Customer Reviews for

Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1510)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet

This is a book that I found was really great. The best of the series. I couldn't put it down. And it killed me when I finished it. It is a book where you don't want the story to ever end.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is pretty good

I enjoyed this book from the start. After reading this book I am undecided which character I would like to see Sookie end up with. Alcide, Eric, Sam, and Bill have their strengths and faults. I think Sookie judges Eric too strongly and would like to see her get knocked ...
I enjoyed this book from the start. After reading this book I am undecided which character I would like to see Sookie end up with. Alcide, Eric, Sam, and Bill have their strengths and faults. I think Sookie judges Eric too strongly and would like to see her get knocked off her high horse. I mean after everything he has done for her in this book, she should not judge him the way she does. I also liked that Charlaine Harris explained why the Vampire Bubba could enter places he was not invited into. It was not a strong explanation in my opinion but it is better than nothing.

One thing I have not liked in all of the books in this series so far is how facts of the characters are repeated all the time. For example the death of Sookie's parents, her gift/disability, Tara's childhood, the relationship of the cops and more that I have not listed.


I am going to go and buy the next two book in the series, I want to know what is going on with Sookie's brother Jason and Eric. I hope he remembers the time he spent with Sookie in this book!

posted by HBT on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    The Best Yet

    This is a book that I found was really great. The best of the series. I couldn't put it down. And it killed me when I finished it. It is a book where you don't want the story to ever end.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dead to the World

    I loved this book. Eric is my favorite love interest of Sookie's. Mysterious with a hint of danger. His sense of humor is so much better than Bill's. I can't wait to see what happens next now that he has his memory back! Another great book to an awesome series. Keep them coming Charlaine! If you love this series, check out True Blood on HBO. It strays a bit from the books but still a great show to watch!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply addicting

    I never thought I would enjoy this series, but right from the first chapter of book 1, I was hooked!! This is not the kind of book I would ordinarily buy, but book 1 was given to me by a friend. she had not read it & said she bought it by mistake. I happened to open it up when I had nothing else to read & "BAM" I was hooked!! <BR/>I find Sookie an absolute delight. I love reading about each & every new & different species she manages to come across. She is serious where she should be & light hearted where it's appropriate. <BR/>I'm so happy that Sookie & Eric get together in this book, since I've always been rather partial to him. <BR/>I look forward to the other books in this series and I sure hope they all stay as good as the first four. I was not disappointed with this installment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Second Read Through Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi The

    Second Read Through

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    The fourth installment of the Sookie Stackhouse series takes us to a new year in Bon Temps. Sookie&rsquo;s New Year&rsquo;s resolution is to stay out of trouble and not get beat up. That is one that probably will be thrown out along with all the resolutions people make to lose weight and quit smoking pretty early in the year.

    On her way home from work, Sookie finds a half naked Eric running down the road. She pulls over to see what&rsquo;s wrong and what he&rsquo;s running from and she discovers that he doesn&rsquo;t remember her or anything else about his life. Eric was cursed by a powerful were-witch that feeds on vampire blood (could we involve anymore sups into this character?) when he wouldn&rsquo;t give her what she wanted; him and his business.

    Thanks to Jason, Sookie ends up hiding Eric at her house until the vampires can&rsquo;t straighten out what&rsquo;s going on and can get the spell lifted from Eric.

    Soon after Sookie takes custody of Eric, Jason disappears from his house in a way that screams foul play.

    Now Sookie has to divide her time between finding out what happened to her brother and trying to help Eric get his memory back, even though a part of her likes this new Eric better! She also must discover if the two incidents are connected. Could the witch that cursed Eric be responsible for kidnapping Jason?

    This is actually a re-read of this book for me. It was originally my favorite of the entire Sookie Stackhouse series. What can I say? I love Eric! I had started liking him in the previous books, but let&rsquo;s face it I was never a Bill fan and I wanted Sookie with anybody, but him so I welcomed Eric with open arms.

    Eric was always so good at hiding his true nature that it was nice to see him completely exposed in this book. He had no choice, but to show Sookie how he really felt about her as he didn&rsquo;t have his usual methods about him to cover up his real feelings. And what was left was a sweet guy even if he was a little lost and you just have to love his honesty.

    &ldquo;I should be concerned about your brother, because I love having sex with you, and I should want you to think well of me so you&rsquo;ll want sex, too&rdquo;

    And let&rsquo;s face it, Eric with amnesia is HOT! And if you still aren&rsquo;t sold on him, watch an episode of True Blood, the actor that portrays him, Alexander Skarsgard will definitely get your juices flowing!

    The Jason storyline really didn&rsquo;t interest me that much, but then again you really didn&rsquo;t know what was going on while he was away so it&rsquo;s hard to glean much from it.

