BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadline

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Dear Chris Crutcher, You're the MAN !

Chris Crutcher is the Big Kahuna when it comes to young adult reality and he once again has proven his Kahunaness with Deadline! In this Crutcher classic you have all of his signature themes sports, teenage life, a close nit community, a complex growing problem, vulgar...
Chris Crutcher is the Big Kahuna when it comes to young adult reality and he once again has proven his Kahunaness with Deadline! In this Crutcher classic you have all of his signature themes sports, teenage life, a close nit community, a complex growing problem, vulgarity, and a buffet of real world problems that most individuals wouldn¿t dare think about much less write about. Ben Wolf, a 123 pound 18 year old, is entering his senior year of high school knowing he¿s going to die and more than likely before he graduates. Everything in Ben¿s life is suddenly flung into categories, of heroic and average, that are begging him to go out a legend and not just another casualty of repetition and the regular 9-5. His predicament puts a new spin on his life taking him from supposed lock for podium placement at cross country state to the most dangerous 123 pound football player ever, he decides there is no better time to go after the most mysterious and most beautiful girl in school then when you literally have nothing to lose, and he finds a hidden gem in self satisfying community service of help cleaning up the ¿town drunk. Crutcher writes as if he is a teenager and I swear every time I turn to the back inside page and read his credentials it always shocks me to find out that he¿s not. The voice and tone of this book really come straight from the mind a 18 year old whether it is Ben¿s struggle of understanding the mechanics of relationships or feeling as if he can handle everything life throws at him on his own. Crutcher hooks you in in every possible way and answers every question that needs to be answered and leaves every question that doesn¿t up to you and when the ending hits you¿ll feel as if you never knew it was coming. Deadline doesn¿t just leave you thinking what would I do if I had only one more year to live it leaves you with many more serious areas of concern that every young adult should examine. What those areas are though you¿ll just have to read and find out.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Kait thinks...

It's written in terms that i have to re-read over and over to understand it. And it's been really hard to get into and follow for that matter. I can't give a too harsh review all because i haven't read the whole thing but normally i can read a book of that size within a...
It's written in terms that i have to re-read over and over to understand it. And it's been really hard to get into and follow for that matter. I can't give a too harsh review all because i haven't read the whole thing but normally i can read a book of that size within a few days and i've had this book for a few weeks and only spent an hour reading it because it's like i have to force myself. I'm only on chapter 4!!!! It's just dissapointing, it looks really good.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Dear Chris Crutcher, You're the MAN !

    Chris Crutcher is the Big Kahuna when it comes to young adult reality and he once again has proven his Kahunaness with Deadline! In this Crutcher classic you have all of his signature themes sports, teenage life, a close nit community, a complex growing problem, vulgarity, and a buffet of real world problems that most individuals wouldn¿t dare think about much less write about. Ben Wolf, a 123 pound 18 year old, is entering his senior year of high school knowing he¿s going to die and more than likely before he graduates. Everything in Ben¿s life is suddenly flung into categories, of heroic and average, that are begging him to go out a legend and not just another casualty of repetition and the regular 9-5. His predicament puts a new spin on his life taking him from supposed lock for podium placement at cross country state to the most dangerous 123 pound football player ever, he decides there is no better time to go after the most mysterious and most beautiful girl in school then when you literally have nothing to lose, and he finds a hidden gem in self satisfying community service of help cleaning up the ¿town drunk. Crutcher writes as if he is a teenager and I swear every time I turn to the back inside page and read his credentials it always shocks me to find out that he¿s not. The voice and tone of this book really come straight from the mind a 18 year old whether it is Ben¿s struggle of understanding the mechanics of relationships or feeling as if he can handle everything life throws at him on his own. Crutcher hooks you in in every possible way and answers every question that needs to be answered and leaves every question that doesn¿t up to you and when the ending hits you¿ll feel as if you never knew it was coming. Deadline doesn¿t just leave you thinking what would I do if I had only one more year to live it leaves you with many more serious areas of concern that every young adult should examine. What those areas are though you¿ll just have to read and find out.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best I've read in a While

    I read this book in one sitting, the first time I opened it. It is such an emotional book, and I ended the book crying. But, this book has made me think about how I view life and how I treat people. It changed how I see everything, and I recommend it to all of my friends. I'm sure if you give this book a chance, you'll love it to.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    It Was Okay...

    I really liked the attitude Ben Wolf had throughout the book. Though for someone like me I wasn't interested in all the football action, but as far as the side story having the situation with his mom and dad.
    Also his relationship with Dallas Suzuki was a little dry in the beginning, but later when she finally told him what her secret was I was absorbed in the book because it only added to the difficulty he had and the challenge it would later turn out to be.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Meaningful Book

    This book, unlike a lot of teen fiction, really meant something to me once I finished reading. I thought the book looked interesting when I first picked it up, but after reading it I was so attached to the characters that the story was extremely meaningful and got me thinking about a lot of stuff I hadn't thought about before. Thank you, Chris Crutcher, for dealing with important ideas that a lot of writers skirt around.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Amazing

    It is a amazing book. We just got done reading in school it was a great book and made some of us cry in class which never happens when we read books in class. So i deffently think that everyone should read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    AMAZING

    This book is by far my favorite book. I wish that there was a sequel for this book. It had me hooke after day one and i re-read it twice. I can't seem to find any other book like it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    What if you only had one year to live-and you knew it?

