Customer Reviews for

Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1510)

4 Star

(454)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet

This is a book that I found was really great. The best of the series. I couldn't put it down. And it killed me when I finished it. It is a book where you don't want the story to ever end.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is pretty good

I enjoyed this book from the start. After reading this book I am undecided which character I would like to see Sookie end up with. Alcide, Eric, Sam, and Bill have their strengths and faults. I think Sookie judges Eric too strongly and would like to see her get knocked ...
I enjoyed this book from the start. After reading this book I am undecided which character I would like to see Sookie end up with. Alcide, Eric, Sam, and Bill have their strengths and faults. I think Sookie judges Eric too strongly and would like to see her get knocked off her high horse. I mean after everything he has done for her in this book, she should not judge him the way she does. I also liked that Charlaine Harris explained why the Vampire Bubba could enter places he was not invited into. It was not a strong explanation in my opinion but it is better than nothing.

One thing I have not liked in all of the books in this series so far is how facts of the characters are repeated all the time. For example the death of Sookie's parents, her gift/disability, Tara's childhood, the relationship of the cops and more that I have not listed.


I am going to go and buy the next two book in the series, I want to know what is going on with Sookie's brother Jason and Eric. I hope he remembers the time he spent with Sookie in this book!

posted by HBT on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2200 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 110
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Good but slow

    I really like these books but i felt like this one was really slow at times....but still enjoyable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Sookie stackhouse

    Is such an insparational as well as addicting these books completly suck you once you go stackhouse you never come back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Excellent book

    This is an excellent book. I've enjoyed the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Sookie

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Five stars

    Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Super

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Did not like

    So far i have Loved this series. This book not so much. Yes, its great writing and the same characters and some new good ones but i really couldnt get into this one since eric was not himself. This book took more effert to read for me. Still a great series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Eric eric

    Great sookie book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Interesting

    I wonder how this season will compare to the book. Other than that thought it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Best book in the whole series!!!

    Season four of True Blood is bound to be the best yet because its based on this book. I love how Sookie gets to know the real Eric that exsisted before life hardened him. Its pretty spicy:) Id read it if you knew what was good for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    My favorite FAVORITE Charlaine Harris novel

    I have read and re-read this book countless times which is a lot because I rarely reread books. I am IN-LOVE with Dead To The World

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rric trumps Bill.

    Wasn't sure how the Eric/Sookie thing would be, but in the end I liked Eric and Sookie much better than Bill. I was disappointed that he didn't remember anything after getting his memory back. Hopefully he will regain it later, and realize he does love Sookie, and they will get back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Very cute!

    I loved reading about Eric in a new light. Very engaging from brginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    Sookie drives home from work and finds Eric who seems to have lost his memory. How could this have happened or could it be a trick? Well, Sookie learns with help from Pam and others that it has to do with a coven of witches. And Sookie finds that Jason is missing. Yet another book in the series I could not put down. Sookie surprised me with each book so far, since she handles the situation as best she can and tries to be brave even when she's afraid. But when she has to fight then you know she'll fight back. She also seems to be meeting quite a lot of supernatural creatures lately. First vampires, then werewolves and shape shifters and now witches. What's next? Cant' wait!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    MY FAVORITE SOOKIE STACKHOUSE BOOK!!

    This is my favorite Sookie Stackhouse book by far. It's fantastic to finally see something between Sookie and Eric.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite

    I loved this book the most up through book ten because it made me fall for Eric, even if Sookie is unsure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Moves a little slower than book three but still awesome!

    Unlike the last book, this book starts you out a little slower and you learn a lot of new information before the book get rolling; however, once it does start going you will enjoy this book as much as the all the others. This book series is excellent and I recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    great!

    this book is my favorite of the series five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    This is a Great Book.

    i loved this book, it gave us a look at a different Eric. And as for what Indagomoon said no its on all in his head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2200 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 110