Customer Reviews for

Dead until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #1) (True Blood)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3980 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2253)

4 Star

(1031)

3 Star

(411)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(149)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Charlaine Harris Filled My Twilight Void

I LOVED this book. I decided to read it because I took an intrest in the HBO tv show and had just finished reading the Twilight series. Vampire novels are a gulty pleasure of mine so when I discovered Dead Untill Dark I was thrilled. The Sookie Stackhouse novels are ...
I LOVED this book. I decided to read it because I took an intrest in the HBO tv show and had just finished reading the Twilight series. Vampire novels are a gulty pleasure of mine so when I discovered Dead Untill Dark I was thrilled. The Sookie Stackhouse novels are definately more adult than the Stephanie Meyer books so youths be advised. I loved everything about the world that Charlaine Harris created. After reading her books I wanted to take a road trip to Louisianna. Her characters are so believabe despite their mythical state. I especially loved the modern twist she put on it. To think that vampires would fight for equal rights and want to live as equals amoung humans is crazy to think about. The love story that she creates between Bill and Sookie is unique despite what die hard Twilight fans might say. (Remember....Dead Untill Dark came BEFORE Twilight.) Also, the HBO show True Blood stays true to the novels for the most part and is just as addicting has the series.

posted by Maddilyn on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Great concept, terribly written

While I am a fan of "True Blood", I was not a fan of Harris' written work, which is quite rare, becasue I usually go the opposite way when it comes to books and their film forms. This is perhaps the first book I can say I actually like the series better than the book. B...
While I am a fan of "True Blood", I was not a fan of Harris' written work, which is quite rare, becasue I usually go the opposite way when it comes to books and their film forms. This is perhaps the first book I can say I actually like the series better than the book. But I digress.

I think Harris' concept is fantastic. She has a dynamic cast of characters, all with their own quirks and issues. Each character is colorful and paints a vivid picture. Towards the middle and end of the book, however, I lose my connection with the characters. I feel as though too much is going on at once and it loses the reader's interest and muddles the time line of events. I'm not a particular fan of her style of writing - but that's just a personal opinion.

While the story line is an intriguing one, I feel Harris loses her grip on her characters halfway through the story and leaves the reader confused and unhappy at the end.

posted by spinspinnsuga on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2253 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 113
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great storyteller!

    After reading the entire Twilight Saga twice, I thought I'd give the Sookie Stackhouse series a shot. It came highly recommended. What I can say so far about the series in general is that Charlaine Harris is a phenomenal storyteller. The book is sexy, it's spooky, it's intense. However, I don't know that I consider her to be a GREAT writer. I think her style, lexicon and syntax leave a little to be desired. It could be that she's just trying to capture the everyday life of a "regular" Southern girl and isn't trying to bombard readers with large words and symbolism. I haven't made up my mind on that yet. Minor negatives aside, though, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It

    I really enjoyed this book to the point of, I couldn't wait to get the others to this series to read. I was very disappointed in the HBO series that is based on these books.
    I highly recommend this as a very good read. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    this is the first book i read that dealt with a different take on vampires. it was funny, dramatic, thrilling, and just all around fun. I love the quirks that are given to make the characters seem more realistic and how story plays well with everyday society. The story is easy to follow and the characters are easy to fall in love with. A great read for any occasion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Great read!

    I loved this book. I was hooked right from the beginning and couldn't put it down!! I bought the whole series and haven't stopped reading them!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I wanted to read these books mostly because I was getting curious about the TV series True Blood. I'm really getting into the whole paranormal wave that is sweeping the nation, so I couldn't resist taking a look at Charlaine Harris' books. I'll definitely watch the show but I like reading the books first and I must say it was a great read. I can't wait to read all her other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Dead Until Dark!!!

    The cover is a little strange, but is a good book. The book grabbed my interest and could not put it down. Definitely pain to reed more of the Sookie Stackhouse books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Great fun read!

    I picked up this book on a display table because I'm always looking for new (to me) authors. I seriously couldn't put this book down until I finished it! It's a very fun, entertaining, addictive book. I've since read all the other books in this series! Definately recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was dead to the world as soon as i picked up DEAD UNTIL DARK!

    I picked up the book because I had watched the first season of TRUEBLOOD on HBO and I've learned that generally books are better. It was hard at first for me to get into because I had already seen the show. However, the book deviates from the script in a profound and positive way. I find the storyline more compelling and the characters more enthralling. I loved it so much that even though I had the first book already, I turned around and bought the boxed set of seven. If you're a vampire junkie, like me, his is a must-read, so get to it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    dead until dark will have gasping to the end.

