Customer Reviews for

Dead until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #1) (True Blood)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3998 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2264)

4 Star

(1036)

3 Star

(412)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(150)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Charlaine Harris Filled My Twilight Void

I LOVED this book. I decided to read it because I took an intrest in the HBO tv show and had just finished reading the Twilight series. Vampire novels are a gulty pleasure of mine so when I discovered Dead Untill Dark I was thrilled. The Sookie Stackhouse novels are ...
I LOVED this book. I decided to read it because I took an intrest in the HBO tv show and had just finished reading the Twilight series. Vampire novels are a gulty pleasure of mine so when I discovered Dead Untill Dark I was thrilled. The Sookie Stackhouse novels are definately more adult than the Stephanie Meyer books so youths be advised. I loved everything about the world that Charlaine Harris created. After reading her books I wanted to take a road trip to Louisianna. Her characters are so believabe despite their mythical state. I especially loved the modern twist she put on it. To think that vampires would fight for equal rights and want to live as equals amoung humans is crazy to think about. The love story that she creates between Bill and Sookie is unique despite what die hard Twilight fans might say. (Remember....Dead Untill Dark came BEFORE Twilight.) Also, the HBO show True Blood stays true to the novels for the most part and is just as addicting has the series.

posted by Maddilyn on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Great concept, terribly written

While I am a fan of "True Blood", I was not a fan of Harris' written work, which is quite rare, becasue I usually go the opposite way when it comes to books and their film forms. This is perhaps the first book I can say I actually like the series better than the book. B...
While I am a fan of "True Blood", I was not a fan of Harris' written work, which is quite rare, becasue I usually go the opposite way when it comes to books and their film forms. This is perhaps the first book I can say I actually like the series better than the book. But I digress.

I think Harris' concept is fantastic. She has a dynamic cast of characters, all with their own quirks and issues. Each character is colorful and paints a vivid picture. Towards the middle and end of the book, however, I lose my connection with the characters. I feel as though too much is going on at once and it loses the reader's interest and muddles the time line of events. I'm not a particular fan of her style of writing - but that's just a personal opinion.

While the story line is an intriguing one, I feel Harris loses her grip on her characters halfway through the story and leaves the reader confused and unhappy at the end.

posted by spinspinnsuga on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great concept, terribly written

    While I am a fan of "True Blood", I was not a fan of Harris' written work, which is quite rare, becasue I usually go the opposite way when it comes to books and their film forms. This is perhaps the first book I can say I actually like the series better than the book. But I digress.

    I think Harris' concept is fantastic. She has a dynamic cast of characters, all with their own quirks and issues. Each character is colorful and paints a vivid picture. Towards the middle and end of the book, however, I lose my connection with the characters. I feel as though too much is going on at once and it loses the reader's interest and muddles the time line of events. I'm not a particular fan of her style of writing - but that's just a personal opinion.

    While the story line is an intriguing one, I feel Harris loses her grip on her characters halfway through the story and leaves the reader confused and unhappy at the end.

    28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's okay...

    I read this book on a suggestion from someone who had read Twilight. I'm not into vampire books in particular, but I really liked the Twilight series so I gave this one a try. The story is somewhat similar, but I had a hard time getting into it. I felt no connection with the personalities of the characters as you never really have a chance to get to know them. I didn't feel the love behind the two main characters, Sookie and Bill, and they were already professing their love 1/3 of the way into the book. They had sex shortly thereafter and there was a lot of killing in the book.

    This book series is not a good match for me personally as I am tired of the sex and violence that is in a lot of books today. However, if you are into murder mysteries and vampires, you may like this one. It did have a couple of funny moments that made me chuckle, but unfortunately it was not enough to keep me interested in reading further books in this series. There was also a part near the end where they introduced a character (Bubba) that was so ridiculous I almost put the book down right then and there.

    This is just one person's opinion and I know there are probably a lot of readers who really like this series. So I guess you'd have to find out for yourself if you are one of those people...

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good but slow

    it was a good book ooverall but was so slow and took so long for the story to develope that towards the end i got bored and couldnt wait to get it over with

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Adult fiction at a 5th grade reading level

    This would probably be a great series for people learning to read later in life. It was vaguely entertaining.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    In my own opinion Dead Until Dark was boring I could not find my

    In my own opinion Dead Until Dark was boring I could not find myself interested in the book. I couldn't even finish the book I was so bored. Then again I couldn't finish the book Twilight and I loved all the movies. To read this book I would suggest that you really like vampire books like the Twilight series. At the beginning of the book I thought I would be able to get into it, but then I notice I wasn't paying attention to what was really happening and would find myself wandering off into something else. Some people will probably disagree with me, but its okay because this is my opinion. So if you're not very interested in vampires don't pick up the book because you will most likely get bored with it like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Meh.

    I was disappointed in this book. I read it on a friend's recommendation and I thought, it has a series based on it so it must be good, right? Not so much. I couldn't identify with Sookie and thought her character was underdeveloped or just plain stupid. Some of her responses came off as immature and trite. I kept hoping Bill would die because I did not care for him nor could I see why they seemed to love each other. I don't seem to be a fan of Harris' style of writing. I may finish the series only because my friend owns them. I wouldn't spend money on them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Sigh...

