Customer Reviews for

Dead to You

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

DEAD TO YOU left me breathless.

What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a gr...
What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a group home by his so-called caretaker. DEAD TO YOU is a raw, emotional and even sexy story about a boy in turmoil, and has such vivid and heartbreaking characters that I couldn't put it down until the very end that left me completely breathless. Also, I have to say that I loved Gracie so much-probably more than I've ever loved any secondary character before. She provided some much-needed relief when the story kept ratcheting up the tension and suspense. Great job - another winner from Lisa McMann.

posted by JoanneLevy on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

hey i like it all together it was good...... but the end i found

hey i like it all together it was good...... but the end i found kind of predictable but then i find that happening alot more often the more i read i do not think reading this was a wasist or any thing it was really good :D. the way the brothers act reminded me of my br...
hey i like it all together it was good...... but the end i found kind of predictable but then i find that happening alot more often the more i read i do not think reading this was a wasist or any thing it was really good :D. the way the brothers act reminded me of my brother and me or what i wish i could some times do to him XD but i will digress...... i loved the book though i would have the ending to be a little less predictable :D her other serious was great though :D

posted by 9117423 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Disliked Nonsensical Ending

    I checked it out from my library i would have been disapointed if i'd payed for it. The ending was lacking and i was hoping there would be a sequel to resolve things. I mean wouldn't the police tht showed up in the end have known tht the family brought "ethan" home? Hello it was all over the news! So for them to show up and drop a bomb like tht seemed highly unlikely. That was the only stupid part really. The missing kid case for ethan would have been closed, police updated, so the ending had no logical basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It was a good book, but not much excitement in it. Also very sho

    It was a good book, but not much excitement in it. Also very short I wish the book was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Great quick read! :)

    I was a huge fan of McMann's "Wake" series, and was thrilled to find out about this book. This was actually the first audiobook I ever listened to, narrated by Aaron Tveit. I was so hooked I listened to the whole book in one sitting! I was definitely intrigued by Ethan's character, and I also found his little sister Gracie to be absolutely adorable. I think this is a very believable story of readjustment, the affects abduction can have on a victim, creating new relationships (or rather rediscovering old ones). I have to put in some mention of the ending. A plot twist if there ever was one! If you're not a fan of cliff hangers, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! Though this book left me wanting to pull my hair out, I was ultimately satisfied. Praying for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Very good! :)

    I thought it was very well written. They put very different phrases in some of the parts. The author did a great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I am obsessed with this book! I finished it in a couple of hours

    I am obsessed with this book! I finished it in a couple of hours because it was simply too good to put down!
    But she has GOT to write a sequel! There's no way she can leave the ending the way she does!
    It's PERFECT for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    I thought it was good. But 10.00 for a book with only 182 pages

    I thought it was good. But 10.00 for a book with only 182 pages is riduculous!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Lisa McMann is amazing author. All of her books are so well writ

    Lisa McMann is amazing author. All of her books are so well written and heartfelt. This particular book was no exception. It's unusual ending was so profound because you do not read many books like this anymore. Most books are about happy endings, but those aren't realistic. Lisa McMann provides her readers with a more realistic approach in a very emotional story line. Readers fall head over heels into the plot line of this book, only to be heartbroken just as the characters are. She did an amazing job. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I love this book. I fell in love with Ethan the moment I cracked

    I love this book. I fell in love with Ethan the moment I cracked open this book. He is struggling with some serious issues but, this book is written so well that you're living with the same pain that he is. Each time something goes wrong or the tension builds in the house you feel it the same way he does. But, what I loved most in this book is the relationships he built with his new family. The way he talks about them (especially Cami) is truly heart warming. Needless to say this book kept me guessing the entire time and the ending is heartbreaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing. I hope a second book comes out. The ending left me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Okay..

    I think the story line was interesting enough, but sometimes it confused me. And the little brother was constantly on my nerves as well as the main character. Plus the ending sucked!!

    It was seriously the WORST ending i have ever read in my life...don't think i'll read anyhing else by this author..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read this book in one day....usually i dont do that...but this book wouldnt end...and i loved that...at the end i wanted more...i mean not to be a spolier alert....but i was never more confused,...(in a good way...obviously....) but it kept me thinking...how...what...what is he then....i honestly would recomend this for anyone loves a good mystery...seriously...this is now my fav...book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Okay. Okay. that is all i can think after this book, because thi

    Okay.
    Okay. that is all i can think after this book, because this kid is actually starting to get somewhere in this house but the guys in the black car and his brother mess it up. How and Why could they do that? My guess is without a challenge. Oops. Wrong word. The brother definitely had a challenge proving that "Ethan", the kid, wasn't his real brother. The guys in the car probably didn't have a challenge. The scariest part about this book is how Ethan just has to run. He has to run away from Cami, Grace, Mom, Dad, school, Living on the streets, anything else that was ruined for him. Everything is gone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Snow white and the hunt man

    It is so so so good these chaters make you want to jump

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Lalala

    Hello should i read this???:) ps my name is BOB

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart-rending. I'm a fan of Lisa's work and so was really lookin

    Heart-rending.
    I'm a fan of Lisa's work and so was really looking forward to this one, and I wasn't disappointed. It isn't an easy book to read, but that's the beauty of Lisa's novels; she doesn't hold back. My heart broke for Ethan and his story left me thinking long after it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Khals review

    *SPOILERS* Well, it was an okay read but the plot was sort of predictable. First of all, the family 'reunion' was so off I was suspicious from the start. Secondly, not remembering anything about your old family, not even how your old room used to look or how you used to hate that old dog, is very strange. Third, the fact that he had learned everything about his 'family' from off some website was even more strange. Fourth, when they asked him how he found them if he didnt remember them, he never gave a clear cut answer. It was just some kind of 'feeling' that a family was waiting out there for him. Ridiculous. At the first mention of that 'feeling' I figured right of the bat that the guy was sick, abused and ran away from home so he could find a new family that lost a son and could love him. Since I figured everything out, the ending wasnt really a twist for me. I feel bad for the kid though, all he wanted was a home. 3.2 stars. If you really liked this, I suggest you read a book called Choker. I dont remember the author but the cover has branches all over it and has the word Choker in the middle. Its pink also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Not the best ending....

    Sucks you in with a great premise but, I really dislike the 'twist' at the end. You know there's not gonna be a 2nd book either, as this is just one of those books designed to twist in your gut and make you think of it long after you finish. I shoulda stopped 5 pages before the end, lol. Probably wont recomend it, but it was an entertaining way to spend a few hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Very good book. Quick easy read, that you have to force yourself to put down. The ending was abrupt and it ended too soon. Great characters that you immediatly develop feelings for..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, I was pretty disappointed in this book. Right from the

    Overall, I was pretty disappointed in this book. Right from the get-go, you know that something is wrong with the entire reunion scenario, you just don't know what. Through the whole book, you are both rooting for the kid to regain his memories and become happy again and, at the same time, you know that something is off just enough that it's not going to happen. When the shoe finally fell, I just basically felt bad for the kid's "family." They didn't deserve that. On the other hand, I didn't hate the kid because I don't think he meant to hurt the family. He obviously had a terrible life and subconsciously created this world in which he would have a better life. The whole scenario was a lose-lose for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Lori

    Whats a headline?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4