Customer Reviews for

Deadlock

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

deadlock

Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her bu...
Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her but definately a good one.

posted by slaydon on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Lacking

I have read other books by Iris Johansen but found this book to be frustrating. I even stopped and read two other books before forcing myself to finish this novel. My main issue was that the characters were poorly development and often felt very forced. The heroin in pa...
I have read other books by Iris Johansen but found this book to be frustrating. I even stopped and read two other books before forcing myself to finish this novel. My main issue was that the characters were poorly development and often felt very forced. The heroin in particular was inconsistent and I just couldn't support or believe her character - actually I truly disliked her. I think the plot could have been interesting but it all felt rushed which made it uneventful. I believe Johansen wrote Killer Dreams and I found that a much better read.

posted by JustMyFavorite on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    deadlock

    Johansen spins an old tale of the romanovs with a new little twist. The charachers were cute. An odd but cute bunch. A little twist at the end that was a little unexpected but was a great way to paint out some of the "bad guy" players. a different approach for her but definately a good one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!!

    I just finished reading "Deadlock" and the book is amazing! I actually had to read it twice because the first time I read it I couldn't put it down until I was done. Then a few days later I went back and picked it up again. Reading it the second time was just as amazing as reading it the first time. The adventure in this book is captaviating while the characters just make you want to read the book entirely before putting it down. I have been reading Ms. Johansen's work for the past two years and I love her writing style. I always get excited when she comes out with a new book. If anyone has been contemplating on picking up some books written by Ms. Johansen, don't. Pick them up and you'll be hooked for life. Keep the books coming Ms. Johansen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Johansen leaps to a new level

    Emily was captured by Staunton and forced to watch while her co-worker was tortured. The CIA could not rescue her, but Garret could. When Garret read about the kidnapped artifact expert, he felt drawn to her. He used his contacts and rescued Emily. Staunton would not let her go that easily and began stalking her. The only way to keep Emily safe was for Staunton to die. Garrett and Emily combine forces to stop Staunton. Their mission places everyone they care about in danger.
    I think I have read every book Iris Johansen has written. Her latest book, Deadlock, is not the typical suspense, romance that fans have come to expect. Johansen takes the genre to a new level. Her characters are original. Garret has a dark side. He is very passionate and loving, but there is that certain something that tells you he is a man that will stop at nothing to protect the woman he loves. Emily is anything but a victim. She suffered through the hell Staunton prepared for her,and she survived. Irana had an inner strength and serenity. (Ms. Johansen, please give us a book with Irana as a lead). Deadlock is a combination of romance, suspense, and action. The plot is well developed and one I was easily caught up in. I give this book 5 stars and eagerly await Johansen's next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Enjoyed very much a real page turner

    She has a good writing style, keeps you turning page after page not wanting to stop.. a real good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deadlock

    I absolutely love this audio book. I enjoy listening to Iris Johansen's stories. Her story telling makes you feel like you're one of the characters. It's funny I've never read one of her books but I truly love listening to her audio books. If I picked up one of her books I probably would not put it down until I'm finished. I'm looking forward to my next purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New found author

    I always read James Patterson books, but now I found a new author that is stimulating, and interesting in her choice of subjects. I think that she will be on my to read list from now on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deadlock

    I have just started reading this book and it is hard to put down. Fast paced and never a dull moment.I can't wait to finish it.Iris Johansen is going to do it again, another Blockbuster I am sure. If you like action and suspense this one's for you as are a lot of her other books. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I always enjoy Iris Johansen's books!

    the book was a grabber from the first page to the last! Iris get you hooked and you can put is down. You want to cheer for the heroine and the hero. Once i picked it up, I couldn't put it down ! I would recommend this book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    It was pretty awesome

    I think the headline says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2