Customer Reviews for

Deadfall (John Hutchinson Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    DEADFALL

    I just finished it and frankly, I think I want to read it again! Great thriller! If you like realistic fiction but with just a touch of something futuristic, this is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll Be Trapped into Deadfall The Second You Open the Book

    I find that Robert Liparulo is incapable of failure in the writing department. This book only confirms it. Not one sentence of this book is slow-paced. Every plot line ties together, with no room for pointless events. Yet in the fast-moving storyline, he developes characters like no other. If I meet someone who enjoys reading large books, yet they've never read Deadfall, I suggest for them to read it straight away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't think "boring" is in Liparulo's dictionary....

    This book is one of the best thriller I've ever read! I'm personally going to tell you, I will NEVER look at gaming publishers the same way again. This psychopathic killer by the name of Declan decides he's going to show the residents of Fiddler's Falls what true evil really looks like. Along with his gun-toting adolescent companions, this dude decides to end a good hunting trip for 4 Americans, and lots of lives to. This is a must read. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    When Is This Guy Gonna Miss?

    Four friends looking for some much needed downtime from the stresses and struggles of life are dropped off via helicopter into a remote area of the Canadian wilderness. Unknown to them, a madman and his naive followers are nearby. Not only do these nefarious folk have in their possession the most technologically advanced weapon known to man, but they hold a small town and it's residence in their grip as they film . . . mo-cap for a video game. It's up to one of the four friends to stop Declan and his posse. Armed with only a bow and his wits, what good can Hutch expect to be to a group of people who need divine intervention? I first learned of Robert Liparulo upon the release of his debut novel Comes A Horseman is 2005. I read the first chapter of that novel somewhere, his website I think, and was immediately hooked. His writing style was one that I hadn't seen in a long time. The likes of Ted Dekker and Dean Koontz come to mind for comparison's sake. A year later Bob followed up with Germ and a short story in the Thriller anthology which was edited by James Patterson. These proved to solidify his place in the thriller genre and the hearts of his fans. Late last year, he released Deadfall. This time out Liparulo shows that he can scope things down to smaller details. His previous novels have had global consequences to propel the reader forward, raising questions of earth's survival. With this latest release, the focus is on one man in whose hands fall the fate of a small town's inhabitants. Along the way many themes are brought into play. Friendship, family, love, just to name a few. And even with this more detailed, smaller focus there's the undercurrent of a global catastrophe. What if Declan gets away with this? Where will he go next? Will the world be held hostage one day by this maniac? As usual, Bob's writing is crisp, clean, minimal and to the point. He created characters to care for, to cheer and to jeer. Along the way you might just learn something as you're entertained. That, to me, is the best kind of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    completely awesome

    i havent been into far fetched fiction books before but the way the book was wrote makes the laser seem like something that could actually be real. its more realistic than i thought. great thriller, keeps you on your toes wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great thriller

    In Saskatchewan, Canada is the small isolated hamlet of Fiddler Falls where everyone knows everybody else and crime is non-existent but that serenity changes when the strangers come to town. Declan, his teenage brother Julian and four other men and women have come with a specific goal, to test a new weapons system using a satellite driven by nuclear power to power up the attached laser. They want to see how accurate it is when targeting specific objects and people. They kill the town¿s only police officer but his wife Laura and son Dillon get free.--------------- They are separated and each falls in with a group of hunters from the United States who wanted to take a two week vacation from the stress of home. Hutch and Dillon find each other and make it to the rendezvous point his mother told him about. While Laura and Terry also head for their vacation cabin unfortunately, Declan and his pals are right behind them and what ensures is the biggest cat and mouse game with the stakes the lives of the townsfolk, the hunters and the mother and son they rescued.---------------- Think Deliverance with a high tech weapons system that is being tested by an evil sociopath who views the lives he takes and the people he rounds up as cattle to be culled. Then the reader will have some idea what DEADFALL is all about. The action never lets up in this thrill a page, pulse pounding blockbuster. Robert Liparulo is a grand storyteller who keeps thriller readers¿ interest with his two groups competing against each other in a winner take-all survival contest.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1