Customer Reviews for

Deadly Cool

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully entertaining murder mystery for teens.

Could this day get any worse? First, Hartley discovers a condom wrapper in boyfriend Josh's locker-they aren't sexually active. Then she hears rumours floating around that he's 'effing' Courtney from the Color Guard Squad. Taking matters into her own hands, she and best...
Could this day get any worse? First, Hartley discovers a condom wrapper in boyfriend Josh's locker-they aren't sexually active. Then she hears rumours floating around that he's 'effing' Courtney from the Color Guard Squad. Taking matters into her own hands, she and best friend Sam head over to Josh's to confront him and get some answers. However, what they discover is far worse. Hartley, while breaking into Josh's bedroom, discovers Courtney's dead body in his closet-strangled to death with white Ipod earbuds. All the fingers quickly point to Josh and he becomes the prime suspect, but Hartley knows better. Josh may be a no-good cheating jerk but he's not a murder. Ready to prove his innocence, Hartley teams up with Sam and gorgeous goth photographer and editor of the newspaper Chase.

The best way to describe Gemma Halliday's Deadly Cool is "a wonderfully entertaining teen murder mystery with a perfect dose of humour".

I found Gemma Halliday's voice for Hartley and her best friend Sam absolutely hilarious. They both had a habit of censoring themselves with "effing" and various other words, which made me giggle quite a bit. Conversation between the characters resembled typical high school talk and gossip. It wasn't sugar coated and was raw to the teenage bone. The events leading up to Hartley's discovery of Courtney's body truly resembled that of a girl who fained ignorance to her boyfriend's deception despite the fact that she clearly doubted his innocence. Hartley was a difficult character to get used to reading. Despite her edgy personality, I found myself disliking her daftness and eagerness to leap before looking. As for her friend Sam, I felt like readers weren't given much of an opportunity to get to know her. She felt like a blank void and I found myself knowing more about dis-interesting characters like Kaylee and Shiloh. Chase was an interesting addition and I liked how his role grew from beginning to end. Deadly Cool definitely kept me on my feet. I had a very hard time trying to pin point who the murderer was, kudos to Gemma. The mystery, of course, was present from beginning to end but there was also a very small sliver of romance that definitely didn't outshine the plot's purpose. The cover was complimentary to the novel; beautiful and eye catching. As I crawled towards Hartley's discovery of the body, I began to realise what the cover image depicted. From what I presume it is Hartley's view when discovering Courtney's dead body. It's very eerie now that I think of it but it's still very beautiful and attention grabbing. Deadly Cool is a recommended read for young adults who need a mystery fix with a tiny bit of teenage drama.

posted by TheMochaLatte on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nxon

C ya

posted by 10775436 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Wonderfully entertaining murder mystery for teens.

    Could this day get any worse? First, Hartley discovers a condom wrapper in boyfriend Josh's locker-they aren't sexually active. Then she hears rumours floating around that he's 'effing' Courtney from the Color Guard Squad. Taking matters into her own hands, she and best friend Sam head over to Josh's to confront him and get some answers. However, what they discover is far worse. Hartley, while breaking into Josh's bedroom, discovers Courtney's dead body in his closet-strangled to death with white Ipod earbuds. All the fingers quickly point to Josh and he becomes the prime suspect, but Hartley knows better. Josh may be a no-good cheating jerk but he's not a murder. Ready to prove his innocence, Hartley teams up with Sam and gorgeous goth photographer and editor of the newspaper Chase.

    The best way to describe Gemma Halliday's Deadly Cool is "a wonderfully entertaining teen murder mystery with a perfect dose of humour".

