Customer Reviews for

Deadline

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still a great read!

I read this book when it was first published, on the recommendation of a friend. Although a bit rough to get into, after page 75, it takes off & I didn't want to put it down. The three main characters set up the scenario for me to decide where I was in my belief system...
I read this book when it was first published, on the recommendation of a friend. Although a bit rough to get into, after page 75, it takes off & I didn't want to put it down. The three main characters set up the scenario for me to decide where I was in my belief system, and by the end of the book, my faith became better grounded & my view of Heaven & eternity more important. The fact that Alcorn includes a kind of "apology" in the back explaining that his fictional accounts were based on scripture, helped me to use my imagination to think about what my view of what Heaven would be like! Since reading this book, I've purchased over 10 copies & given them away to friends & even a pastor. For someone who LOVES mystery who-done-its w/ a focus on the earthly & the spiritual, this is a must-read! It will change your focus, choices & your life.

posted by Prayer-warrior on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

I finished reading Deadline only by forcing myself. This book is mostly the authors opinions on abortions, AIDs, and homosexuality with a poorly authored plot around it. I will not be able to force myself to read Dominion.

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still a great read!

    I read this book when it was first published, on the recommendation of a friend. Although a bit rough to get into, after page 75, it takes off & I didn't want to put it down. The three main characters set up the scenario for me to decide where I was in my belief system, and by the end of the book, my faith became better grounded & my view of Heaven & eternity more important. The fact that Alcorn includes a kind of "apology" in the back explaining that his fictional accounts were based on scripture, helped me to use my imagination to think about what my view of what Heaven would be like! Since reading this book, I've purchased over 10 copies & given them away to friends & even a pastor. For someone who LOVES mystery who-done-its w/ a focus on the earthly & the spiritual, this is a must-read! It will change your focus, choices & your life.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    Not impressed

    I finished reading Deadline only by forcing myself. This book is mostly the authors opinions on abortions, AIDs, and homosexuality with a poorly authored plot around it. I will not be able to force myself to read Dominion.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    Thought Provoking

    I've just finished re-reading Deadline and was again reminded of how the choices in this life affect our eternal life! This book challenges me to make every moment count, evaluate every 'truth' with scripture, and to long for my real home.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Awesome!

    This is the absolute best book I have ever read. It is so touching it made me cry, laugh, and more importantly think. Randy Alcorn does a wonderful job of portraying the charaters. A wonderful Christian novel. I couldn't put it down. I strongly recomend that everyone read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    This is the greatest book I have ever read

    I loved this book! The characters are wonderful and the book is so full of hope. Great Christian theme with excellent adventure storyline. I will read this one over and over again!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Preachy ... but a good ending nonetheless

    This was a fairly entertaining book but I can't say that I couldn't put it down. Still, I thought the ending was definitely better than average. I felt that this book, like other Christian fiction (especially the Left Behind series), suffers from a deplorable excess of preaching, thinly veiled by a neglected plot. For example, Alcorn repeatedly beats the dead horse of abortion hoping that the sheer volume will win you over. For future reference, I think better and more influentional fiction would be slightly more subtle (and less repetitive) in addressing an issue. Not just for the sake of those who disagree with your point but also for those who agree.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Flimsy plot used to cover author's "spiritual" beliefs

    The book as so slow moving and so filled with the author's belief system that the plot suffered terribly. I could barely force myself to finish it.

    I'm glad deleting it was so easy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling

    A must-read for every person. This book provides great insight and perspective on society's (man's) struggle with contemporary issues. Wish this was mandatory reading for all college students (and reporters). Starts off a bit slow with a lot of detailed information about each character, but builds up to a fast-paced, thriller of a plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    One Of The Best Novels Ever Written!

    This novel delivers everything you could want from a novel. Amazing characters, real-world situations, and a fascinating plot make this novel a must read. Randy Alcorn may have created the perfect novel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    Mind boggling!

