BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadline (Newsflesh Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Engrossing Sci-Fi Thriller

Set in a near future world plagued by zombies and beset by a somewhat unpredictable zombie virus, this book spins an engrossing scientific thriller of a tale. It features very humanized characters struggling to uncover a conspiracy that keeps the human population terror...
Set in a near future world plagued by zombies and beset by a somewhat unpredictable zombie virus, this book spins an engrossing scientific thriller of a tale. It features very humanized characters struggling to uncover a conspiracy that keeps the human population terrorized and the zombies multiplying. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers and/or zombies and/or science fiction, (particularly medical science fiction), and/or a damned good story.

I loved reading Deadline. It's one of the best mid-trilogy books I've read. The narrative is quickly paced and transitions smoothy from action to suspense to emotionally engaging scenes. The traits of the zombie virus are intricate, surprising and interesting. The extent of the conspiracy slowly unfolds with many unpredictable twists. A surprise ending awaits anyone who reads this book. Even though I usually hate cliffhanger endings, I loved this one!

The main character, Shaun, is very sympathetic. I mourned the death of his adoptive sister Georgia a/k/a George along with him. He's a very real character that anyone, regardless of sex, can relate to. The virtual character of Shaun's dead sister, Georgia Mason, who resides in Shaun's head is distinct and intriguing. And, the supporting characters, particularly Shaun's team of bloggers, are quirky, entertaining and engaging.

With the exception of having to wait another year for the release of the last installment "Blackout," there is no downside to reading this book.

posted by dalnewt on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

More spoilers....

Can u guys ease up on the long reviews?....its annoying. I know you want to try and "wow" the nook world with your super writing abilites. But if i wanted a real critcs review id hop over to the editorial tab...i come to this tab to get a sweet and simple review...not 5...
Can u guys ease up on the long reviews?....its annoying. I know you want to try and "wow" the nook world with your super writing abilites. But if i wanted a real critcs review id hop over to the editorial tab...i come to this tab to get a sweet and simple review...not 5 paragraphs of annoying spoilers...

posted by 6426170 on June 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing Sci-Fi Thriller

    Set in a near future world plagued by zombies and beset by a somewhat unpredictable zombie virus, this book spins an engrossing scientific thriller of a tale. It features very humanized characters struggling to uncover a conspiracy that keeps the human population terrorized and the zombies multiplying. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers and/or zombies and/or science fiction, (particularly medical science fiction), and/or a damned good story.

    I loved reading Deadline. It's one of the best mid-trilogy books I've read. The narrative is quickly paced and transitions smoothy from action to suspense to emotionally engaging scenes. The traits of the zombie virus are intricate, surprising and interesting. The extent of the conspiracy slowly unfolds with many unpredictable twists. A surprise ending awaits anyone who reads this book. Even though I usually hate cliffhanger endings, I loved this one!

    The main character, Shaun, is very sympathetic. I mourned the death of his adoptive sister Georgia a/k/a George along with him. He's a very real character that anyone, regardless of sex, can relate to. The virtual character of Shaun's dead sister, Georgia Mason, who resides in Shaun's head is distinct and intriguing. And, the supporting characters, particularly Shaun's team of bloggers, are quirky, entertaining and engaging.

    With the exception of having to wait another year for the release of the last installment "Blackout," there is no downside to reading this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Great book but 1 date error...

    Georgia died in 2040/2041, not 2032. Date error in the book can confuse u. But aside from that this sequal was well worth the wait!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    This woman can write!

    I read book one, FEED, and was on the computer to buy this book immediately.

    Especailly for the second of a trilogy, DEADLINE is an excellent book. Reality stretches a bit more in this volume, but not to unbelievable lengths. It has action, horrid revelations, and more action. And a mystery develops as the characters look for answers.

    There will be a third.

    Waiting...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!!

    I need the next book!!!! Deadline left a big cliffhanger and I am on the edge, holding on with one hand!!! This series is good!!! Zombies, conspiracy theories, medical break through, this book as it all and memorable characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Fun Read!! Rocommended!!

