Customer Reviews for

Deadline

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still a great read!

I read this book when it was first published, on the recommendation of a friend. Although a bit rough to get into, after page 75, it takes off & I didn't want to put it down. The three main characters set up the scenario for me to decide where I was in my belief system...
I read this book when it was first published, on the recommendation of a friend. Although a bit rough to get into, after page 75, it takes off & I didn't want to put it down. The three main characters set up the scenario for me to decide where I was in my belief system, and by the end of the book, my faith became better grounded & my view of Heaven & eternity more important. The fact that Alcorn includes a kind of "apology" in the back explaining that his fictional accounts were based on scripture, helped me to use my imagination to think about what my view of what Heaven would be like! Since reading this book, I've purchased over 10 copies & given them away to friends & even a pastor. For someone who LOVES mystery who-done-its w/ a focus on the earthly & the spiritual, this is a must-read! It will change your focus, choices & your life.

posted by Prayer-warrior on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

I finished reading Deadline only by forcing myself. This book is mostly the authors opinions on abortions, AIDs, and homosexuality with a poorly authored plot around it. I will not be able to force myself to read Dominion.

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    This by far is one of my favorite books I loaned my copy and gave copies for different kinds of gifts to friends and family. When a Bible Book Store I always look and/ask about this book. Telling the store employee or owner about it and why I found it a book everyone should have in their personal library. I now also have it on my nook - as it is one I have read more than once and will read agaon.
    This book has it all - mystery, suspense, friendship and a Godly foundation.
    Take my challenge an see if you find it as thought provoking and lasting as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

     Deadline is a gripping page turner.     Three best friends from

     Deadline is a gripping page turner.
        Three best friends from boyhood through their days in the war are caught in a car accident on a rainy day in Oregon as they drive home from a pizza shop: a Christian businessman, Finn, an adulterous relativist, Doc, who is head of surgery at the local clinic, and a secular liberal journalist, Jake.
        The only one who survives is Jake, the journalist.
        The accident was murder, however. The tie rods in the car were cut. Someone was being targeted.
      
         Was it Finn, who was a passionate Christian and who fought in the battle for pro-life, so committed that he opened his home to unwed girls so they could have a safe pregnancy? Many people hated Finn for these activities, and Jake's own home newspaper had often misrepresented him. Jake didn't often agree with this kind and gentle man, but Jake admired his loving family and solid character: Finn left behind his beloved wife, a little son who had down syndrome and a much worn Bible.


    Was it Doc? Doc lived more like Jake did, except that Jake's adultery had ended his marriage and left him estranged from his seventeen year old daughter Carly. Doc's life looked both good and terrible from the outside. He was always the head of everything, respected, and popular, yet his wife and daughter lived with broken hearts from his adultery, and Jake could see the wounds it left. Who would kill Doc? Jake knew Doc as well as he knew himself, and Doc was a "good" man... but did Jake really know him, and was he a good man?


     Jake and Detective Ollie Chandler begin to investigate, and Jake's convictions about almost everything are shaken to the bone.
        Jake's life is at risk as he continues the investigation, now aided by two men who profess to be FBI agents and swear him to secrecy.


    Who will he believe? Who can he trust? Who is the killer?
    The biggest question Jake must answer is Is there Truth?


      Watching the life leave his friend Finn in the ICU reminds this journalist that his final Deadline is coming. Jake has always been able to meet his 11:30, 800 word deadline (sometimes at 11:50), but the deadline of his life will leave the article written with no edits left to make.
    God himself is getting a hold of Jake.



     Meanwhile, from Heaven, Finn watches Jake below in the dark world, praying fervently that his Jake will come to know the LORD whom Finn now worships face to face.




        Finn's beautiful passage from his broken body in the ICU into the Joy of His Lord is written in Deadline. My family, listening as I read, loved this part. Finn's conversations with his guardian angel were a thrill for me to read. Scripture says that the angels earnestly desire to peek into God's mystery of redemption, they are servants of God and exist to do His bidding amongst men on earth and in Heaven.
    When the angel told Finn that he wished he were a human, for humans are made in the LORD's very, this truth washed over me. The knowledge that these powerful beings, angels, wish to be human as I am, because God made us in His Image is amazing to me.
        When Finn was allowed to witness the formation of his first grandbaby's DNA, tears came to my eyes. This is what a pre born baby is, a miraculous, wondrous, creation of God.
    These scenes from Heavens view were good to read, they help us imagine our Real Home.








