Customer Reviews for

Dead or Alive

Average Rating 3.5
( 1444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(533)

4 Star

(366)

3 Star

(256)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

For all the vitriol on e-book pricing.

In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks...
In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks are printed on very cheap recycled paper, a step above newsprint, which is part of the reason why they feel like garbage. There is still a 2.38 cents saving purchasing the e-book over the physical format.

The reason new e-book prices have been creeping upwards is that the publishers are setting the e-book prices with the caveat that there is no discount applied to that price, or they will refuse to issue further titles in e-book format.

Publishers are doing this for a few reasons, one, they are afraid of e-books eroding their total profits. Total unit sales have been declining as books are facing stiff competition for the limited entertainment hours available to public from movies, television, the internet and video games. Piracy is another concern for publishers, they see how it has nearly crippled the music industry. Publishers also feel that their physical format is being undervalued by mass market channels such as internet retailers, large book retailers and large discount chains.

If you have a gripe about an e-book's price point, I highly suggest writing a letter, or email to the publisher, don't rail against a perfectly good e-reading device, threaten to throw said device into the trash, or give poor ratings to a book because of it's price, rate the book on the merits of the story, if it caused a genuine emotional reaction, and how well the author executed his craft.

posted by Altadis on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

I doubt it

The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting...
The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

posted by willye on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    I doubt it

    The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

    I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

    26 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Disappointed

    I found this novel to be entertaining if nothing else. Tom Clancy is definitely a conservative because his storyline was that of a conservative nature. Painting Jack, Jr. as the Messiah and Jack, Sr. as God Almighty himself. Yes, Jack Sr. the one that needs to save America from The Kealty Administration. Or Jack, Jr's mom who is viewed as the ass kicking, Russian born, nobody messes w/, smart, woman who berthed Jack, Jr. Yawning! Not to mention her powerful career for which she is feared.

    Jack Jr. can do no wrong. His sister a med student who is into saving the planet. Your nonsense makeup of conservatism in America. Not to mention Jack, Jr's "DNA" gift that nobody outside of the family can explain. And how he saves his dad from an attempted assassination.

    The entire novel grew overload at one point. It could have been 150/200 pages shorter if not for the overload of John Wayne on steroids and conservative beltway good guy we are, bad guy you are nonsense! It was hard keeping up w/ who did what to whom in what country! Not believable at all! Sure it's a fiction novel. I get it! But even fiction can have some logic to it for which this one didn't.

    Campus agents roaming the world at will, getting information at the right time in the right place, killing at will, and still viewed as the "good guys!" Yeh, right! Get real! Sorta like Tarzan in the jungle killing a lion when natives been there all their lives and won't go near it. Same there here! Clark, Chavez, the Caruso brothers, and Jack, Jr. can all go to Libya and destroy cells at the right time. But the local police can do nothing until the cavalry called The Campus arrives. Get real!

    And how Clancy, IMO, at various points took his swipe at the current administration for their liberal belief. Not to mention the Emir being the real life Osama Bin Laden. In this novel, the CIA, FBI, or world organizations in general can't seem to find or bring down the Emir, but Jack Jr. did! W/ one shot I believe! You gotta laugh! Must have been his DNA that did it. Not to mention taking a danger job at random/ease jokes while the enemy is peeling over dead.

    I would not recommend this novel unless you are into American conservative nonsense! Where everything is always fine and dandy for the conservative system. But inept for a liberal system.

    OH and yes, at the end of the day, Jack Jr, and Sr, aren't concerned about new cells of terrorist and a host of other nonsense, but only that of Jack, Jr.'s mom! Yawning again!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Dead as the proverbial door nail

    I've love all Clancy's "Jack" books. In fact, I reread them often. After reading this one, I'm amazed the same man wrote them. I was 200 pages into the book and caught myself wondering when it was going to start. Lots of things going on: people dying various ways, miscellaneous things being stolen, lots of hints that something horrible is going to happen. I didn't care! I didn't care about the people, found the stealing boring and didn't need the hints...it's a Clancy book. 300 pages into the book I took to skipping long sections just to get to the "Jack" (father and son) parts. 500 pages in and I set my jaw just to get through it. Only sheer stubbornness got me to the end. Next "Jack" book comes from the library. Not going to take a chance on wasting any more money.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Too expensive!