    I just began book #3. It is a unique look at the zombie genre from the point of view after the "Zombie Apocalypse". Some interesting virology in explaining the "zombie" and a great take on what our lives may be like living in a state of constant fear. If you're into zombies and just want a fun read, you'll enjoy these books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Could barely put it down. Slightly disappointed at the super cliffhanger but only two days to wait for the last book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Best Read this year

    Read it. You won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great+book

    Loved+the+first+book+and+this+is+just+as+good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second futuristic Newsflash Mason Zombie thriller is a fabulous suspense tale

    In 2032 Georgia Mason became infected with the zombie Kellis-Amberlee virus (see Feed) that has run wild for decades. Humans have survived by following specific safety guidelines like extremely tiny windows in which a gnat would not find easy egress. However with all they did, the co-blogger of Postcards from the Wall caught the disease due to CDC infecting her and is now dead. Though almost a decade later, her blogging bother Shaun believes he might as well be too though what keeps him alive is talking inside his head to his dead sister; which he knows makes him certifiable even in a land filled with zombies.

    CDC Dr. Kelly Connolly visits Mason. He muses the last time they met was when she delivered his sister's ashes to him and the time before that was when the siblings were accused of amplification. George tells him to ignore history and talk with her. Kelly wants his blogging crew to investigate a new development in the Kellis-Amberlee; research as scientists are dying at an alarming rate. She faked her death to get to him and his news crew. As George orders him to lead the inquiry, Mason thinks his sister is unfair as he just wants the cause of death for CDC being Shaun Mason.

    The second futuristic Newsflash Mason Zombie thriller is a fabulous suspense tale that grips the audience even before the prime story line begins. Aptly titled, Deadline contains a super twisting plot and a strong cast including the late Georgia. Readers will enjoy this dark biting thriller as readers wonder what the truth is when the media and the agencies charged with protecting the public manipulate, omit and often lie.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Highly worth it

    new respect for zombies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Was not expecting this! Absolutely fun and enthralling!

    Was not expecting this! Absolutely fun and enthralling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Epic

    OMG never read this book for that I came back home to read it my friend said it was really good So im hopeing to read it today
    :O what love is real quick and I have a temperature in my friend said to fax we get the books I can read the whole thing happened on the way to say hello yes I am just so I don't know and tell the girls and I hope you are ready for your end A & M stand for what is a bit of a panic a big FedEx 4 & A & M stand for polo ponies love scene for a team Pilates poor taste for the Coopers games for the scenes helping the Coopers boring games Fallbrook hey doll how are far away Falke home excellent oldgnhhb call hey are you are enjoying fall call people to prank call excellent call Jenna hello call a how are you are you are enjoying fall call people prefer call excellent call building whole call a how are you you are horrible horrible for a call excellent call building s A all all call app for all for real all yes no app what does a fast way sera sera

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    This is a great series. Absolutely not what I expected from a series about "zombies". Amazing world building and character development. She made me really care what happened to her characters. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Great series...

    Definitely worth reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Decent

    Book/story is generally really good. I like the series. My main problem is with the over the top profanity. We get it - the characters are in dire situations. Used as an occasional exclamation, it would be okay. But it is rampant throughout, making one wonder if the author knows of no other ways to have her characters punctuate remarks, situations, etc. It distracts from the story and makes for a frustrating read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    love it!!!!

    love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Excellent

    Fantastic second book and only stopped reading the third to tell you to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Great series

    See my review for Blackout

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    The review for the book ┬┐Deadline┬┐ If you are zombie fun, it is

    The review for the book ¿Deadline¿
    If you are zombie fun, it is the series for you to read. There are so many zombie book in the world, for this one, I can say it is the best. The ¿resident evil¿is like Kobe Bryant. so does¿Deadline¿During you reading the book, story will bring you into it, you will feel you are taking the adventure and surviving with the characters, All I can say is I can't wait for the sequel. You can't miss it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10