Customer Reviews for

Deadlocked

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Fast, scary and real

    Like many here i bought this book because a. It was about zombies (they scare the living everything out of me) and b. For whatever reason it was totally free. I really enjoyed this book and read it on my phone in 2 days and im very interested on what happens next so I will happily pay the $2.50 or so for the next book...gotta love indepentent writers book costs! Some (like this book) are really good without all the extra costs publishers deal with and pass on to us. Read this free book and like me you will likely get hooked. P.S it might feel short at 118 pages but it follows really well and doesn't waste your time with page fillers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Since this was a novella, I'm going to make this short and sweet

    Since this was a novella, I'm going to make this short and sweet! I don't want to give too much away. David is the narrator in the story. The story begins with him explaining the strange influx in Emergency Room patients. As far as the news tells them, it's the result of terrorist attacks. The news is on in David's office building, informing all that the situation is getting worse. People are dying in the ER and coming back to life. The video shows children attacking each other. The disturbing part is that they are eating people's flesh. David leaves the office to get home to his family. After leaving the office, panic ensues as zombies appear in the city. David overcomes many obstacles in order to reach his family. Will David reach his family before it's too late? I'm going to stop there so I don't give anything away. My thoughts... I've seen plenty of zombie movies, but this is my very first zombie book!! I didn't know what to expect from this novella and I was pleasantly surprised. The visualizations I had while reading this book were quite creepy. There was a bit of gore, which I'm totally cool with. The events in the book kind of reminded me of Murphy's Law, what can go wrong, will go wrong. It was one thing after another, he could not catch a break! I kept wondering why this was a novella, why the author couldn't just put all of the parts into one novel. I didn't want to read the blurbs for the other books and potentially spoil this one. Now I know why! That ending was BRILLIANT! I was not expecting it and I wouldn't have had it any other way. Does that make sense to you? cause' it makes perfect sense to me :-) Keep a look out in the future for my reviews of the next 3 novellas in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great read

    I was pleasantly surprised with this zombie thriller. Well written and can't wait to read the next one. My heart was racing the whole time and I admit, I cried at the end. Hit close to home for me as a parent of two girls.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    For a free audio book Deadlocked 1 wasn't a bad story. Sure it w

    For a free audio book Deadlocked 1 wasn't a bad story. Sure it was short, but it laid the ground work for a series that I will pursue, because I was able to be pulled in, identifying and caring for the characters. Here we are introduced to the beginning or the outbreak of the zombie apocalypse. Following one man, David, as he discovers what is happening to the world around him and somehow out smarts the living dead that wants him for lunch, while trying to save the ones he loves. Full of the demented people that always seem to emerge withing apocalyptic scenarios, scenes that could have been more tense than they were. Hordes of blood thirsty shambling "cannibals" as they were once referred to. Nothing stood out as a unique take on the genre, entertaining none the less. Then there was the ending that was a bit of a surprise but also helped everything make sense, along with the free preview of the next book in the series. Now I have to know what happens.

    Audiobook purchased by me.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Great

    A very well described book. A great job. ZOMBIES who knew???? J.... :-@

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Gotta read.

    Awesome series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great read, but I'm wondering why book 4 isn't available on B&am

    Great read, but I'm wondering why book 4 isn't available on B&N. It's available on Amazon for the Kindle. Come on Mr. Wise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Wow!

    Intense short. Absolutely loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Very good

    Very short really enjoyed. Hoping if i buy the nxt one it not as short. Also i do not feel tht zombie stories r written 2 ofton i feel like as a fan at least they r written not enough

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Well Done

    Left me wanting to find more stories by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Creepy!

    Great story that tells the zombie apocalypse from a different viewpoint! Cannot wait to read thenext installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    .

    Good story and surprise ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Manny

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    gate way book gets you hooked on the whole series

    interesting style, definitely fast paced and emotionally intense leaves you anxious to read the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    quick read!

    I have to say I'm not a zombie story reader, but I liked this author in his other "314" book that I figured I may as well try this. Well, this was not just a zombie book. It had you interested in the story as well. Good book, great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Edge of your seat, nail bitting story

    Keeps you routing for the good guys to win, but as in real life, doesnt always work out that way. Great detail with the zombies, some gore thrown in. Will be reading the rest of the series, can get 1 THRU 4 novels in one, alittle cheaper, saves about $1.50

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Bring on #2

    I do not read books about zombies butt i loved this book! Cant wait to read yhe next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Loved it!

    I'm a micro biologist so I love zombie books-the thought of something like reanimated corpses and infection facinate me. This was one of the best zombie books I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Before buying this book, note that there are collections of this

    Before buying this book, note that there are collections of this series with books 1-4. Just go ahead and get that- it will save you time and money. You are going to love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    It grabs you and pulls you in!

    I bought the book awhile back, but just read it today. The story pulls you in and I loved the main character. Great book! I will definitely purchase the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3