    It took all I had to finish reading this. I'm a HUGE fan of the television series, and I just knew that I would fall in love with this series. NOT. This is the LAST True Blood book I will be purchasing. I'll stick to the show. -_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Boring

    I absolutely can not, for the life of me, figure out why all the buzz on this book. I haven't watched the HBO series True Blood, but I'm figuring that's where it's rooted. From other reviews I've read I get the feeling that the TV show is superior to the actual books it's based on. The story is very slow moving, like molasses actually. The last twenty pages are the best in the whole book. I kept feeling like a breakthrough was just on the horizon.waiting and waiting. I read the book in a single sitting, it was short and I just needed it to end or get good already. Lots of time spent on what kind of outfit Sookie will wear. Lots of time spent at the bar wondering what her boss is thinking. Lots of time spent trying to not use her 'disability' of listening to other people's thoughts. Seriously, boring stuff here. I didn't feel any, even a small amount, of connection to Bill. All I felt was the silence, she loved the silence, her inability to read his mind, so plop me in bed Bill. He shared nothing of himself, really, little quips here and there but would never elaborate with the small exception of his time in the War. His extremely romantic pillow talk of "I would like to enter you again" EWWW, gag, retch. The connection was extremely weak at best. I didn't like the writing style either. I felt like the author was trying to write with small town nuances and totally missed the mark! Poor grammar doesn't equal small town life. Being from a small town, I wasn't necessarily offended, but felt as though it just wasn't authentic. And in the midst of this small town lingo, and prejudices she throws in a flaming gay cook at the bar, with flashy clothes and makeup to boot, really? The Elvis thing, Wow, stupid! This just made me feel like everyone, including the vampires, from this town were dumb. 2 Stars because: There was one twist I thought was clever although predictable. I was ecstatic I borrowed this from the library and didn't buy it. I won't read further and I won't recommend to my friends either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining

    I would like to start by saying that I really like watching True Blood. That being said, I thought the book was much better. Everything makes way more sense than in the show and the characters just seem more real (don't worry- they're all still incredibly flawed). I thought they were also way less annoying than they can be in the show. Even though I knew what was coming it still managed to keep me interested once I got past the first few chapters (a bit boring for that part). Give it a fair shot and you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    not a review....question on series

    Could someone tell me which books i should start with? I've watched the series in HBO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Suprised I did not love it.

    This was not as good as I was expecting. I was diappointed with the writing style and the character development. I am a dedicated True Blood fan, so I will continue to enjoy this series through that, but I'm not sure if I will continue to read the series, which defintely says something because most of the time books are always better than the movie/tv.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    DREADFULLY DISAPOINTING

    As an avid reader of the paranormal genra, I had heard alot of hype about the Sookie Stackhouse series so I decided to give it shot. I was dreadfully disapointed. The writing was sub par (ok if your a sixth grader I guess) and the editing of the book was sad to say the least. I think I would have to be quite desprate to read another book from this author again. Sooo not impressed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dare I say? Oh yes, I shall!

    Book one is the best one out of the lot and yet it was horribly written. I'll only review this one. The rest of the series has a lot to be desired: they are riddled with inconsistencies after inconsistencies after inconsistencies. Charlaine Harris desperately needs to make use of a content editor. It's to bad, the stories could have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    slow

    As much as I love the show this was such a slow read untill the last 2 chapters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hope It Picks Up

    I have read a lot of vampire novels. As a matter of fact I make a point to read everything that comes out. I found the characters to be flat in particular the main character Sookie Stackhouse (who is suppose to have the ability to read people's minds). All of the characters have no real life. I could care less who lived or died and there was no draw to keep reading. The sex in the book was okay - but not fantastic. The main premise of the book is that vampires are out in the open; this made the story a bit far fetched for me. And also made it less mysterious. I've heard that if you watch the show the books get better. I'll try this before reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    A light-hearted Vampire series

    The book takes a very light-hearted look at vampires in the modern world, with spurts of comedy and unusualness. There is a little twist to keep things interesting, with an unexpected whodunit at the end. All-in-all, a light, entertaining read for a dull afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you like the TV show don't bother with the book

    I loved the TV show based on this series of books. Now imagine my disappointment when there were no side plots, or twists and the characters had no shape or depth.

    This book is for one type of reader only. People who want to read about sex with vampires.

    Maybe the TV show is an amalgam of different books, and maybe the books get better as you progress, but I doubt I'll ever know because I doubt I'll ever read them.

    Congratulations Ms. Harris for successfully tapping into the vampire genre. You just did it in a way that doesn't interest me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I just don't get it.

    I picked up the book to take a break from some of my other reading. I had heard great things about the HBO series but I have never actually seen it. The book cover was cute so I figured I would give it a try. At times the author is overly descriptive of many simple things. A little over kill. I also found that the book spent so much time building up and around this mystery to only have it completely taken care of in a few pages. I will not read the rest of the series. This book is great if you just want some mind numbing reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    Maybe in high school...

    I had just finished reading an intense, thought provoking series of books, and reached for something small to ease out of the mind warp it had sent me to. I picked up Dead Until Dark hoping for a fun vampire story. Just a few pages in, it felt very shallow and cute. It felt very much like some of the horror stories I read in high school. It did eventually pick up and I finished it, though I didn't think I would. All in all it was cute, but not quality literature. I don't believe it was trying to be, so it accomplished it's goal. It was a cute, quick read. I, however, don't see any reason to waste anymore time on the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well it was no Twilight

    I read this book hoping to pacify my craving for more Twilight. It was dull and boring most of the time. Parts of it were very good and I could see where she was trying to go in writing this book but it just couldn't hold my attention. I couldn't connect with the characters and, being from Louisiana, I was offended by all the trashiness. Sure some people here are like that, but I don't think they are on that level. It's a good trashy romance novel if that is what you are into, but I am not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7