         My favorite part of this gripping page turner were the themes explored as Jake searches for the Truth. This book was loaded with these themes. As a liberal columnist, Jake supported euthanasia, abortion, divorce, sex education, diversity, multiculturalism and self determined morality. He attended sensitivity training, and yet his opinion column attacked right wing fundamentalists each week.
    "Tolerance for everyone else, intolerance for pro-life Christians" was the unspoken pledge for this writer at The Tribune, and with journalism gagged by tolerance the paper was becoming a special interest newsletter- and Jake knew it.
    So many of his cherished beliefs had started to producing their fruit in the life of his child...his ex-wife and daughter need him like never before.




    As Jake and Ollie investigate the crime, Jake is shown things he never expected.
    Bonds he thought were bonds of honest friendship were lies, and things were not what they seemed. People whom he thought he knew were putting up a false front, and living a deadly other life.




       As he comes face to face with questions he had dodged all of his life Jake is forced to change his mind about most things. Discussions in the newsroom and with his daughter give us a look at the world through the eyes of a journalist used to getting his story and backing up his own opinion. He is the perfect character to explore these themes through.




    For a mystery and a look at life through Jake's eyes and his changing perspective, Deadline is a book I recommend.
    I was glad this book was 400 pages long. Long books are good. I am glad I received Deadline from Waterbrook Blogging for Books to write this review.




    As a final note, this review was written in Blogger's Normal Times font. You will understand why I mentioned this when you read Deadline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Randy Alcorn in his new book, ¿Deadline¿ Book One in the Ollie C

    Randy Alcorn in his new book, “Deadline” Book One in the Ollie Chandler series published by Multnomah Books brings us into the life of Jake Woods.

    From the back cover: His Body Hung Suspended Between Two Friends–His Soul Between Two Worlds

    Doc’s shoulder jammed into Jake as he swerved the Suburban sharply to the right, cut between a telephone pole and a billboard, then careened into a ten-foot high embankment. Sometime between the sound of Doc’s last cry and the sickening crunch of bent metal from the car’s first roll, Jake lost consciousness. The last sensation he felt was that of being crushed between the two men he had known since childhood…

    When tragedy strikes those closest to him, award-winning journalist Jake Woods must draw upon all his resources to uncover the truth about their suspicious accident. Soon he finds himself swept up in a murder investigation that is both complex and dangerous. Unaware of the threat to his own life, Jake is drawn in deeper and deeper as he desperately searches for the answers to the immediate mystery at hand and—ultimately—the deeper meaning of his own existence.

    Deadline is a dramatic and vivid novel of substance, filled with hope and perspective for every reader who longs to feel purpose in life.

    “Deadline” is more than a murder investigation thriller. Randy Alcorn explores Heaven not as a theory but as a real place being visited by one of the characters. Mr. Alcorn takes on social issues in this book all the while keeping us riveted as the murder investigation continues. Jake Woods survived the murder attempt and, as a journalist, he works to discover just who it was that wanted him and his friends dead. In the process he has to deal with issues of abortion, and his own broken family and the consequences. Alternating between the events on Earth and the events in Heaven “Deadline” keeps you flipping the pages as Jake’s life is in danger as the murderer still wants to see him dead. This book will give you fresh insight into Heaven and hell and to where you are going to wind up. It will also provide a new perspective on other issues that are still in the news today. And all the while keeping you entertained with a mystery. Who could ask for more?

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Multnomah Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Deadline By Randy Alcorn, is a hybrid suspense novel and Christi

    Deadline By Randy Alcorn, is a hybrid suspense novel and Christian fiction in one novel. Randy Alcorn is a well known Christian author and speaker who has written a number of books: both fiction and non fiction. His works are very well thought out and are very useful in Christian apologetics and theology. As with most of his works, they are lengthy yet thorough.

    The cover of this fiction novel is decieving- as there is no hint or reference to the connection to biblical scripture. With its simple, yet vague title "Deadline" and the closeup of a dashboard with its omnious cracked windshield appears to just another crime thriller or mystery novel. This will certainly draw in readers who enjoy the crime novel genre. The reader would not suspect that this novel was more than a crime mystery -but that it also contained significant biblical theology and thought as well. In fact, Alcorn uses this fiction novel as a springboard by which to introduce a number of secondary plots or stories through his journalist hero about important topics such as abortion, public schooling, crime, planned parenthood, and parent responsability. In fact, just about every hot topic or debate is covered through the context of Jake's journalism career with a newspaper. The pro life issues are prevelant in this book, in fact these issues are among the motivations behind the crime- so readers who are offended by the conservative point of view or sensitive about abortion or prolife issues, might not appreciate this aspect. I am assuming those readers who have undergone an abortion- most likely will not want to read this book. Alcorn's book does not fit the mold of mindless entertainment as even this fiction work delivers a strong moral and spiritual message. If you are simply looking for another mind deadening paperback, this isn't for you.