    I have to admit that I didn&rsquo;t like this book as much the second time around. Maybe because I remember it being my favorite and my expectations were too high&hellip;and that is always dangerous!! I was debating on giving the story a lower rating this time around, but the book was still good and I decided to go ahead and give a rating to reflect my original thoughts on this book; Five stars

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    The best in the series!

    Don't judge the series based on the HBO show. The books are so rich and this ohe is great. This book made me love Eric Northman. Highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Your heart will beat like a hammer on an anvil!!!!!!

    This book will bow you away. The amazing part about this book is that eric is in better sperits and amazingly enough has feelings!!!!! This book will make your heart race to the max and when you read you might want to remember to breath.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Another good read

    I love the tv show but the books are proving to be so much better

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    My favorite book so far!

    Im loving the series but this is hands down my favorite book. I couldnt put it down and read through it very quickly, which is saying something since im not the fastest reader. Im so curious to see how things work out for sookies love life in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Best book of the Series!

    I LOVED this book! I have read the entire series but this one is the one I always go back to!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    As 1 of the 11 Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire novels this one is my favorite!

    Thrilling, funny, and sexy all rolled up in one great read! It's fun to hear Johanna Parker narrate, and I believe it makes the story that much better.
    This is a must listen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Really enjoyed this

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    So good!

    I love Eric in this one!!

    I think this one might have been my favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    My favorite in the series so far!

    I am a HUGE Eric fan so i enjoyed her idea on this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Fun

    Like the others, it's a fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Thoughts On 'Dead To The World'...

    The supernatural world is further opened up to include witches and others, (a surprise when you learn about the siblings Claudine and Claude), when Sookie Stackhouse drives upon a half naked man running on the side of the road, on New Years night. Turns out that the nearly irresistible man is not a man, but the vampire Eric Northman, and he has no memory of anything. After the New Years party at Merlotte's, Jason Stackhouse goes home with Crystal, a shifter, and disappears. Things are suspicious because his flashy truck is parked with the door left open and there's blood stained on his property. The people of Bon Temps think the worst. Sookie is the one who will end up doing all the police's footwork, again. What choice does she have? Jason is the only family she has.

    Sookie has broken up with the vampire Bill Compton, after he answered the call of his maker Lorena, (cheated on Sookie). She has rescinded both Bill's and Eric's invitation. Her introduction into the world of Weres and Shifters is blown wide open when she learns of the nearby community Hotshot. Her previous relationship with the hot and muscley Alcide does not hurt any either! Their leader Calvin Norris is very interested in Sookie, but she has feelings for Alcide. Her feelings for Calvin are familiar and homey. Now she is torn between Bill, Eric, Alcide, and the persistent advances of Calvin. (Not bad for a girl who has not had any boyfriend or sex until just recently.)
    Sookie and Bill's relationship is scarred deeper by the events that happened in Mississippi. In Bill's rescue, they were trapped in the trunk of a car, were Sookie was fed upon and raped until Bill came to his senses. Considering Sookie's childhood molestation from her uncle, this is irreparably detrimental. It was Debbie Pelt who locked her in with Bill. What will Alcide do if he ever finds out? Will he see Debbie's true dark nature? How much of a threat to Sookie is Debbie?
    Cursed, Eric is a completely different vampire, (and ooohh so yummy!) Eric is forced to hide out at Sookie's house, because the witches, who cursed him with amnesia, are looking for him. The coven's leader, Hallow gets too close when she shows up at Merlotte's with her brother. Also there are wanted posters all over town with a $50,000 reward, with Eric's picture on them.
    There are some traumatic and very surprising events for Sookie, for those she works with, and for those she loves. After reading the last sentence of 'Dead To The World', you will immediately pick up 'Dead As A Doornail', to find out what happens next. You will not be able to resist! With the strong leadership of Pam, what will later be known as the Witch War, will either be the cure to Eric's amnesia curse, or the former Eric Northman will remain dead to the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is pretty good

    I enjoyed this book from the start. After reading this book I am undecided which character I would like to see Sookie end up with. Alcide, Eric, Sam, and Bill have their strengths and faults. I think Sookie judges Eric too strongly and would like to see her get knocked off her high horse. I mean after everything he has done for her in this book, she should not judge him the way she does. I also liked that Charlaine Harris explained why the Vampire Bubba could enter places he was not invited into. It was not a strong explanation in my opinion but it is better than nothing.

    One thing I have not liked in all of the books in this series so far is how facts of the characters are repeated all the time. For example the death of Sookie's parents, her gift/disability, Tara's childhood, the relationship of the cops and more that I have not listed.


