Customer Reviews for

Dead to You

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

DEAD TO YOU left me breathless.

What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a gr...
What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a group home by his so-called caretaker. DEAD TO YOU is a raw, emotional and even sexy story about a boy in turmoil, and has such vivid and heartbreaking characters that I couldn't put it down until the very end that left me completely breathless. Also, I have to say that I loved Gracie so much-probably more than I've ever loved any secondary character before. She provided some much-needed relief when the story kept ratcheting up the tension and suspense. Great job - another winner from Lisa McMann.

posted by JoanneLevy on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ahhhhggggg!!!!

Ok so i am reading thesample and i like hey this looks like a good bk. thenafter i start reading the reviews and i see a couple of reviews commenting on how the ending sucked. But being the idiot iam i decided to read the book anyway. And so i am reading it and it i...
Ok so i am reading thesample and i like hey this looks like a good bk. thenafter i start reading the reviews and i see a couple of reviews commenting on how the ending sucked. But being the idiot iam i decided to read the book anyway. And so i am reading it and it isreally good. It had depth, good characters, and an incredible story line. But then the auther decids to just end the bk all of a sudden just wen it was getting good. Rite in the climax of the fricking book!!!!!! So for the people who want to read it and decide to ignore the reviews just be prepared for the aweful ending.

posted by 5ftfour on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great book

    Its a fantastic book. I finished it in about an hour because it was soo good. BUT, it seems like she got bored of writing it and just stopped the ending came in a chapter and it definitely fits the "cliffhanger" definition. She needs to either make a sequel SOON or publish and ending because the end ruined the book for me.
    -M

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Woah!!!

    It was sooooooo good but it needs closure!!!!!!! There DEFINATELY needs to be a sequal!!! I loved vit though!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this in a day. Simply couldn't put it down. BUT WHERE I

    I read this in a day. Simply couldn't put it down. BUT WHERE IS THE ENDING?!?!?!??!?!?!?! So upsetting! There better be a 2nd one!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    I read Wake by Lisa McMann and knew that I had to read more by t

    I read Wake by Lisa McMann and knew that I had to read more by this author. Dead To You was everything I expected plus a little more. 




    Plot: Dead To You has been on my TBR list for the longest time and I FINALLY got a chance to read it! This fast-paced mystery is told from the POV of Ethan, a boy who was abducted from his front lawn ten years ago. What starts off as a beautiful tale of reunion, expands to what happens AFTER a child has been returned home. The awkwardness of trying to find your place in a family that has tried to go on, returning to school and seeing old school friends. The novel also has a mystery regarding WHO took Ethan and for what purpose. I was engaged and managed to eat this one up in a day (it's a short read). The "conclusion" was very open-ended which was very unsettling, in a good way. 




    Characters: The mystery is told through Ethan's POV which brings the reader even closer to the mystery. Ethan seems so broken and vulnerable given his past experience and I sympathized with him until the very end. Since Ethan is a teenage boy with hormone, he pretty much falls victim to insta-lust with the first female character he meets and they go on to have a fast-paced relationship. Normally, this would bother me, but since everything else in this novel was fast-paced, it was only natural that the "lust story" be fast paced as well.




    World Building: There isn't much to the world building in Dead To You. The story goes from home, to school, to the park, to home again. The feeling was your average small-town USA with Ethan being the resident outsider. 




    Short N Sweet: Dead To You is a book-clutching romance that will tug at your heart and keep you guessing until the very end. I recommend it for all fans of the mystery genre! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Great quick read! :)

    I was a huge fan of McMann's "Wake" series, and was thrilled to find out about this book. This was actually the first audiobook I ever listened to, narrated by Aaron Tveit. I was so hooked I listened to the whole book in one sitting! I was definitely intrigued by Ethan's character, and I also found his little sister Gracie to be absolutely adorable. I think this is a very believable story of readjustment, the affects abduction can have on a victim, creating new relationships (or rather rediscovering old ones). I have to put in some mention of the ending. A plot twist if there ever was one! If you're not a fan of cliff hangers, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! Though this book left me wanting to pull my hair out, I was ultimately satisfied. Praying for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Very good! :)

    I thought it was very well written. They put very different phrases in some of the parts. The author did a great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I am obsessed with this book! I finished it in a couple of hours

    I am obsessed with this book! I finished it in a couple of hours because it was simply too good to put down!
    But she has GOT to write a sequel! There's no way she can leave the ending the way she does!
    It's PERFECT for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart-rending. I'm a fan of Lisa's work and so was really lookin

    Heart-rending.
    I'm a fan of Lisa's work and so was really looking forward to this one, and I wasn't disappointed. It isn't an easy book to read, but that's the beauty of Lisa's novels; she doesn't hold back. My heart broke for Ethan and his story left me thinking long after it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Very good book. Quick easy read, that you have to force yourself to put down. The ending was abrupt and it ended too soon. Great characters that you immediatly develop feelings for..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book didn't like how it ended hope its a series Love

    Loved this book didn't like how it ended hope its a series

    Loved the fact that the book keeped my interest all the way thourgh love the little sister gracie. I hope this is a series a very good story. thought thought blake the younger brother was a butt at times. another great book form mcmann

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great Read

    The book was a good quick read. It held my interest even though it was a little predictable towards the end. I will read more books from this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1