    On a superficial level the storyline is interesting yet typical of the crime novel genre- after surviving a car accident which killed his two best friends: an athiest Doc and Finney, a born again Christian- the hero Jake Woods, a journalist, learns that the accident was not a real accident but intentional sabatage, and he finds he must solve the mystey of their murders. Meanwhile his own life is in danger. The investigation yield unexpected suprises and ironies. During that time, Jake and agnostic, slowly begins to question his beliefs as it draws him closer to God. It is great to see a fiction work that depends on the author's writing skills without the needless explicit x- rated scenes that are so prevelant in most secular fiction.

    But, what makes this book most notable, isn't the crime drama setting but the supernatural and spiritual elements and the detailed scenes and dialogs that depict Finney's after death experience in heaven and Doc's after death experience in hell. In fact there is extensive theological detail about Finney's experience in heaven as the scenes shift back and forth between Jake's investigation and Finney's experience in Heaven. This is an unexpected element, and Alcorn bases the fictitious scenes in heaven based on biblical theology. At the end of the book, he includes an author's note to explain his rationale behind the inclusion of this supernatural element.

    As a blogger for Multnomah, I recieved this book from Multnomah publishers for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    One of my all time favorites

    I think I have read this book four times over the years. There is so much that I enjoy about it. The mystery of the story keeps me from putting it down. The author's wonderful depiction of heaven leads me to long for that "home" and to dream about what it might be like. The tough issues that it deals with like teen pregnancy, abortion, right vs. wrong and more cause me to do some serious thinking about my own faith and how to express that faith in conversations with others. And I loved having my teen read it so she could experience that same journey through her own faith. I've been recommending it to everyone, even people I meet on the plane!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    What a rivetting read. I didnt want this book to end. Randy Alcorn is one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Great and realistic.

    I enjoyed this book and the story, characters and realism. It really captures your soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Good Book, but Very Political

    Alcorn presents interesting characters and a steady plot. For evangelical Christians, it presents a beautiful and compelling portrait of Heaven.

    One problem...this book is VERY political. While Alcorn and I are in agreement about the same moral issues, I was very uncomfortable with the book's unflattering portrayals of political liberals. To be fair and unbiased, you need to refrain from attacking your opponent's character--never assume a bad motive unless proven otherwise. This book is one-sided in favor of conservatism. Most readers probably won't mind, and that's fine. I'm a liberal, but conservatives have a right to disagree with me.

    This is definitely an evangelical book. I'm one, so that doesn't bother me. Be forewarned.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Confusing mess

    Book became so convoluted and confusing I kept getting lost. No need for a spoiler because the story goes everywhere. I just gave up. Wish I could have given it no stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Really a good book

    I was so touched by this book. It made me cry. I not only liked the vision of heaven, but the vision of hell. Every Christian should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    a real great book

    it is not on authors beliefs but on others too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Not For Mystery Lovers

    I bought this book for the mystery I expected from the synopsis. This book is not a mystery, but a treatise on the author's beliefs. I will make sure next time I look at the author bio as well as the synopsis. I don't believe a third of the book deals with the mystery. I have no problem with the writing, but the summary should not mislead people as to what the story is all about. If you want to read about abortion, the author's vision of Heaven and other Christian Right points of view, this is the book for you. I feel mislead and tricked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Incredible!

    This is a book that will change you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    Speculative but spectacular.

    Alcorn's presentation of the afterlife is speculative by his own admission, and this is certainly a weakness of the novel. Readers who want their concept of heaven to be determined by Scripture must be discerning and be aware which aspects are Scriptural and which are speculation. Despite this weakness, however, this novel spectacularly demonstrates the eternal consequences of our response to the gospel, as well as the emptiness of modern culture. The insight into the secular bias of the media that the reader gains from this book alone makes it worth reading. Christian fiction at its best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    Fantastic Book!

    This is, by far, my favorite book! Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Best book I've read all year

    Randy Alcorn pulls you into his characters' lives in such a dynamic way that it's hard to put this book down. I usually drop into bed early in the evenings, but I was up until the wee small hours reading 'Deadline' because I had to know what happened next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6