    I dont mind saying this, I had came across the series a number of times but bypassed them. So imagine my shock when i found out my new fav HBO series was based on Sookie Stackhouse collection. Needless to say the book really pulled me in. I liked the way the chars. interact with one another. The chemistry between Miss stackhouse and Vampire bill is explosive, and will have you begging for more. The downside is if your like me and watched the show and read the book later, you will be alittle disappointed in the story line. There are some changes, mostly in Sookie best friend Tara.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truelly Awesome Supernatural Tale..

    I loved the story so alot. This is the first time I've read a Charlaine Harris book. So glad that I did. Luckily my Brother suggested the book & lend it to me. The story was an enjoyable, unique, thrilling and funny. Also romantic<BR/><BR/> Sookie Stackhouse is such a sweet, delightful gal. Sometimes abit coooky, but with her telepathy gift who wouldn't? I also loved the chemistry btw Bill and Sookie. Bill is so brave and devernare. <BR/><BR/> I must admit that the novel was better than the show. Not that the show is bad but the book was so sweet and indepth of each character. In other words way better explained. I don't like much of the changes in the show. <BR/><BR/> Now off to the next book of the series and for the next season of the 'True Blood'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Book one of the Southern Vampire Mystery series introduces young, attractive Sookie Stackhouse, cocktail waitress in a small town in Louisiana. Sookie has telepathic abilities which she and others look upon as a disability. She lives with her grandmother and cat and keeps to herself because she desires silence after hearing other people¿s thoughts while working. Sookie is intrigued when she meets Bill, her first vampire, not only because he¿s a vampire but because she can¿t read his thoughts. Sookie rescues Bill from a couple intent on draining him, and she and Bill become friends, which leads to a romantic relationship. <BR/><BR/>Since Bill¿s appearance, people are turning up dead, including Sookie¿s grandmother. The police initially suspect Bill but begin to focus their investigation on Sookie¿s brother, who had contact with each of the victims. With Bill¿s encouragement, Sookie uses her telepathic abilities to try to find the murderer, placing herself in danger. <BR/><BR/>This is an engaging concept, a mind reader in a world in which vampires are attempting to integrate into society. Vampires drink synthetic blood and are surrounded by fans called fang-bangers, which makes for intriguing scenes. Harris provides a good read, wrapping a well-done mystery around a plethora of interesting characters, vampiric and human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book is a great addition to the seires the other books are verry good as well. Its a good page turner. And the author has a very good and unique style to her writning i cant wait to get the 8th one and for the 9th to come out. The seires is my favorite!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    it is the most amazin book ever the show is amazin too!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE Charlaine Harris and her SOOKIE series

    I love this series so much I turned 4 of my co-workers into Charlaine Harris fans. I stumbled upon her books over the summer and had the best time dreaming about Bill and Eric! Sookie fans can relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    fantastic!

    I love them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Officially addicting!

    Thanks to the Alan Ball series on HBO, I am now officially hooked on these books! Thank goodness there are a lot of them. I loved the way the author totally sucks the reader into this magnificent, creepy, horror, vampire world! I can't wait to read the next book, and then the next...etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    Dead After Dark

    This book is a great suspense, love story. Personally, I think vampires resemble sex, and this book kind of portrays that. The love story between the two characters is undescribable. I would love to read another book like this. It keeps you on your toes, and leaves you wanting more after each time you've read it. I couldn't put it down, and I've never don that before. This is kind of a short review, but I love this book and wish I could be a vampire:]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This title is excellent. It tells you right from the start what the book will be about, Vampires.

    I loved this book. I love this series. I got started on the series because it was a new series TruBlood on HBO. I thought it looked interesting so I bought the first book. I'm now on number 5 of the 8 released. I love the characters. I like the unique world that she created for her vampires. I have always loved vampires, and it's always refreshing to find an author who puts their own take on the genre. This isn't Bram Stroker's Dracula. The book has other things going on besides romance (of course their is some of that). All the books so far have been well written, researched, and I just can't put them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    UNEXPECTED

    While wandering through the sci-fi section of Barnes and Noble an employee literally put this book in my hands. This was NOT what I was looking for nor what I expected. I started reading it thinking "paperback vampire smut" but could not put it down. I am a classic literature reader and had no intention of being bit by the lure of this series. I had no idea at the time it was an HBO series and is now the only reason I subscribed to HBO.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Funny & Fast-Paced

    This has become one of my alltime favorite books. Funny and fast-moving, there are no dull spots. After finishing "Dead Until Dark", I immediately went out and bought "Living Dead in Dallas". The book is much funnier than the TV series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2253 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 113