    I found Gemma Halliday's voice for Hartley and her best friend Sam absolutely hilarious. They both had a habit of censoring themselves with "effing" and various other words, which made me giggle quite a bit. Conversation between the characters resembled typical high school talk and gossip. It wasn't sugar coated and was raw to the teenage bone. The events leading up to Hartley's discovery of Courtney's body truly resembled that of a girl who fained ignorance to her boyfriend's deception despite the fact that she clearly doubted his innocence. Hartley was a difficult character to get used to reading. Despite her edgy personality, I found myself disliking her daftness and eagerness to leap before looking. As for her friend Sam, I felt like readers weren't given much of an opportunity to get to know her. She felt like a blank void and I found myself knowing more about dis-interesting characters like Kaylee and Shiloh. Chase was an interesting addition and I liked how his role grew from beginning to end. Deadly Cool definitely kept me on my feet. I had a very hard time trying to pin point who the murderer was, kudos to Gemma. The mystery, of course, was present from beginning to end but there was also a very small sliver of romance that definitely didn't outshine the plot's purpose. The cover was complimentary to the novel; beautiful and eye catching. As I crawled towards Hartley's discovery of the body, I began to realise what the cover image depicted. From what I presume it is Hartley's view when discovering Courtney's dead body. It's very eerie now that I think of it but it's still very beautiful and attention grabbing. Deadly Cool is a recommended read for young adults who need a mystery fix with a tiny bit of teenage drama.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Best

    This is the best book ever and it has suspense comedy and drama. Has to be bought so dont wait just buy

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Deadly Cool Fun!

    I'm smiling right now. I know, you can't see me. But trust me, I am. The reason for the big smile? This book, Deadly Cool. Based on the cover, which I adore, and the synopsis, you might think Deadly Cool to be a dark, serious book. And I'll admit, there are aspects to the book that are dark and serious. Such as, cheating boyfriends, murder, and a killer on the loose. But author Gemma Halliday told the story with a droll, quick-witted tone that absolutely knocked the ball out of the park.

    I'll admit, it helps that Deadly Cool was exactly the type of book I was in the mood for. Young Adult, contemporary, non-paranormal was what the reading-doctor ordered. I knew I was in for a delicious treat when I read the opening lines:

    "There are three things you never want to find in your boyfriend's locker: a sweaty jockstrap,a D
    minus on last week's history test, and an empty condom wrapper. Lucky me, I'd hit the trifecta."

    And, thankfully, the entire book was able to maintain that tone. It was packed full with witty dialogue and laugh-out-loud situations.

    Deadly Cool has an easy to read, conversational tone. I felt like I was a participant in the action. Halliday did an immense job of lending main character, Hartley, and the other teens, non-irritating, engaging voices. Well, except for a couple of the girls. But they were supposed to be irritating! There wasn't a single character in the story that wasn't spot-on, well written. The cheating boyfriend, Josh, is shockingly likeable. Like Hartley, I knew I should despise him, but I couldn't help feeling sorry for the poor guy. I suppose it helps that he is descibed as looking very much like Zac Efron. And as much as I adore Josh, I have a thing for unconventional book guys. Like Chase, Hartley's partner in crime solving. He's cool, wears black-on-black-on-black a lot, has messy hair and sly comebacks. Perfect.

    Deadly Cool was a pleasant surprise. I thought I would most likely enjoy it. I loved it. I read within a few hours time, dying to know who did the deed. This book was a fun, breezy read. A stand-alone that could easily be a series. And, Wow, I hope Halliday does give us more Hartley, soon!

    Favorite Quote:

    "Whether it was the chamomile or the good long cry or the fact that Chase was once again speaking to
    me, I had a little spring in my step as I walked to second period, only five minutes late. I might
    be a leper, but I was a leper with a clue."

    * I received Deadly Cool from Harper Teen, in exchange for an honest review. *

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Freaking awesome!

    I'm big on mysteries, and when I found out that this murder takes place in a highschool setting, I was super happy. And when I actually read it?

    OH. MY. GOSH.

    Hartley is completely relatable. If you found your boyfriend's condom wrapper, you'd react the same way she would, and you'd react the same way to finding bodies. She's super sarcastic and funny, and her lines are so witty and perfect. I absolutely adore everything about this book. If you like murder, or just funny teenage antics, this is the book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    <3

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Boring

    Partyim out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    The cover:

    I love this cover. It illustrates Hartley very well, and those iPod earbuds?? Oh my!! *_*

    The storyline:

    So, this is one kind of a book. I enjoyed every bit of it.

