Customer Reviews for

Dead or Alive

Average Rating 3.5
( 1444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(533)

4 Star

(366)

3 Star

(256)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

For all the vitriol on e-book pricing.

In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks...
In hardcover the book's cover price is 28.95, the in-store price will be 20.27 without a membership and 17.37 with the member card. For the commenter that mentioned s/he will wait for the paperback, that will be out sometime next year, most of the mass market paperbacks are printed on very cheap recycled paper, a step above newsprint, which is part of the reason why they feel like garbage. There is still a 2.38 cents saving purchasing the e-book over the physical format.

The reason new e-book prices have been creeping upwards is that the publishers are setting the e-book prices with the caveat that there is no discount applied to that price, or they will refuse to issue further titles in e-book format.

Publishers are doing this for a few reasons, one, they are afraid of e-books eroding their total profits. Total unit sales have been declining as books are facing stiff competition for the limited entertainment hours available to public from movies, television, the internet and video games. Piracy is another concern for publishers, they see how it has nearly crippled the music industry. Publishers also feel that their physical format is being undervalued by mass market channels such as internet retailers, large book retailers and large discount chains.

If you have a gripe about an e-book's price point, I highly suggest writing a letter, or email to the publisher, don't rail against a perfectly good e-reading device, threaten to throw said device into the trash, or give poor ratings to a book because of it's price, rate the book on the merits of the story, if it caused a genuine emotional reaction, and how well the author executed his craft.

posted by Altadis on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

I doubt it

The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting...
The only other book I read with Ryan Jr was a dud. Clancy has been making a lot of money with his co-writers for years. These books have ranged from barely readable to just plain awful.

I have every one of the Clancy authored books. Towards the end, he was getting more and more political, while at the same time the books got worse and worse. He was just mailing it in my opinion.

posted by willye on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 533 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Tom Clancy is BACK!

    As an avid Clancy fan, I have for years missed his writing. I have been looking forward to this book since I heard it was coming out and I was not disappointed at all. It was a great pleasure to see all the old "friends" again. John Clark, Ding, and of course Jack Ryan Sr. Even jr. wasn't a disappointment. I hope this is a harbinger that the real Tom Clancy has returned to writing. I highly recommend this to any Tom Clancy fan out there.

    54 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    Review the Book NOT the ebook cost

    I would appreciate a review of the book NOT the ebook price complaints. You are no help to those of us thinking of PURCHASING the book and saving someone's job!!

    38 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    A MUST READ!!!

    The real Tom Clancy is back! I first read his Jack Ryan novels 5 years ago and was left wanting more, even though THE TEETH OF THE TIGER was not up to par. When I heard this book was coming out, I reread every Ryan novel. This book was definitely worth the wait. It was great to read about John Clark, Ding Chavez, and Mary Pat Foley again, as well as appearances from other characters from the seires. I was quite surprised at much I enjoyed reading about the Caruso brothers and Jack Jr. this time. The font is rather on the large side with wide margins making the book longer, but either way, once I started reading I couldn't put it down. I thought this would be Clancy's last attempt at reviving this franchise, but the as the plot develops, it's obvious there is still more to come. The return of Jack Ryan Sr., the rise of Jack Jr., and the reemergence of the legendary John Clark will leave you spellbound. You can complain about the price all you want, whether its hardback (that's what I bought) or on ebook, but you will easily get your money's worth. Quit whining, buy the book, read it, and you will be glad you did it!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No review, just a comment

    Instead of all of your complaining about the price, how about writing an actual review of the book? If you haven't read it, then shut up. This is a major release that many die hards have been anticipating for years, and your negative reviews BASED on the price are ridiculous. Now I am going to take my own advice and shut up.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    please quit

    I like to check the review to see what other people thought about the actual content of the book. Write the publisher a letter if you're so outraged by the price.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    "REVIEWS" NOT HELPFUL

