Customer Reviews for

Dead to You

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

DEAD TO YOU left me breathless.

What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a gr...
What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a group home by his so-called caretaker. DEAD TO YOU is a raw, emotional and even sexy story about a boy in turmoil, and has such vivid and heartbreaking characters that I couldn't put it down until the very end that left me completely breathless. Also, I have to say that I loved Gracie so much-probably more than I've ever loved any secondary character before. She provided some much-needed relief when the story kept ratcheting up the tension and suspense. Great job - another winner from Lisa McMann.

posted by JoanneLevy on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ahhhhggggg!!!!

Ok so i am reading thesample and i like hey this looks like a good bk. thenafter i start reading the reviews and i see a couple of reviews commenting on how the ending sucked. But being the idiot iam i decided to read the book anyway. And so i am reading it and it i...
Ok so i am reading thesample and i like hey this looks like a good bk. thenafter i start reading the reviews and i see a couple of reviews commenting on how the ending sucked. But being the idiot iam i decided to read the book anyway. And so i am reading it and it isreally good. It had depth, good characters, and an incredible story line. But then the auther decids to just end the bk all of a sudden just wen it was getting good. Rite in the climax of the fricking book!!!!!! So for the people who want to read it and decide to ignore the reviews just be prepared for the aweful ending.

posted by 5ftfour on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    DEAD TO YOU left me breathless.

    What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a group home by his so-called caretaker. DEAD TO YOU is a raw, emotional and even sexy story about a boy in turmoil, and has such vivid and heartbreaking characters that I couldn't put it down until the very end that left me completely breathless. Also, I have to say that I loved Gracie so much-probably more than I've ever loved any secondary character before. She provided some much-needed relief when the story kept ratcheting up the tension and suspense. Great job - another winner from Lisa McMann.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Dead To You

    After being abducted at a young age Ethan returns to a family and a town he does not remember. To most its a miricle for his return, to others its impossible. The book was very amazing in the way the main character is very transparent and you can feels he's pain and struggle of his life under the care of his abductor who abandoned him and returning home.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    EMOTIONAL, BEAUTIFUL & SHOCKING

    one of the best books ive ever read! so sad and beautiful... the ending was just so heart breaking, defentally worth the money and time to read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is so emotional and i think it need a sequel because the end is a cliffhanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Diane

    Really enjoyed this book. Read the Wake Series and wanted more. Being a Mom of 5 boys I could feel the hope and joy the Mom felt and then the heartbreak and devastation. Excellent writing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Read it in 2 hours!

    I love this book no matter what yall say. I wouldnt want anyone who has anger problems reading it. She is a great author. You just havnt found the book by her. You cant read one book of hers and hate the author. Yeah the ending wasnt good but it still made you think. It made you feel and itt kinda taught a lesson. Most people take everything for granted. Yet how would you feel if you were like him. Having no idea who this people are. Not fitting in no matter what you do? Some people have good mothers and fathers who care about them but the kids hate that. But some kids arent that lucky, they might have parents that dont care about them. Why dont yall write something and put it online? See how people thing of it.
    Some kids might come from abuseive familys but kids that have good homes take of this for granted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Words can't describe this book, its a MUST read!

    Words can't describe this book, its a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Really good

    I really got on to the book with the emotional twists and turns. I loved the ending i just wished she would make a second one so we could see what happened to the character i came to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Lisa McMann is amazing author. All of her books are so well writ

    Lisa McMann is amazing author. All of her books are so well written and heartfelt. This particular book was no exception. It's unusual ending was so profound because you do not read many books like this anymore. Most books are about happy endings, but those aren't realistic. Lisa McMann provides her readers with a more realistic approach in a very emotional story line. Readers fall head over heels into the plot line of this book, only to be heartbroken just as the characters are. She did an amazing job. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I love this book. I fell in love with Ethan the moment I cracked

    I love this book. I fell in love with Ethan the moment I cracked open this book. He is struggling with some serious issues but, this book is written so well that you're living with the same pain that he is. Each time something goes wrong or the tension builds in the house you feel it the same way he does. But, what I loved most in this book is the relationships he built with his new family. The way he talks about them (especially Cami) is truly heart warming. Needless to say this book kept me guessing the entire time and the ending is heartbreaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing. I hope a second book comes out. The ending left me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read this book in one day....usually i dont do that...but this book wouldnt end...and i loved that...at the end i wanted more...i mean not to be a spolier alert....but i was never more confused,...(in a good way...obviously....) but it kept me thinking...how...what...what is he then....i honestly would recomend this for anyone loves a good mystery...seriously...this is now my fav...book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Okay. Okay. that is all i can think after this book, because thi

    Okay.
    Okay. that is all i can think after this book, because this kid is actually starting to get somewhere in this house but the guys in the black car and his brother mess it up. How and Why could they do that? My guess is without a challenge. Oops. Wrong word. The brother definitely had a challenge proving that "Ethan", the kid, wasn't his real brother. The guys in the car probably didn't have a challenge. The scariest part about this book is how Ethan just has to run. He has to run away from Cami, Grace, Mom, Dad, school, Living on the streets, anything else that was ruined for him. Everything is gone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Snow white and the hunt man

    It is so so so good these chaters make you want to jump

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Lalala

    Hello should i read this???:) ps my name is BOB

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Lori

    Whats a headline?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    I loved this book! Such a page turner! I read Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy, which I loved, and I was really excited to hear that she was coming out with a new book. Could not believe the twist, and I didn't even see it coming! Does anyone know if this book is the first of a series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I loved the book I finished it in two hours. The plot was perfect through the entire book. However it ends with a cliff hanger. It makes me wonder if she will write a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Questions

    How long is the book?
    Is it ok for a 7-9 year old?
    Is it really good?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2