    Why would I pay almost full hardback price for an ebook? Makes no sense. There are no printing costs, no inventory backups to cover, no distributor percentages. This is just WRONG! If we wait for a couple of months we will be able to get it at some of the off-sites for a more reasonable price (like $6.99). Or borrow it from our public libraries as an ebook download for free! Publishers better get the message. Ebook readers won't pay sky-high prices for electronic books!

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Disappointing

    Tom Clancy used to spin an engrossing yarn with strong and realistic characters, both protagonists and antagonists... As he has become highly successful and turned into a business enterprise however, his personal politics and ego appear to have come to distort his plot and characters. His villians have become one dimentionally evil, and civilian authority figures one dimentionally stupid and machiavellian, devoid of "grays".... His plotting in Dead or Alive remains interesting, and one can not deny a need for violence in life or the action book business, but where he used to be nuianced and his characters torn (often constrained or even motivated) by ethical dilemma, that quality has diminished to the point where it is unclear how his "good guys" differ from his "bad guys" in other than skin tone and national origin. For both, the ends pretty much justify the means. Rather than cleverness and guile, his heros readily resort to purposeless "termination" and remorseless torture.
    I miss the "old Clancy", who wove a lot of gray and moral reflection, as well as exciting action, into his works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    $14.99 !?!?!

    You do realize that you are charging $16.09 for the Hard Cover that I can actually hold in my hands.....RIGHT?????
    Oh and what does Jack become now. Supreme Ruler of the World!!!

    2 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Terrible...By FAR Clancy's Worst

    At first I thought it must be me. Boring story, typos throughout and blatant political views that seem extreme compared to Clancy's previous works. So I checked the other reviews on this site. No it's not just me. This book is terrible. For the first time ever, I am putting this one down and will not attempt to finish it. Very sad. Red Storm Rising was one of the greatest novels I ever read. Sum of All Fears, Without Remorse, Red October were all fantastic page turners. This one comes up well short of Clancy's mediocre books let alone his best. I am about as disappointed as I can be. Don't waste your time. This book is awful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Not recommended

    The language in this book is crude. It is not necessary to use this type of language- there are many other literary tools that can depict a tense situtation. If this book were a movie, the language itself would have rated it "R". It's too bad that excellent authors like Mr Clancy believe that this what readers want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Be careful of this book

    I was surprised to read this book from Clancy that is laced with profanity. Many many F words and other unnecessary vulgar language. Very disaapointing from Clancy that he felt he had to increase the vulgarity so much. I do not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    400 pages too long!

    This book was difficult to read. It jumped around from chapter to chapter making it hard to follow. Certainly could have been much shorter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    $14.99 for an eBook. NO WAY!

    My kids bought me a Nook because of the cost of being in a book club for almost 30 years. I might as well order from the book club because at least I will have something to pass on or sell on EBay.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Expensive ebook

    I will wait. There is only two dollars difference between the hardback and the electronic version. What?

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    I am sure it will be up to Clancy standards

    Big Fan of Clancy; but oh the price. For a couple of $ more I can own the hard cover for my library. (Something I gave up when I purchased my Nook to save a few bucks) I hope the price comes down on the electronic version.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Too Pricey for e-book!

    I save $1.10 over the hardcover version? Have electrons gone up so much in comparison to trees that I missed it? I'm sure it is a great story, spellbinding book, but the price alone earns 1 star. I paid $150 for my nook anticipating I would recoup the cost very quickly by not buying hardcover anymore.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    too much money for an ebook

    B&N is killing their own NOOK. Already talked with at least 5 folks that were going to buy the NOOK but because of the greedy price increases are moving to the Kindle.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    Too much, I'll wait

    Sorry, but too much for an ebook. I will wait to read it until someone leaves the paperback behind at a vacation condo. The last few Clancy books were a far cry from the early ones.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Very poorly written

    I found this book to be very uninspired It wasfull of personal political nuances which were out of place Used to be a Clancy fan Never again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Poor

    To much BS getting to the poiint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Horrible Book

    First time I've ever read a Clancy book that I couldn't finish. I really wish he wouldn't put his name on sub standard books. Will never buy another Tom Clancy book that he claims is co-written. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    B&N you have me confused

    Umm, is this book some how different from the one I bought several months ago?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8