Customer Reviews for

Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #12)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(376)

4 Star

(252)

3 Star

(221)

2 Star

(168)

1 Star

(143)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

I am a teen and love this series!!! Such an awesome story line.

I am a teen and love this series!!! Such an awesome story line. Finished it very quickly.

posted by Leah-books on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

92 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

Time to end the series

I have been a fan of this series since the beginning... Last years book was a disappointment and this years book was not any better. I do believe it has lost its flare since the TV series Trueblood started. I miss the way the books use to tell the story of vampires and ...
I have been a fan of this series since the beginning... Last years book was a disappointment and this years book was not any better. I do believe it has lost its flare since the TV series Trueblood started. I miss the way the books use to tell the story of vampires and humans trying to come to an understanding. It just keeps getting further and further out there now. I am sick of the entire fairy thing. I am saddened by the way the wonderful writing of the books seemed to nose dive after the first season of TrueBlood :(

posted by 8886175 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Ugh...felt like I could cry

    I love Sookie and I love Eric. But this book did not, at all, seem true to their personalities. Sookie complained and whined, Eric was cold, neither of them spoke to each other. Nothing was resolved or really even expanded upon. This could have just been added on to book 11. I'm so frustrated with this book! I really, really, hope the last book will be more fulfilling.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Is the end near?

    3.5 stars

    Wow, this one is going to be tricky for me. I am a long time Sookie Stackhouse fan and have never not loved a Sookie book. Until now (insert sad face here).

    Like always, Sookie finds herself, unwittingly, wrapped up in some vampy and wolfie drama. All the vampires and werewolves seem to make an appearance in Deadlocked. So, let's start with the human.

    Sookie:

    Sookie was lost through most of this installment. She has much on her mind. She has enemies in places she would have never expected. Her friends and family are moving along in life in all too human ways, which of course she is not ~ dating a vampire and all. Her relationship with Eric (*swoon*) is rocky at best. As is her relationship with Alcide. She's still got Fae living in her house which causes all sorts of strange. The Vampire King still suspects her of things that, of course, she is very guilty of. The poor girl just can't seem to catch a break.

    Eric:

    Eric was entire too absent in this book. I want him present and fighting for the woman he loves. On the other hand, I want Sookie fighting for him. It doesn't always have to be a damsel, maybe it can be a dude in distress that needs rescuing. Maybe that is exactly what he has always lacked. Sure, he has loyalty and respect and love even from some of his children and minions. But has anyone actually fought for his love? Is that what will turn this bad boy good? Or, is he just to self serving to chose Sookie over the Queen? Say it aint so Charlaine!!!

    Bill:

    I don't have much to say about Bill. Bill is Bill and will always Bill. Bill will always love Sookie. Yada, yada, yada, yada. Can you tell who's team I would vote for?

    Sam:

    OMG Sam!! Sam makes the dumbest girlfriend decisions but every book he scores a few more points as just an all around great guy and friend. That doesn't change in Deadlocked. At all. He's pretty amazing. I am a fan.

    Nearly every (still living) character makes an appearance in Deadlocked. Is that because we are nearing an end to the Stackhouse series? I kind of hope so. Deadlocked didn't have the same punch as so many of it's series predecessors. Though it wrapped up a few open ended items from the previous stories, it really didn't progress the meat of the story much for me. I am left with the same feeling as I had at the end of Dead Reckoning. I'm tired of the love triangle. I'm tired of Sookie not being happy. I'm tired of Sookie almost getting killed. Etc, etc, etc... I'm ready for all loose ends to be tied up. It makes me really sad to say (er, type) that. Just trying to be honest here. I'm not giving up on the series and if Charlaine wants to write another five books I will do my best to continue as the same loyal fan I have always been. But, maybe it's time. Right? Or do you think I am way off base here?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Dez

    Yes i finished the book the same day it came out. I am and have been a fan of this series. I will, as it seems I maybe one of the few, finish this to the very end. While i think that the last 2, borderline 3 books, have lackluster with the story telling and rehashing of past events. Overall it was a good read. And while on my reader it states that there was only 260 pages, it was in fact 339, i felt it needed to be a little longer. Sookie has avoided the elephant in the room long enough, which for me is not one of her characteristics. I miss the head strong, confrontational Sookie that makes her character so likible. While I do see Mrs. Harris tying up loose ends with characters and giving them their happy ever after, I hope she gives Sookie hers too, and I don't mean Sam either. Why build up a relationship between Sookie and Eric only to defile it with a mediocre Sam. I don't think Naill will allow her to not have evrything, that defys everything he's pulled strings to make happy. I love reading this fictional series, because it's just that fiction... I for one want a epic final book where Sookie gets what she wants, a faery tail ending.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Still lovin Sookie