    I just finished reading line and i was amazed at the wounderful description of people, places, and feelings that are enclosed in this amazing book. this was one of the first books I have read that made me think of things in a different perspective in which would eventually leave me to the same conclution. Jesus!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    Fantastic reading and Life Changing

    Deadline is the most inspirational and uplifting book that I have ever read. It has certainly challenged alot of my thinking and has helped me to change my life in many ways that can not be listed here. I implore any person who has any belief in Jesus Christ to pick this book up and read it. You will be cry, laugh and be moved by the message within. Thankyou Randy Alcorn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Deadline by Randy Allcorn

    This book was very good. It was a true page turner. There was never any section that did not keep me on the edge of my seat. Randy Allcorn is a wonderful author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Deadline

    Wow! Couldn't put this book down. Very thought provoking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Politically Correct Society - WATCH OUT!

    This book has it all - every social issue is covered in this one. Just when you think everything has been addressed, you turn the page and there's another one you hadn't thought of. As always, Randy Alcorn writes a very captivating story while helping the reader find God's truth. As always, I loved the book but hated the ending. It's not really the ending that I hate - it's the fact that it ended! I can't wait to get "Deception" where the story continues.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended - one of my favorite works of fiction ever

    This has to be one of my favorite works of fiction ever. My copy is tattered, the cover has fallen off, and it has been read by me at least half a dozen times.

    This is one of those special books that makes you cry, laugh, and worry all in one chapter. One of the books that will be picked up again and again.

    The storyline is understandable, intense, & solid, but not at all predictable (that is a plus, for those of you who are wondering). The characters are very real, believable, and human. The Biblical messages are prominent without being preachy or drawn out.


    Randy Alcorn does a wonderful job of combining suspense with emotion, people with plot, and message with drama.

    9 out of 10 stars. Highly recommended.

    Note: Not for children. Parents should pre-read before allowing this to be read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    WOW!

    The characters were so beleivable... all true feelings of the awakening of the soul! I know people just like Jake (that were just like me) that I am going to give this book. I loved the images of Heaven! It made me long even more for a 'Well done good and faithful servant'! So beautifully written... I am a new reader to Alcorn and look forward to reading his others... just started Dominion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Thought provoking and Amazing

    This book was fantastic, I couldn't put it down. As an avid reader, especially fiction, I have read many books and this is one of the best. The characters, plot, and controversy in the book are captivating. I can't wait to buy and read Dominion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    wonderful

    this book is wonderful! i recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Awesome!

    This is one of the BEST books I have ever read! The characters are people that we know or know of and though written 7 years ago it is RELEVANT today and has ANSWERS to tough questions! Am I ever glad that I hurriedly grabbed it off the library shelf to take on vacation with me. It was the highlight of the trip!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book attacks the concept of political correctness and the h

    This book attacks the concept of political correctness and the hypocritical quicksand of "moral relativism" by weaving a tale of suspense and intrigue into the everyday life of a liberal newspaper reporter. The book hooks you from the beginning, with a story about three friends on a typical Sunday afternoon watching football and tossing a coin to see who will drive to get the pizza at halftime. The coin lands and stays on its side! All three pile into the car to go get the pizza. On their way back, there is a terrible accident.
    Deadline is a gripping page turner about three best friends from boyhood through their days in the war are caught in a car accident on a rainy day in Oregon as they drive home from a pizza shop. The story picks up with one of the three, Jake, the reporter, awaking in the hospital and finding out that it was no accident. Thus begins a journey during which his popular beliefs about life, meaning and morality are challenged in a very personal way.

    Randy Alcorn navigates through several modern issues with interesting characters, a well-written story, and provides enough twists and turns to keep the reader interested a look at life through Jake's eyes and his changing perspective. Whether you believe in Heaven and live with an eternal perspective or not, this book is a great read. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a mystery and wants to know something about absolute truth. The story was in the details. I was completely taken by surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6