Customer Reviews for

Deadhouse Gates (Malazan Book of the Fallen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Better than the original...

The main players from Book 1, Gardens of the Moon, have split up. And this book follows the two Bridgeburners, Fiddler & Kalam as they go on their 'secret' mission, courtesy of the sly mind of Quick Ben. Along with them is Crokus, our lucky little thief, and Apsalar, th...
The main players from Book 1, Gardens of the Moon, have split up. And this book follows the two Bridgeburners, Fiddler & Kalam as they go on their 'secret' mission, courtesy of the sly mind of Quick Ben. Along with them is Crokus, our lucky little thief, and Apsalar, the young fisherman's girl who's possession by Cotillion has still left her a cold-hearted killer. We also are introduced to Coltaine, the new fist, who's travails will become legend. And we meet Paran's younger sister, Felisin, who's own tale becomes the heart and soul of this book. This book is gigantic, compared to the first one, but so layered, textured and terrific. Unlike the confusion that some may have had with following Gardens of the Moon with it's lack of set-up and so many characters, this book is much more left to develop plot, characters, and you feel completely along a fantastic ride as 3 tales are told and woven like a great tapestry. Felisin's journey, Coltaine's march, Fiddler/Kalam/Apsalar/Crokus's search...these 3 tales are powerful, riveting, and a more larger tale is beginning to unravel. Book 2, though lacking the slam-bang ending of Gardens of the Moon, is a superior novel because of it's heart and soul. These are complex, troubled souls, admist a war and empire that is beginning to shake, and as the gods play their games, these humans and creatures set the stage of whatis to come...and in fact, seem to control the playing field in more than the gods do.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hard to Get Into

The first book took me about 300 pages to get into, I was hoping it wouldn't be more of the same with this one but it was. As the other reviewer says, the author does have a great imagination, but the book is really a grind.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Better than the original...

    The main players from Book 1, Gardens of the Moon, have split up. And this book follows the two Bridgeburners, Fiddler & Kalam as they go on their 'secret' mission, courtesy of the sly mind of Quick Ben. Along with them is Crokus, our lucky little thief, and Apsalar, the young fisherman's girl who's possession by Cotillion has still left her a cold-hearted killer. We also are introduced to Coltaine, the new fist, who's travails will become legend. And we meet Paran's younger sister, Felisin, who's own tale becomes the heart and soul of this book. This book is gigantic, compared to the first one, but so layered, textured and terrific. Unlike the confusion that some may have had with following Gardens of the Moon with it's lack of set-up and so many characters, this book is much more left to develop plot, characters, and you feel completely along a fantastic ride as 3 tales are told and woven like a great tapestry. Felisin's journey, Coltaine's march, Fiddler/Kalam/Apsalar/Crokus's search...these 3 tales are powerful, riveting, and a more larger tale is beginning to unravel. Book 2, though lacking the slam-bang ending of Gardens of the Moon, is a superior novel because of it's heart and soul. These are complex, troubled souls, admist a war and empire that is beginning to shake, and as the gods play their games, these humans and creatures set the stage of whatis to come...and in fact, seem to control the playing field in more than the gods do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    captivating and satisfying

    If you liked "Gardens of the Moon" you will love this 2nd book in the series. Good writing, excellent plot, 700+ pages to keep you spellbound.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Anonymous

    If you only read one fantasy series, read this one. Better than the wheel of time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tough read but well worth it

    I tried to read this a few years ago but only made it about 80 pages in. The magic/deck of dragons/ascendaents aspect of the book can be confusing. The second time around tho I had read the first book and it definetly helped. The story involves 4 different plot lines which eventually converge at the end. The end was very unexpected but well worth the time invested in it. I definetly recommend this book and the series to anyone who loves military and/or fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Hard to Get Into

    The first book took me about 300 pages to get into, I was hoping it wouldn't be more of the same with this one but it was. As the other reviewer says, the author does have a great imagination, but the book is really a grind.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Even Goodkind writes better!!

    I picked up the first 5 books on the recommendation of a friend. After the first book which I gave 2 stars and reviewed here I just couldn't continue with this series. I was 100 pages into Deadhouse Gates wanting to like it and asked myself, 'Why am I still reading this?'. I didn't care about a single flat character (they are all pretty flat). Why should I care if the Empire takes over everything in this barren world of boring characters? The land is poorly described and new characters with no background or description other than their names are thrown at you every page. It's a total mess. Shame on anyone for comparing Erikson to Martin or Jordan. What an absolute joke. I could write a better series. Erikson has a wild imagination at best, but he can't put it in an interesting or cohesive thread for the reader. Time to unload these at the used bookstore. I rarely give up on a series after investing so much time and money, but this is so bad I refuse to waste another minute.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    The Sage continues.