    Was a bit slow but I loved, loved, loved the last 50 pages! Can't wait for the final book...will there be fairy puppy dogs?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Naysayers have a little faith......this book wrapped up a lot [a

    Naysayers have a little faith......this book wrapped up a lot [and I do mean an over abundance] of dangling story lines. It was long past time to eliminate the fairy fluff and get back to the real deal. I am not saying that the author did a fantastic job.......nope, did not. But, she is wrapping up the book series and needed to get all of the extraneous stuff out of the way. I also agree that the tv series has been a buzzkill for the books. The influence of the tv characters is apparent and in my opinion caused Charlaine to rethink her plot and character response in a way that left her devoted readers unsatisfied. So many times, I wanted to shout "we came first!" Now, to the quandary over Eric vs Sam vs Bill [yuck]. I agree with the comment that if she wimps out and matches Sookie to Sam, all was for naught. Why would we, as readers, take this lonnnnnng journey to simply take what has been offered in each and every book from the beginning? I am holding to my hope that the final installment will end with a bang....or should that be fang?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Not the best of the series. While I read a lot this was the firs

    Not the best of the series. While I read a lot this was the first book I bought on it's first day of release. So maybe my anticipation over a year led to my disappointment. If you have read the other 11 of course you need to read this. I suggest you wait until paperback or pick one up used.............if you can. I'm sure I will buy the next one as soon as I can get my hands on it. If for some reason you are reading this review but have yet to dive in to the series start from the top.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Eh...

    I have been a fan of the Sookie books since LONG before HBO considered True Blood. Last years book was a HUGE disappointment but considering I've loved all the rest I was willing to forgive and forget. This years book is another disappointment. Not as bad as last year but still not the quality I expect from Ms. Harris. It was very short and really didn't give us much progress. And although we all know the Sookie/Eric relationship is going to end I think she is doing them a great injustice by how she is making them so...blah. For lack of a better word.

    The bright side: A lot of loose ends were tied up. The whole fairy plot line is pretty much done (I think most of us were already done with it). A lot of things were set up so that hopefully next years book will be pretty action packed.

    And as a final side note...for those who have been freaking out about Sookie getting together with Sam. In multiple interviews Ms. Harris has said the following: Sookie will never be a Vampire. Sookie will not remain with Eric. Sookie WILL find love...but NOT with any of the main characters. I don't think we've even met her real love yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Disappointing.

    Ive been reading a lot of new book releases and so far and they have been really disappointing. The most being Insurgent (Divergent trilogy) and this one. I have to say, this installment, though better than Dead Reckoning, fell flat for me. I miss the steamy hot sex (at least DR had some), Eric being Eric (sexy and in control not cowardly and distant) and to me, Sookie seemed to be a bit.....off. She was so depressed and sad and frankly, it was killing the book for me. However, the Claude thing kinda did shock me. I never did think it was him. Oh well, I have to say Im glad the Fey are gone. As for the ending of the book.. I dont like the feeling Im getting. Sookie used the Cluviel Dor (?) on Sam and Eric walked away. Does that mean that she gets with Sam in the last book? The brief romance she had with him in the earlier books were fine but to bring it back up in the last one would just seem like an easy way out of the Eric and Sookie situation. I really hope it doesnt end that way. 3.4 stars for this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can I get an Amen & a Hallelujah?! Finally, after 3 years o

    Can I get an Amen & a Hallelujah?! Finally, after 3 years of waiting, a Sookie book that I didn't want to throw & request a refund upon finishing. I just haven't decided if I liked it because it was actually good, or because the last two have been so bad, that I was just grateful to get something that resembled the Sookie of old. I think it may be a good combination of both, but either way, I enjoyed reading this installment - I couldn't put it down!

    I have been a long time fan of this series and, like many of you, have been so disappointed with the last couple of books. I really wasn't even looking forward to reading this one because I just couldn't get excited about them anymore. While Deadlocked is definitely not Dead to the World good, it progressed the overall story line of the series, wrapped up story lines and ultimately sets the stage for the conclusion of the series with book #13, Dead Ever After.

    Sookie is weary, fed up and ready for a change in her life, never have I felt that more than in this book. Everyone around her is moving on with their lives - getting married, having babies & living the life that she wants. She is tired of always being the one to give in, to have to make concessions and sacrifice her needs & wants. Well no more! She wants to come first and be the one the sacrifices are made for, and she realizes that Eric may not be the one to do that. Such growth but also sadness from her.

