment like that.

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Very good read

    I've always been a Clancy fan, and there was once a time I rushed to the bookstore for every new release. Recently, I've waited until paperbacks became available at a local used bookstore. But Dead or Alive might bring me back to waiting anxiously for the next release. The "Campus" theme in Dead or Alive is working well, and brings Clancy right up there with my other favorite author - Vince Flynn. You won't be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    What a Bunch of Cheapskates!

    My question is why are so many of you posting here in a REVIEW section when you have NOT read the book? Instead you are sniveling and whining about the price of an eBook.

    Got a newsflash for you, it does not matter whether it is engraved in stone, printed on paper or delivered electronically, the price is what it is. There are some HUGE advantages to having books delivered electronically, which all of you conveniently forget. Like being able to carry all of Clancy's books in one hand along with a few thousand other books, magazines and newspapers.

    My advice to all the whiners is this: Download the free books, the cheap books afterall, you bought your Nook so you could save money, you weren't really interested in reading the latest novels anyhow. In fact, since you are so cheap, you could go dumpster diving at those Donate Your Old Books bins on street corners. Sell your eBook reader, that would save lots of money and you wouldn't have to whine about the price of newly released eBooks.

    Sheesh.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Disappointed

    I found this novel to be entertaining if nothing else. Tom Clancy is definitely a conservative because his storyline was that of a conservative nature. Painting Jack, Jr. as the Messiah and Jack, Sr. as God Almighty himself. Yes, Jack Sr. the one that needs to save America from The Kealty Administration. Or Jack, Jr's mom who is viewed as the ass kicking, Russian born, nobody messes w/, smart, woman who berthed Jack, Jr. Yawning! Not to mention her powerful career for which she is feared.

    Jack Jr. can do no wrong. His sister a med student who is into saving the planet. Your nonsense makeup of conservatism in America. Not to mention Jack, Jr's "DNA" gift that nobody outside of the family can explain. And how he saves his dad from an attempted assassination.

    The entire novel grew overload at one point. It could have been 150/200 pages shorter if not for the overload of John Wayne on steroids and conservative beltway good guy we are, bad guy you are nonsense! It was hard keeping up w/ who did what to whom in what country! Not believable at all! Sure it's a fiction novel. I get it! But even fiction can have some logic to it for which this one didn't.

    Campus agents roaming the world at will, getting information at the right time in the right place, killing at will, and still viewed as the "good guys!" Yeh, right! Get real! Sorta like Tarzan in the jungle killing a lion when natives been there all their lives and won't go near it. Same there here! Clark, Chavez, the Caruso brothers, and Jack, Jr. can all go to Libya and destroy cells at the right time. But the local police can do nothing until the cavalry called The Campus arrives. Get real!

    And how Clancy, IMO, at various points took his swipe at the current administration for their liberal belief. Not to mention the Emir being the real life Osama Bin Laden. In this novel, the CIA, FBI, or world organizations in general can't seem to find or bring down the Emir, but Jack Jr. did! W/ one shot I believe! You gotta laugh! Must have been his DNA that did it. Not to mention taking a danger job at random/ease jokes while the enemy is peeling over dead.

    I would not recommend this novel unless you are into American conservative nonsense! Where everything is always fine and dandy for the conservative system. But inept for a liberal system.

    OH and yes, at the end of the day, Jack Jr, and Sr, aren't concerned about new cells of terrorist and a host of other nonsense, but only that of Jack, Jr.'s mom! Yawning again!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    December Publication

    Wouldn't you like to be one of those who can review a book months before it comes out? Talk about early buzz. Many folks here rate books they haven't even read just because they like the author!

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Disappointed

    It was evident that Clancy hasn't written a book in the Ryan series for several years. Too much time was spent catching everyone up, the plot was too predictable, and the ending anti-climactic. It won't deter me from future Clancy books, I had just expected more. Also, and perhaps this is the difference between the Nookbook and Print, but I found a lot of typos.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Dead as the proverbial door nail

    I've love all Clancy's "Jack" books. In fact, I reread them often. After reading this one, I'm amazed the same man wrote them. I was 200 pages into the book and caught myself wondering when it was going to start. Lots of things going on: people dying various ways, miscellaneous things being stolen, lots of hints that something horrible is going to happen. I didn't care! I didn't care about the people, found the stealing boring and didn't need the hints...it's a Clancy book. 300 pages into the book I took to skipping long sections just to get to the "Jack" (father and son) parts. 500 pages in and I set my jaw just to get through it. Only sheer stubbornness got me to the end. Next "Jack" book comes from the library. Not going to take a chance on wasting any more money.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT ABOUT A e-BOOK DISCOUNT IF WE BUY THE PRINT VERSION

    HEY... REPEAT BIZ...

    if we buy the printed version give us a discount on the e-book.

    even the studios are giving us multiple formats in DVD purchases
    even a FREE DIGITAL VERSION

    4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74