Customer Reviews for

Dead over Heels (Aurora Teagarden Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So different from her other series

    I read all of Charlaine Harris' books, I love the Sookie Stackhouse books and Shakespeare books the best, but this cozy series is fun. There are no paranormal overtones to these books. The are about a young, librarian who in this and a few earlier books is now married to a man with a paramilitary history that she was unaware of before the marriage. In this book, people around her who have given her trouble, keep turning up dead. She must try to find out who is killing them and protect those around her including her body guards. There are some interesting turns in the lives of her regular characters and a hard look at all the people around her's backgrounds since they might be the killer. It's a nice cozy mystery that is very different from her paranormal works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Dead Over Heels doesn't dissappoint.

    Light, easy read in keeping with the rest of the series. Charming characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging regional amateur sleuth cozy

    In Lawrenceton, Georgia strange, sometimes dangerous things occur around Aurora ¿Roe¿ Teagarden, but nothing seems to directly happen to her. As Roe and her bodyguard Angel are in her garden, suddenly a body falls from the sky leaving a deep imprint on her lawn. The police arrive at the landing site and turn the body over only to find it is one of them, Detective Sergeant Jack Burns.---------------- Luckily for the librarian not the victim, Roe has witnesses who saw her in plain sight when the corpse landed near her. Jack had disliked and distrusted Roe although she never knew why. She soon gets calls with the other person hanging up on her without a word and someone places a pink ribbon around the neck of her cat. Angel and Roe get into a fight with a librarian aide soon after that woman is assaulted by a pipe and hospitalized. Another cop is in danger her former lover Arthur Smith with both attending a dinner accompanied by their current significant others. Roe tries to put together the puzzle pieces based on the assumption that Angel is the object of an obsessed person, but feels she must determine the coherent picture before someone else is hurt or dead.--------------------- Charlaine Harris, renowned for her Stackhouse urban fantasies and her Harper Connelly mysteries, provides an engaging regional amateur sleuth cozy that is actually a reprint of a mid 1990s tale. The Teagarden mysteries are fun to read as they showcase the talented author¿s earlier works. DEAD OVER HEELS is a fine entry as there seems to be no rationale reason from the incidents. Though not the best Teagarden whodunit, as the suspense never fully leaves the ground (pun intended), fans of the series will appreciate the heroine¿s efforts to uncover the truth and her inner thoughts re her spouse and her bodyguard.------------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    Have to Check Out This Series

    This series with Aurora Teagarden as the main character is wonderful. They are an easy read and keep you waiting for the next page and then the next book in the series. In "Dead Over Heels" the suspense kept me trying to read with one eye and not put down the book. Aurora "Roe" went through a lot and had major life changes in #5. You will be hoping that she can get herself and her loved ones out of the different traps they are in! There is a lot of courage in that small frame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Med cat den

    Silvermoon hums and sorts her herbs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Somewhat entertaining

    This book was okay, nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good characters, but plot is only so-so.

    This book is entertaining, but not great. It's a quick, light read to pass the time, but don't expect to be riveted to the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!

    I love Charlaine Harris Aurora Teagarden series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    An Amazing writer..

    Anything Charlaine Harris writes I LOVE!!!!She is amazing with everything she does.. thank you Charlaine... I can never put anything you write down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed the Aurora Teagarden series as much as the Sookie Stackhouse series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dead over Heels is a great book for anytime reading

    Dead over Heels is great for rainy days. It is also great for reading that you don't really want to think about if it could really happen or not. Harris writes like a woman that really wants something good happen to a lady that doesn't always have a great life. Aurora is a great person to have a book about. This book is about Roe along with Detective Burns who Roe does not always get along with ends up getting killed in front of Roe. along with alot of odd things that end up since Roe moving into the new House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as crazy about Roe

    I've read most of the Roe Teagarden series and I'm not so crazy about her. I really can't decide if I like her or not. She's a little too Southern for me, too timid. Most of the mysteries aren't so hard to figure out. This one I thought was a little ridiculous--why all of a sudden would this person (who has known Roe for a long time) suddenly develop a murderous jealous streak and become obsessed with her? Didn't make any sense to me. There's a couple more books in the series that I haven't read but I don't know if I will bother. I certainly am not buying anymore--I will save my money for better books. Charlaine Harris though is a good, entertaining writer. I highly recommend the Sookie Stackhouse series (and the HBO show, True Blood, that is based on them).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8