    The Southern Vampire world would not be the same without the wonderful cast of secondary characters, I just wish that Ms. Harris would have been more consistent in her writing of them. In my opinion, Eric Northman is one of the best vampires in fiction today. In books 1-8, he was such a bad*** and no one crossed his path. He was the ultimate alpha male and I could not wait until Ms. Harris finally made Sookie & Eric a couple, it was my dream pairing and what I'd been waiting for since Dead Until Dark. What happened?! Eric's character has become almost unrecognizable. In this book people walk all over him, make decisions for him (and he allows it), manipulate and make him look like a complete fool. This is not the Eric that I came to love throughout the series and I'm glad that it's ending so that I don't have to witness his further degradation. Alcide, Bill & Sam had larger roles and, I was glad to see that Alcide wasn’t as much of an a** as he was in the last book. Quinn even made an appearance and I am glad that she has reconciled that chapter in her life - I did not like the way she left him and felt that he deserved better.

    Overall, as usual, the story followed one main plot line with several sub plots. There were a couple of mysteries that needed solving and also, as usual, the fast-paced ending more than made up for parts of the story that were a little sluggish. While this book was not as action packed as previous installments, it reaffirmed why I love this series so much. The world that Ms. Harris has created is phenomenal and so rich with supernatural characters, you want to pack your bags and move to Bon Temps just to experience it. Can’t wait to see how she ends the series...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Okay, but better than the bad reviews claim

    I dont think this book was disappointing like others did. It was a little talky on the mundane things that Sookie does in a day, but the plot was well thought out, and leaves a lot to be questioned. Eric and Sookie weren't terrible to eachother, just that the relationship seems to have run it's course, and even that isnt really definite, yet. I dont know who Sookie will end up with. Sam, Eric, Bill, Quinn, or Hunter's dad. I remember when the series got ......."slow" one other time, during dead as a doornail. That book kinda bored me. But, right after that, in Definitely Dead, the books took a big turn with Sookie and her revelations about those aroundher, their betrayal (bill), and for some, how deeply they feel for her (eric). I think that this last book in the series wil be very exposing, bringing out all of the motives and intent of everyone in Sookie's life. I would like to be like everyone else and say sookie will end up with sam, but I cant be sure. For a minute in this book, I though sookie might hook up with her uncle dermot. I am looking forward to this next book. Hopefully it will be like this one, which was exposing, but, with lot of action, and a great moment of suspense where I don't know what will happen, followed by something so big, so juicy, and so surprising that I applaud ( not literallly) Ms. Harris for how great the series was. But that would be in a perfect Utopian world. We will see this spring. Lastly, I do think that the books have waned since the hbo series but not from lack of the books being any good. Rather from people in general being more visual, combined with the difference in thecharacters, and plots in the old books vs. Film adage. I recommend this book. We all want to know how it ends. For those who dont like it, and have decided to stop reading the series, I recommend reading, or writing fan fiction where you can have whatever ending you desire. Thankyou for taking the time to read this absurdly long post. I hope that it is of some use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    3 star because it seemed rushed

    Not her best book,but that said I still enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I've read them all and will from time-to-time re-read them, in o

    I've read them all and will from time-to-time re-read them, in order. This one was not what I expected. It got off to a slow start but there was a nice payoff: I very much liked the ending.

    The books are FAR superior to the TV series which as diverted creatively from the books in ways that make my head spin. If Mrs. Harris ended the series here or soon, it would be okay with me, however, I will keep reading and enjoying the twists and turns in the lives of these characters as long as she cares to pen them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Good story, but not the best in the series

    Nice flow in the series with some surprises but not the best book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    I love Sookie, but all this drama with Eric is starting to get o

    I love Sookie, but all this drama with Eric is starting to get old. I really do not like Sookie and Eric together. I can see this book was a filler to get to the rest of the story, I just wish the next book was coming out sooner so we didn't have to wait for the rest of the story. This book did answer a few questions from previous books. If you already enjoy the series then you know what you are getting into, if you are new to the series then do not start with this book. If you are looking for the T.V show Trueblood then just go watch HBO because they left the books along time ago.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Loose ends

    This book really did seem to be a filler. Like a scene in a movie that you have to see so you have all the pertanent info to tie everything up in the end, this book lacked in romantic triangles, intelligence( spoiler Alert- at one point she has to ask Bill what a jump driver is...and that was one of the most time we seethe vamps, ) I think its time for Sookie to figure out where here heart is and retire to a calm peaceful exsistence in Bon Temps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    260 pages?

    What is this i was not expecting this short of a book for 15.00.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Melange of Vamps, Weres, Shapeshifters, and Fairies

    Who knew there were so many others out there in the world of humans? Charlaine Harris does a great job of describing such a world, and creating believable plots, based on their daily lives. Very easy reading, linked with intrigue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    well...

    i love this series, but this volume annoyed me a little. not sure why. must read again, to figure that out....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Just a stepping stone in the series

    I really thought this was disapointing. Nothing really happened at all. I hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this one, the series has been a fun read for me. I con

    I enjoyed this one, the series has been a fun read for me. I confess...I like the relationship drama one little southern gal can get herself into without any trouble!
    I'll pick up #13 eventually. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12