    Finaly another good writer that knows how to keep you entertained with a good story that's a lot different from many other books that are out there. This second novel seems to concentrate more on different persons but it al comes back to the same ones from the first novel. Keep them coming!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Better Than the First

    I loved Deadhouse Gates. The characters seemed to be more alive in this book, more realized. I loved the historian/soldier Dukier. And I was heartbroken towards the end when it came to his fate and the fate of Colatine. But my faith as a reader was renewed when the cloth was found in Dukier's clothing and a name was revealed. I can't wait for the next one!! And Feslin was among a favorite of mine, and I can't await the unveiling of Kalam's destiny. I hope that the end didn't hint that a few of the starring characters won't reappear in the next installment. I await with barely restrained patience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Yia

    Patrols here and moves on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    A refreshingly unique spin on fantasy is expanded further in book two...

    When I read "Gardens of the Moon", the first book in Erikson's Malazan series, I was blown away. There was so much going on, so many new approaches to the genre, I knew within a few chapters that I was in for a ride. "Deadhouse Gates" continues the story, following some of the characters from book one and introducing many others, as events unfold on a desert continent far away from the setting of the first book. Mr. Erikson is painting a broad picture, and I am looking forward to the third installment, as I have only two chapters left in this one. I highly recommend the Malazan Book of the Fallen to anyone who is looking for a brilliant, imaginative spin on the fantasy genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Love it

    I love how complex this book is. The whole series has me excited, and I can't wait to read Memories of Ice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Great stuff

    Erikson is amazing. This keeps getting better. On to the third book in the series for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Excellent story

    Highly recommend this story, great characters, thick plots, lots of surprises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Learn on the fly - good read

    Many names and terms to learn and remember as you read, but interestng complex novel. Like the characters and they are a diverse lot with many witty, humorous and deep personalities. Also, great battle/action scenes. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Excellent

    Very deep and well written series that rivals and surpasses the Jordan Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Start of an epic

    A masrterpiece!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Deadhouse Gates is the second book in the Malazan series and off

    Deadhouse Gates is the second book in the Malazan series and offers up another great story set in a world of impossible scope and depth. While this book could be read and enjoyed as a stand alone title, I would strongly suggest reading the books of the Malazan in order to get the most from them. If you are looking for a novel that holds your hand and explains every scene, every journey and every characters actions in exact detail this book is not for you. If instead you are looking for characters who are not always perfect, and for a world full of powers both mysterious and deadly then this book is definitely for you. Erikson leaves much to your imagination and leaves you constantly wondering what could possibly happen next. This is one of those wonderful books that you will find yourself thinking about at work in the middle of the day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing, in-depth character development

    This is the second book of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Steven Erickson. I found it to be much easier going than the first book (Gardens of the Moon).

    It picks up on another continent from the first book and introduces new characters who I grew to love just as quickly as I did the characters from Gardens of the Moon. It still centers around the Malazan Empire but this time it focuses on a brewing rebellion in the Seven Cities. Long occupied by the Malazan Empire, the native tribes have grown restless under Emperess Laseen's rule and a long-prophesied goddess of the desert has arrived in the aspect of the Whirlwind and has come to scour the land clean of conquerors.

    The book introduces more new characters in all walks of life in the Malazan Empire. Sadly we don't hear much of the Bridgeburners or the people of Dhrujistan, except for Fiddler, Kalam, Aspalar, and Crokus. However, making up for this fact are new characters.

    As the restless stirrings of the rebellion and the Whirlwind of the Holy Desert Raraku increase in intensity, much blood is shed. A competent, ruthless Fist of the Malazan Army is driven from the city and is forced to make a desperate march across thousands of leagues to safety. The army he leads is fractured and unruly, and he is additionally burdened with thousands of refugees that cannot fight and drain the resources of the group.

    Meanwhile, the Ascendants are mettling in mortal affairs once again, and the Holy Desert does not only hide the Whirlwind and her savage followers. A convergence is happening, with Soletaken and D'ivers coming to the desert to seek a path that may lead to a new ruler for the land, or its possible destruction.

    The plot is just as twisty, memorable, and detailed as the first book. The characters are lifelike, with real motivations and behaviors that make you care for them before you even realize it. Erickson still refuses to "explain" his world, instead immersing you in the details of his characters lives and adventures to build a tapestry of an incredibly complex world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    skip

    Do Not stop the story after reading this book. Deadhouse gates is labeled book 2 but also memories of ice can be read as book 2 also. Just two different stories going on at the same time/ Memories of ice is so much better. Don't bother with Dead House Gates. Go straight to Memories of Ice. The Malazan story is truly wonderful and breath taking. ENJOY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Dissapointment

    As the second installation it was a disappointment. Plot development was too slow, and seemed to drag on forever. Finally just put it down, something I rarely do. I won't bother with any others in this series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6