Customer Reviews for

Deadliest Lies: The Israel Lobby and the Myth of Jewish Control

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    paranoid, angry, propaganda rant

    This book fails the true moderate, open minded Jewish community. It does this by pretending that what the rest of the World sees as an unhealthy influence has no value. this book is with out the balance of moderate discourse. To compare criticisms of Israel's lobbying influence on the USA and the middle east as antisemitic, is in itself, racist. This book strikes me as more propaganda then thoughtful discussion. Very disappointing....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    comment on anti-semitic rhetoric

    As an Arab/semite I will say that I find Abraham Fox lying with a straight face to the public that he writes for. Unfortunately not a lot of Americans understand who is a semite and who is an anti-semite really is. The Jews of Foxman's type are far from being semitic in any way, shape, or form. The Jews of Europe which Foxman is a descendant of belonged to different ethnic and linguistic groups than the real semites did. The Jews of Europe becamse Jews roughly 900 years ago when one of their ancestors the king of Ashkanaz of the Kingdom of Ashkanaz in the Caucasus Region converted to the Jewsih religion. They are originally Eurasian. The Tatar Nation of Central Asia attacked and destroyed that kingdom and many of its citizens fled to mainland Europe especially Russia and Eastern Europe and some to Germany. There is nothing historically here that connects them to the holy land, they have no recent memory or direct ethnic connection to Palestine. They are racially European. One of their descendants founded an organization that sought to take over Palestine for greater and more complex reasons that this review would not allow me to do. Those new Jews of Europe were called Zionists a name that is borrowed from ancient Zion that means something that is historically ancient which should be the subject of a different review. Their political, economic, cultural and military objective is to occupy the land of Palestine and recreate a fals entity called Israel which is just a name for a colony that they founded with the help of powerful individuals, groups, organizations and some Western States that would have this 'Israel' ultimately serve as a foothold for Westrn imperial, cultural, economic, and political hegemony over the region of the Middle East. The Zionist European Jews have no link to Semitism, their customs and ideology is alien to the region, they do not naturally blend into the region. They are mostly of a European blood and ethnicity, Israel thus is a colony of European converted Jews who are not originally semitic but serve and function as a spearhead for Western domination and hegemony of the region. They were basically planted there. Israel throughout time is gaining validation and acceptance in the West. Their claims are buttressed by ignorance, sympathy, lack of knowldge and understanding of world history on the part of citizens of the West who have throughout time became radical supporters of this new alien entity 'Israel'. Israel in its creation tried very hard to destroy Palestinian history and create a new false history that would convince many around the world of its claim to the land. There is absolutely no evidence of a Solomon Temple or any of this. Solomon was a real semite and not of a European ethnicity or blood or cultural background, so was Abraham, and Issac and the rest. As an Arab/semite I struggled to explain my view to many Americans who have a hard time understanding this critical point which would in my opinion make all the difference. Palestine is a stolen land by European Jews who are not originally semites. I hope that this review is published and not intentionally removed by the assessors.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Credibility problem

    Yesterday, I watched a CSPAN recording of the book signing event at Barnes&Noble in New York in September 2007 where Foxman introduced his new book. He made some interesting points about how historically, questioning the loyalty of jews to the country they live in has been linked to antisemitism. I was compelled by his views until during the Q&A session, Foxman claimed that Israel received $1 billion while Egypt received $2 billion from the U.S. Reviewing the budget of the USAID government agency on its web site, I could easily verify that Israel received $2.3 billion in military aid in 2007 alone. In additon, the U.S. government has guaranteed $12 billion in loans to Israel. This contradiction ruined it for me, made me question Foxman's integrity, and actually made me lean more towards the other side that suggests that the Israel lobby has something to hide.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Predictably biased

    This book is shallow and predictably biased, the author should be ashamed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Different Book, Same Hyperbole

    Reading this book reminds me of the Upton Sinclair quote: 'It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his job depends on not understanding it.' Foxman's arguements and 'rebuttals' are flawed at best and blatantly dishonest at worst. The author often claims factual information with no citation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Biased, Sophmoric,Predictable and Flip

    Glad I didn't purchase but obtained at Library.Foxman's usual jeremiad about anything HE deems as anti-Israel. You've heard all the arguments before so nothing illuminating in this platitudinous hastily written nonsense castigating Walt and Mearsheimer'studied examination on the effectivenss and power of AIPAC on U.S. foreign policy vis-a-vis Israel. To Foxman's credit the book is adding nicely to his bank account...just go to the library or book store and give it a cursory overview and save your money. The title, 'Deadliest Lies' gives it away. Why would W and M be perpetrating something 'deadly', they are simply looking for a fair airing of a powerful influence in U.S. policy, a very legitimate and necessary excercize.The title exposes Foxman's use of hyberbole, omission and superficiality in his overheated and unsophisticated blandishments. Nothing creative, entertaining or educational in 'Deadliest Lies' but knock yourself out and waste time looking for the meagerly crumbs he offers.What's the opposite of anti-Semitism??? This book is the unresoned epitome of anti-anti-Semitism...enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    A must read

    Foxman presents a serious and intellectually honest approach to the recent literature on the 'Israel Lobby'. Having read both Carter's book and the Walt/Mearsheimer paper, I sincerely appreciate the truth this book represents.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Abe could have done better ...

    Poorly written. Flawed logic and poor arguments. Dissapointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    Let common sense prevail

    This is a response to the book recently published by Mearsheimer and Walt about the Israel lobby. I've read that book and Foxman's book. Foxman's book is a must read if you truly want to have a sensible and rational view of the Israel lobby and Israel's difficult place in the world. After reading Foxman's book, as well as other criticisms of Mearsheimer and Walt's book, I banished M and W's book to the trash. I'm particular about the books I put on my shelf, and there is no place for the shoddy, biased account of Israel/US relations that M and W pass off as scholarly research. I urge anyone who has been swayed by Mearsheimer and Walt, or any of the other so-called academics who go out of their way to spread good old-fashioned Israel hatred, to read Foxman's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    unbalanced and rushed

    Hi - While somewhat interesting, this book missed the mark on many points and does not appear to back up many of the author's claims with citations. While I can understand Foxman's reaction to Mearshseimer et al, I expected more from a person of his caliber. This book is a reactionary dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Execellent Rebuttal

    Foxman does an excellent job of deconstructing the Walt and Mearsheimer book. It exposes point for point each of Walt and Mearsheimer's baseless allegations. Well researched and documented, with more than a little common sense added.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1