Customer Reviews for

Dead or Alive

Average Rating 3.5
( 1446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(535)

4 Star

(366)

3 Star

(256)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

For all the vitriol on e-book pricing.

In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks...
In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks are printed on very cheap recycled paper, a step above newsprint, which is part of the reason why they feel like garbage. There is still a 2.38 cents saving purchasing the e-book over the physical format.

The reason new e-book prices have been creeping upwards is that the publishers are setting the e-book prices with the caveat that there is no discount applied to that price, or they will refuse to issue further titles in e-book format.

Publishers are doing this for a few reasons, one, they are afraid of e-books eroding their total profits. Total unit sales have been declining as books are facing stiff competition for the limited entertainment hours available to public from movies, television, the internet and video games. Piracy is another concern for publishers, they see how it has nearly crippled the music industry. Publishers also feel that their physical format is being undervalued by mass market channels such as internet retailers, large book retailers and large discount chains.

If you have a gripe about an e-book's price point, I highly suggest writing a letter, or email to the publisher, don't rail against a perfectly good e-reading device, threaten to throw said device into the trash, or give poor ratings to a book because of it's price, rate the book on the merits of the story, if it caused a genuine emotional reaction, and how well the author executed his craft.

posted by Altadis on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

I doubt it

The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting...
The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

posted by willye on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1465 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 74
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Clancy's Worst

    Very disappointing. Not up to Clancy standards.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Another Clancy Bust

    My favorite Tom Clancy novel was Without Remorse. This turkey is joust one more in a long line of bad writings by a once great writer. Sad.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Very much Tom Clancy

    This is a books that starts out slow giving you technical information so that you can understand as the plot progresses. As you read further, you find yourself unable to put it down. It is an excellent book. Very much in Tom Clancy's style

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Great Book

    Great book once again! Wonderful Christmas gift.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Too expensive!

    Why would I pay almost full hardback price for an ebook? Makes no sense. There are no printing costs, no inventory backups to cover, no distributor percentages. This is just WRONG! If we wait for a couple of months we will be able to get it at some of the off-sites for a more reasonable price (like $6.99). Or borrow it from our public libraries as an ebook download for free! Publishers better get the message. Ebook readers won't pay sky-high prices for electronic books!

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Disappointing

    Tom Clancy used to spin an engrossing yarn with strong and realistic characters, both protagonists and antagonists... As he has become highly successful and turned into a business enterprise however, his personal politics and ego appear to have come to distort his plot and characters. His villians have become one dimentionally evil, and civilian authority figures one dimentionally stupid and machiavellian, devoid of "grays".... His plotting in Dead or Alive remains interesting, and one can not deny a need for violence in life or the action book business, but where he used to be nuianced and his characters torn (often constrained or even motivated) by ethical dilemma, that quality has diminished to the point where it is unclear how his "good guys" differ from his "bad guys" in other than skin tone and national origin. For both, the ends pretty much justify the means. Rather than cleverness and guile, his heros readily resort to purposeless "termination" and remorseless torture.
    I miss the "old Clancy", who wove a lot of gray and moral reflection, as well as exciting action, into his works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Worth twice the price

    Great book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    $14.99 !?!?!

    You do realize that you are charging $16.09 for the Hard Cover that I can actually hold in my hands.....RIGHT?????
    Oh and what does Jack become now. Supreme Ruler of the World!!!

    2 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    On the edge of my seat,

    so timely, like Clancey sees into the future as he writes...Toni B

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Outstanding!!

    This carries on the family business for the Ryan family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    great read

    Tom Clancy is back!! Great book!! No he just needs to hurry up and come out with another one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    I really enjoyed this book, I had a hard time putting it down! I always thought Tom Clancy books were geared for guys. I was wrong, it was a page turner despite the military verbiage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Terrible...By FAR Clancy's Worst

    At first I thought it must be me. Boring story, typos throughout and blatant political views that seem extreme compared to Clancy's previous works. So I checked the other reviews on this site. No it's not just me. This book is terrible. For the first time ever, I am putting this one down and will not attempt to finish it. Very sad. Red Storm Rising was one of the greatest novels I ever read. Sum of All Fears, Without Remorse, Red October were all fantastic page turners. This one comes up well short of Clancy's mediocre books let alone his best. I am about as disappointed as I can be. Don't waste your time. This book is awful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Dead or Alive

    Excellent read! Fast-paced throughout!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    The usual Clancy book, so it's a great read.

    What can I say. Clancy writes a great story and this one didn't disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Disappointing

    I was really looking foward to Tom Clancy's new novel. I have read everything he has written and have enjoyed them all very much. This one was by far, the worst he's written. He threw in many characters and didn't develop them and then just brought in all of the characters from his other books. It was kind of like seeing your favorite band, 30 years after they had their last hit. I found it really sad more than anything. The plot seemed to take a very long time to get going and when it was all revealed, there wasn't much there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Not recommended

    The language in this book is crude. It is not necessary to use this type of language- there are many other literary tools that can depict a tense situtation. If this book were a movie, the language itself would have rated it "R". It's too bad that excellent authors like Mr Clancy believe that this what readers want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Be careful of this book

    I was surprised to read this book from Clancy that is laced with profanity. Many many F words and other unnecessary vulgar language. Very disaapointing from Clancy that he felt he had to increase the vulgarity so much. I do not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Sucks you in immediately

    A must buy, First page Sucks you in Faster than a Tornado. Suspenseful from the start. Love how It's a pick up timeline wise of the Jack Ryan series. Reading along with audio Makes it that much better, the suspense in the narrators voice, the occasional change in sound level adds to the suspense. Also a great driving down the road audiobook. Love how it really continues the Rainbow six theme for the Jack Ryan series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    A Great Story In True Clancy Fashion

    I woke up this morning at 5:00 and I reached for my iPad. I wanted to finish reading this enjoyable book. I had set Clancy aside for a while and not read much of rainbow six activities. Those stories never pulled me in. When I started reading Dead Or Alive, I was hooked from the first pages. When you read Clancy you expect details and a lot of information. In this instance, that byproduct never gets in the way of a great story. Jack Ryan Sr. Is brought into the story and Jack Jr. Is amplified adequately. Clark and Chavez continue a wonderful Father-in-law and Son-in-law relationship regardless of all the he'll and back scenarios they go through. The Caruso brothers meet a challenge that creates a huge dynamic change within the organization. If you buy this book you will have a great time reading about all of the adventures of the mentioned characters. I would not be surprised if we see this story eventually picked up by a studio. Don't fret about the price, by the first chapter you will feel vindicated in choosing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1465 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 74