BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadly Blessings (Alex St James Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

This was a great book. If you are a fan of Stephanie Plum, Kinsey Milhone and the like, you'll like Alex St James. She's not a PI, but rather an intrepid investigative reporter for a TV newsmagazine, who can't resist looking further than she should when in pursuit of ...
This was a great book. If you are a fan of Stephanie Plum, Kinsey Milhone and the like, you'll like Alex St James. She's not a PI, but rather an intrepid investigative reporter for a TV newsmagazine, who can't resist looking further than she should when in pursuit of a story.

posted by notayuppie on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

K

Not bad. Kind of slow at times, but interesting at times too.

posted by 8888649 on June 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    This isn't anything like Janet Evanovich's books, other than the female heroine.

    I saw several referances to Janet Evanovich's character, Stephanie Plum, in the reviews. The lead character is nothing like Stephanie Plum. Stephanie is a hard luck case who can not decide between two men and is a few clowns short of a circus. This character is smart, sarcastic, has a well paying job and is currently unattached. The storyline of the book is unusual and held my attention, but there were some leaps, which created a gap in the flow and left me with a few questions of why some events occured. I wondered about the sister, just what was her disability, why the parents moved so far away from their daughters and what happened to the brain behind the prostitution ring. This was a very good book. I am looking forward to the next in the series. There isn't any sex, only mild violence descriptions, no preaching, even though there are religious undertones, a few mild curse words and men do not have a strong, macho roles. In fact, all but one male came across as buffoons. Because of the subject matter, I recommend this book for mature 16 year olds, on up. Men might enjoy this book, but is primarialy a chick, murder mystery book. It is about 230 pages long and a fast read. This free book could have used a dab of editing here and there, but over all, it was very enjoyable.

    AD

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Good storyline

    A good storyline,flowed right along that is until the last 2 chapters where the story fizzled out. Would make a good beach read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Good reading you must check it out

    If you enjoy mysteries you must check this one out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    A good read.

    This book kept my interest although seemed to ramble on and on at time. That being said I did enjoy the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Recommended!

    Enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good book

    Start off kind of slow but couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Fun read

    It is a rather long book but hard to put down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Deadly Blessings

    Set in Chicago, different setting than I usually read. However, this mystery is a good first effort by Julie Hyzy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Good

    Interesting plot line & complex characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Very readable and entertaining

    I would have given 5 stars except it was too easy too soon to guess who the culprit was. And that's not good in a mystery. But would definitely read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Mac to charlie

    Are we still allies or no.

    0 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Sab

    She shrugs i ant chaseing you to beat a killr you must not play his game. She turns the heavy animal coat swirling bhind her

    0 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Suriti

    (Yup. I took Saph with me though.)

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2