    Senior year is exciting. Most want to get as much done as they can, and have fun before they go off to college. Things are a little different for Ben Wolf. When Ben's doctor tells him he has a rare blood disease and only has one year to live, Ben says no to treatment and tries to do everything he ever wanted. This book was a great read, and didn't dissapoint me with the ending. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants a novel that will make you laugh, but also make you really think.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Completely Amazing

    This Book was hands-down one of the best books I have ever read, and I read a lot. It was super clever, and unlike any book I've ever read. The plot was unique, the writting was superb. I absolutly fell in love with the main character, and even though you know that he has to die at the end (if you've read the overview, you'll know that I'm not giving anything away here) I was completely torn up. Read this book, it will change your life. I finished reading it two weeks ago and I can stop thinking about it. It's just one of those books that sticks with you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    Deadline! ..I like the book Deadline by Chris Crutcher because i

    Deadline!
    ..I like the book Deadline by Chris Crutcher because it was suspenseful . One reason that Deadline is suspenseful is because the Doctor says to ben “otherwise you’ll be lucky to have a year”.The second reason the Deadline is suspenseful  is in the beginning you do not know if Ben makes the sports team or graduates high school.The last but final reason is that you do not know if the doctor is right or wrong or finds a cure and you do not know if ben will stay alive or just dies.this is why i like Deadline by Chris Crutcher because it was suspenseful and the three reason were what the Doctor says, if he graduates high school or sports team, and does he die or live. 
     Chrisgchms14 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Greatest Book I've Read

    This is such a great book. I have read it twice and I am about to read it again. I would love to see this book made into a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    I can't even begin to tell you how emotional and inspirationonal

    I can't even begin to tell you how emotional and inspirationonal this book was... Total must read! After I finished reading it (and bawling my eyes out), I sat back and really thought about how short life can be... You know? It just made me look at things in a completely different aspect. Besides the messge, which I've already conveyed I loved, the overall story was fantastic too. With his growing relationship with Dallas, his newfound friendship with Rudy, and his already broken family, you can't help but think how it's going to end all the way throught. It's just one of those books that makes you think, and personally, I love those books. Romance, comedy, family, and football- what's not to love?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Pretty good!

    This was a choice for one of my lit circle books for school. It's really good! The ending is kind of surprising...
    every once in a while, the author says things oddly and it confuses me... but overall, its a really good book! I read it in a couple days-couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    The book starts out with Ben Wolf getting news that he has a blo

    The book starts out with Ben Wolf getting news that he has a blood illness, that is leaving him about a year to live. When he finds this out, he tells pretty much no one. Not his mom, dad, brother, friends, only his therapist, and hey-soos. In his mind, Ben realizes he has nothing to loose, and joins the school's football team his little brother plays on. Later on in the story you learn about Dallas, Ben's crush, who he eventually gets to know very well in the story. As the illness start to kick in, Ben decides it's time to tell, first Dallas, that does not deal with it very well, making him and completely ignoring him. Then his mom, dad, and brother, that just like any family member would do, cry. The ending of the book I really did like, it ended happy,and funny. I would recommend this book to any person who likes football because a lot of the book involves it, or really anyone. Some parts in the book doget confusing and you have to re-read them, but bsides that, I liked the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    You Better Sit Down.

    Ben Wolf, your average small-town high school senior is dying. He has been diagnosed with a terminal blood disease at his cross-country physical and has less then a year to live. So he immediately tells all of his family and friends and begins treatment, the chances of living are very slim but it's the best choice. Except he doesn't. He decides to live out his one year life and not tell anyone about his disease in hopes that he will be able to live this last year normal. This choice is much to the dismay of Ben's doctor and therapist, but it's his choice because he's eighteen and an adult by law.

    Ben decides go out for football. He also decides to start questioning his social studies teacher, Mr. Lambeer. Ben thinks that Mr. Lambeer is full of crap in his teaching and doesn't actually teach the important things. Ben also decides to go after Dallas Suzuki, who has been a crush of Ben for quite sometime. Quite to his surprise, Ben prospers on the football field, gets Mr. Lambeer to question himself, and goes to homecoming with Dallas. This is soon forgotten when Ben is on his deathbed. Read this book to learn about Ben's trying experience and how he gets through telling his family, and Dallas, the girl Ben loves about his disease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Slow at the start, but very much worth it.

    This book did not pull me in right away. I was seriously considering giving up on it, especially during the football-heavy parts, which, as someone who knows absolutely nothing about football, I found terribly confusing and kind of boring. But I stuck with it, and a little further in, I found myself completely hooked. Everyone from Ben to Cody to Dallas to Rudy to Sooner Cowans was completely original and quirky and multifaceted, making this one of the most interesting, heartfelt books I've read in a while. And, I will admit, I was in tears by the end, which isn't common for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Read!!!!!

    This book was really good. The ending was amazing and in my opinion skillfully layed out. I love this book!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Okay

    I loved it, but it was a little disappointing. The whole tone of the stoty is just so lively and it just seems like it would end up like that queen latifa movie 'last holiday' where it all ends up being a big mix up. Hes must givem,n so many oppurtunities and it all comes to the sad ending. It was good and it makes you think, but the ending leaves a little to be desired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a really great book, if you are like me and you like staying up late reading because you cant put the book down then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Kait thinks...

    It's written in terms that i have to re-read over and over to understand it. And it's been really hard to get into and follow for that matter. I can't give a too harsh review all because i haven't read the whole thing but normally i can read a book of that size within a few days and i've had this book for a few weeks and only spent an hour reading it because it's like i have to force myself. I'm only on chapter 4!!!! It's just dissapointing, it looks really good.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    im obsessed with books so i bought this one. [dur] anyways i started reading it the beginning was kinda slow but it got much better :]. you should read it. i love how ben leaves his mark on the world. Good Book. you should read it :]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9