BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadlock

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

deadlock

Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her bu...
Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her but definately a good one.

posted by slaydon on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Lacking

I have read other books by Iris Johansen but found this book to be frustrating. I even stopped and read two other books before forcing myself to finish this novel. My main issue was that the characters were poorly development and often felt very forced. The heroin in pa...
I have read other books by Iris Johansen but found this book to be frustrating. I even stopped and read two other books before forcing myself to finish this novel. My main issue was that the characters were poorly development and often felt very forced. The heroin in particular was inconsistent and I just couldn't support or believe her character - actually I truly disliked her. I think the plot could have been interesting but it all felt rushed which made it uneventful. I believe Johansen wrote Killer Dreams and I found that a much better read.

posted by JustMyFavorite on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    deadlock

    Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her but definately a good one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!!

    I just finished reading "Deadlock" and the book is amazing! I actually had to read it twice because the first time I read it I couldn't put it down until I was done. Then a few days later I went back and picked it up again. Reading it the second time was just as amazing as reading it the first time. The adventure in this book is captaviating while the characters just make you want to read the book entirely before putting it down. I have been reading Ms. Johansen's work for the past two years and I love her writing style. I always get excited when she comes out with a new book. If anyone has been contemplating on picking up some books written by Ms. Johansen, don't. Pick them up and you'll be hooked for life. Keep the books coming Ms. Johansen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Sadly Lacking

    I have read other books by Iris Johansen but found this book to be frustrating. I even stopped and read two other books before forcing myself to finish this novel. My main issue was that the characters were poorly development and often felt very forced. The heroin in particular was inconsistent and I just couldn't support or believe her character - actually I truly disliked her. I think the plot could have been interesting but it all felt rushed which made it uneventful. I believe Johansen wrote Killer Dreams and I found that a much better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Mehh...Ehh..

    So I read this book thinking it would be something like "The Genesis Secret" by Tom Knox and I was a little surprised by what I read. I did like the whole background story about the Tsar, the murder of the Romanovs, and the hammer but what bothered me was the relationship between Emily and Garrett. It's not that they didn't have good chemistry--because they kind of did--but I didn't expect such explicit sex scenes. It made me a little uncomfortable while reading. These scenes don't pop up very much, but they're pretty awkward, so I'm just warning everyone. Also, I've never read a book by Johanssen before, but I don't think I'm going to read anymore. This may not be her best work, but I was confused as to what type of writer she is--a writer or erotica or action/adventure? It wasn't blended well to me. I wasn't that excited to finish the book or stay up late to finish it either...It was just, "I'll finish it when I have time or on a rainy day." It was just ehhhh. I don't know. It was just okay-nothing special.

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Johansen leaps to a new level

    Emily was captured by Staunton and forced to watch while her co-worker was tortured. The CIA could not rescue her, but Garret could. When Garret read about the kidnapped artifact expert, he felt drawn to her. He used his contacts and rescued Emily. Staunton would not let her go that easily and began stalking her. The only way to keep Emily safe was for Staunton to die. Garrett and Emily combine forces to stop Staunton. Their mission places everyone they care about in danger.
    I think I have read every book Iris Johansen has written. Her latest book, Deadlock, is not the typical suspense, romance that fans have come to expect. Johansen takes the genre to a new level. Her characters are original. Garret has a dark side. He is very passionate and loving, but there is that certain something that tells you he is a man that will stop at nothing to protect the woman he loves. Emily is anything but a victim. She suffered through the hell Staunton prepared for her,and she survived. Irana had an inner strength and serenity. (Ms. Johansen, please give us a book with Irana as a lead). Deadlock is a combination of romance, suspense, and action. The plot is well developed and one I was easily caught up in. I give this book 5 stars and eagerly await Johansen's next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Solid overall read

    I don't read or finish very many books, but this book kept me wanting more and I ended up finishing it very fast. It was a great story! I would compare it to Jason Borne meets National Treasure. It had a good amount of mystery that keeps you guessing.

    My only problem was the relationship between Garret and Emilly. It was certainly steamy, but I felt Garret was too whipped at the end. I like my badass assassin agent types to be just that, BUT that is just a personal preference. Still a fantastic book and I recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Ok

    Good, stubborn girl. ending ok. characters good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Good easy read.

    This is a good summer read - easy without thinking too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    New author for me...

    Deadlock hooked me from the very beginning. I have to say that it lost me a little in the middle but picked back up again for a good finish. This was my first read by Johansen but won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Gotta Love Iris

    I have become and Iris Johansen Junkie....I love all her books so far and can't stop reading them.

    One thing about this book, there was not major twist that I've come to find in all her other books.

    Still amazing and stimulating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Enjoyed very much a real page turner

    She has a good writing style, keeps you turning page after page not wanting to stop.. a real good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deadlock

    I absolutely love this audio book. I enjoy listening to Iris Johansen's stories. Her story telling makes you feel like you're one of the characters. It's funny I've never read one of her books but I truly love listening to her audio books. If I picked up one of her books I probably would not put it down until I'm finished. I'm looking forward to my next purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I was surprised

    The last few books I had read by Iris Johansen didn't interest me and seemed to be the same. I was pleasantly surprised by Deadlock because it seemed like she got her spark back. This book had a few twists and turns I never expected. I hope her next books are as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Deadlock

    I like Iris Johansens' book's overall, and this one was no exception. Well written and kept me wanting to turn the next page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    Very disappointed

    I usually enjoy her books but this one, I couldn't even get through. I did not finish reading because about 100 pages into it and I still couldn't feel like I wanted to stay up late to finish it like I usually do her other books. Would not recommend this one but she is usually a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New found author

    I always read James Patterson books, but now I found a new author that is stimulating, and interesting in her choice of subjects. I think that she will be on my to read list from now on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deadlock

    I have just started reading this book and it is hard to put down. Fast paced and never a dull moment.I can't wait to finish it.Iris Johansen is going to do it again, another Blockbuster I am sure. If you like action and suspense this one's for you as are a lot of her other books. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Which is it to be?

    My first time to read Johansen. My favorite topic: International thriller. Not bad, but dragged a bit. Seems Ms Johansen has a problem deciding whether to write a sexual fantasy or a thriller. Perhaps she should resolve this before her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Slow and boring plot

    Not like most of her books, this one was slow, action scenes too far apart, too much unnecessary down time for an action thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    It was touching at times...

    I have read many Iris Johansen books; she is the writer of my favorite ones. But I was disappointed with this book. I enjoyed the romance and cried at the terrible ordeals through-out, but I had to force myself to finish the book. I have never had this problem before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4