    Unlike some on this board, I come to read actual reviews of a book before making the decision of whether to buy or not. If enough people give a negative review and give compeling reasons for their opinion, I generally will not waste my money. I have seen approximately 2 helpful reviews on this board. The rest of you (none of whom have actually read the book) should just shut up. No one is forcing you to buy the Nook or the book!
    And here I am submitting yet another unhelpful review. I plan to buy this book, in electronic format, and I anticipate fully enjoying it. And for those of you who came here expecting to read actual reviews of this book, I offer my humblest apology.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    For the people moving to Amazon

    You realize that BN matches Amazon prices, right? This book is the same price for the Kindle. You will be paying the exact same amount if you go over there.

    Way to do research before making a dumb comment like that.

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    What a Bunch of Cheapskates!

    My question is why are so many of you posting here in a REVIEW section when you have NOT read the book? Instead you are sniveling and whining about the price of an eBook.

    Got a newsflash for you, it does not matter whether it is engraved in stone, printed on paper or delivered electronically, the price is what it is. There are some HUGE advantages to having books delivered electronically, which all of you conveniently forget. Like being able to carry all of Clancy's books in one hand along with a few thousand other books, magazines and newspapers.

    My advice to all the whiners is this: Download the free books, the cheap books afterall, you bought your Nook so you could save money, you weren't really interested in reading the latest novels anyhow. In fact, since you are so cheap, you could go dumpster diving at those Donate Your Old Books bins on street corners. Sell your eBook reader, that would save lots of money and you wouldn't have to whine about the price of newly released eBooks.

    Sheesh.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    December Publication

    Wouldn't you like to be one of those who can review a book months before it comes out? Talk about early buzz. Many folks here rate books they haven't even read just because they like the author!

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Great Book

    Great book once again! Wonderful Christmas gift.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Worth twice the price

    Great book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    On the edge of my seat,

    so timely, like Clancey sees into the future as he writes...Toni B

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Outstanding!!

    This carries on the family business for the Ryan family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    great read

    Tom Clancy is back!! Great book!! No he just needs to hurry up and come out with another one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    I really enjoyed this book, I had a hard time putting it down! I always thought Tom Clancy books were geared for guys. I was wrong, it was a page turner despite the military verbiage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Dead or Alive

    Excellent read! Fast-paced throughout!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    The usual Clancy book, so it's a great read.

    What can I say. Clancy writes a great story and this one didn't disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Sucks you in immediately

    A must buy, First page Sucks you in Faster than a Tornado. Suspenseful from the start. Love how It's a pick up timeline wise of the Jack Ryan series. Reading along with audio Makes it that much better, the suspense in the narrators voice, the occasional change in sound level adds to the suspense. Also a great driving down the road audiobook. Love how it really continues the Rainbow six theme for the Jack Ryan series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    A Great Story In True Clancy Fashion

    I woke up this morning at 5:00 and I reached for my iPad. I wanted to finish reading this enjoyable book. I had set Clancy aside for a while and not read much of rainbow six activities. Those stories never pulled me in. When I started reading Dead Or Alive, I was hooked from the first pages. When you read Clancy you expect details and a lot of information. In this instance, that byproduct never gets in the way of a great story. Jack Ryan Sr. Is brought into the story and Jack Jr. Is amplified adequately. Clark and Chavez continue a wonderful Father-in-law and Son-in-law relationship regardless of all the he'll and back scenarios they go through. The Caruso brothers meet a challenge that creates a huge dynamic change within the organization. If you buy this book you will have a great time reading about all of the adventures of the mentioned characters. I would not be surprised if we see this story eventually picked up by a studio. Don't fret about the price, by the first chapter you will feel vindicated in choosing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    I think this is one of Tom Clancy's best books. He has reinterduced some old caratores as well as interducing new ones.

    This book kept me so attached that I didn't wont to put it down. I can't wate till the next book comes out. Hope it dosen't take as long as this one did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 533 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27