    I am going to go and buy the next two book in the series, I want to know what is going on with Sookie's brother Jason and Eric. I hope he remembers the time he spent with Sookie in this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Utterly addicting!

    This one definitely started slower than Ms. Harris' previous novels. I was actually able to put it down for a day or two. I'm also torn about Sookie's increasing involvement with Eric. I liked Bill better, and even Alcide was a better option, in my opinion. So, my heart just wasn't in to reading more about their burgeoning relationship...at first.

    However, the action definitely picked up towards the end, not to mention some fabulous bedroom scenes. This was the first of the series, except for the first one, where I honestly did not figure out how it was going to end. I also made the mistake of bringing the book with me to work today to read during lunch. I may or may not have taken a longer lunch in order to finish it. In my defense, a battle between witches, Wiccans (they are different from witches if you didn't know), werewolves, and vampires is like heaven to anyone who adores the genre, like me. I couldn't stop without figuring out what happened!

    Poor Sookie. The girl just can't catch a break, can she? All she wants is to love and be loved in return but is constantly thwarted by factors out of her control. I was a bit bothered that she appeared weaker than normal, not the strong female lead I had found her to be. Then again, when I think that the first five books are supposed to have taken place roughly one month apart from each other, the girl has been through more than most people would be able to handle. Once I figured that out, I was able to cut her some slack and admire her ability to be able to deal with so much in such a short period of time. And this book does pack some emotional punches for her, more so than the previous books. Her relationship with Eric becomes something that she never had with Bill, and I'm curious how this is going to play out in the end.

    A few days ago, I was ready to just chalk this one up to the fact that not all books can be at the same excellent level as previous ones. Authors are allowed one bad novel now and then. However, as I mentioned earlier, the plot picked up in a hurry, and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I'll take that as a sign that Ms. Harris did it again. She managed to weave a thrilling action story filled with "supes", a bit of a mystery, and even more heartrending decisions for Sookie. It definitely left me wanting more, yet again!

    I'm going to give the Sookie Stackhouse series a rest for a few days and pick up some other books that I recently received. But, I have a feeling that my thoughts won't be far from Bon Temps as I wonder what the next installment has in store for Sookie, Bill, and Eric!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Book four is finally here!

    Sookie Stackhouse is a small-town cocktail waitress in Louisiana. She is a human with the special talent of telepathy. Since the Great Revelation, when vampires announced their presence to the world, everyone's eyes have opened. Sookie's first real boyfriend, Bill Compton, came around shortly thereafter. Since vampires are dead, it is tough for Sookie to hear their thoughts. It made Bill perfect for her. Until Bill cheated on her (last book) and they broke up. Through Sookie's adventures with Bill, she learned that Vampires are not the only supernatural predator in the world. But Weres, Fairies, Shifter, and the like, still did not want their presence known to humans. ............................. Bill is off to Peru, on assignment, for a couple of weeks. The New Year's Eve celebration finally ends. Sookie's resolutions are to not get beaten up and to stay out of trouble. (Har-de-har-har!) The night is not even over and Sookie is driving home when she spies a man running, nude, down the road as if someone or something is after him. Turns out that he has amnesia. He has no memory of why he is tunning in the nude. He does not even know his name. Sookie does, of course. It is Eric! He is still scary and sexy, but no longer cruel and sly. ......................... A coven of powerful witches have moved into the area. They plan to take over the businesses of the vampires. The leader, Hallow, cursed Eric with amnesia, but did not expect him to vanish. The witches put a huge bounty out for information on Eric's location. Sookie has the task of keeping Eric hidden in her home, until the evil witches are dealt with. Sookie knows this is dangerous, but she is more worried about how alluring the new, nicer Eric is. At the same time, Sookie's brother, Jason has disappeared. ........................ **** If you do not read the previous books in this series, you will find yourself wondering why Sookie is worried about a few things. This book picks up a few weeks after the last one left off. As usual, the novel begins and ends the major plot of the story. But a few juicy sub-plots are left dangling, to be continued in the next. Those on-going tid-bits are one of the wonderful things the fans of this series enjoys very much! But this book does not touch on the Sookie, Bill, and Eric triangle as much. Bill is demoted to a minor character this time around. ......................... The author is just as witty in her writing as always. Jason, Sookie's brother, is finally being pulled into the Supernatural mess as well. Lively (no pun intended), witty, intense, and just plain fun reading. Wonderful! ****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    AMAZING!

    This book is amazing. I found it to be better than the last one. The storyline is well developed and it will keep u guessing the whole time. Cannot wait to read book 5. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Love this series

    Reading this series for the second time and still loving it. Don't watch the show True Blood though totally ruins it, I have to block it out of my mind when I read the REAL story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110