    The beginning was great, introducing us directly to the issue while explaining things at the same time.

    Hartley¿s boyfriend, Josh is the worst boyfriend I¿ve ever seen, though he did one thing only by cheating on her, this made the deal for me. The girl didn¿t deserve this and he was her first love!

    I hate boys¿

    Anyways, at the beginning when Hartley discovers a school mate dead at her boyfriend¿s house, every evidence points to him as the killer. However, he shows up and apologizes to her and asks her to help him find out who¿s the real killer who¿s framing him.

    Throughout the book, you¿ll go through weird twists and awful discoveries that¿ll keep you reading.

    One of the many things I loved about this book is that Gemma, the author, did a great job making the characters alive. There were a lot of moments when I¿d have acted the same way. It was funny to see Hartley mentally debating with herself on many things and because she¿s awesome, she always chose to help others, even if it meant sneaking out of the house at midnight!!

    And because I¿m a geek, I fell more for this book, there were mentions of Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, Apple, Mac, Google and many more! And they were part of the story, not just mentions .

    The writing was smooth, funny, fun, mysterious and very good. I just have nothing to complain about in this book!!

    The characters:

    Hartley is my heroine. She¿s been through a lot of things and still acted strong and brave and fought to prove her ex-boyfriend¿s innocence. She¿s honest and blonde who adores Legally Blonde!! <333

    I¿ve always liked blondes despite what others might think of them, but her, I loved her!!

    Josh¿.hmmm¿ Josh is an effing jerk. That¿s it. Just because his girlfriend wouldn¿t give in to him he went on and cheated on her, then came back asking her to forgive him??? What a boyfriend!!

    Chase is super freaking cool. I¿ve always loved Goths for their mysterious looks, and I loved Varen in Nevermore. So Chase was no surprise to me when he offered to help Hartley investigate the murder while he kept making jokes and funny statements. He is a gentlemen with a bad driving.

    Sam is the BFF. She¿s cute, funny, crazy and supportive. She¿s been all the way with Hartley.

    Other characters that are note worthy are Kevin who¿s Sam¿s brother, they kept borrowing his ¿evironmental friendly¿ car. Which was funny to read because each time he asked them to fill her with some sort of oil fuel lol. Caitlyn whom I let it to you to discover what¿s going on with her.

    Conclusion:

    This was a wonderful fun read. I recommend it if you like laughter, mystery, thriller and social networks .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This was a great mystery book!! I am a huge fan of mystery books and this certaintly does mystery books justice. First of all the mystery itself was really good. I had no idea who the killer was and it's certaintly a surprise when you find out. Every chapter keeps you wanting more and more to find out whodunit. I also love the relationships between all the characters and I think it kept the book feeling like a teenage book. The plot, charcters, and overall book was great! I can't wait to read more from Gemma Halliday. I also absolutely LOVE the cover!!!! :) PS: Be on the lookout for the second book Social Suicide!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Pony rp dying

    Please come!dtt res 3 and st res 4!-Blazin '-'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    M

    Heyyyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Great easy read!

    I read some intense mysteries previously, so I really enjoyed this easy, breezy murder mystery! It kept your attention and surprised you with the murderer. Super, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Deadly Cool was one of those really talked about books of 2012.

    Deadly Cool was one of those really talked about books of 2012. It was something that was buzzing all around the book blogging community and being part of that community it was hard not to get caught into the web of book buzz. From the looks of the cover itself it looked a lot more mature but the contents weren’t.




     Where do I start… ah yes. Let’s start with the plot of the book. The book was about these two teen girls finding a dead body of another teen girl in the room of a teen boy. Then the two teen girls set out to figure out who the killer is to save the name of the teen boy. Yeah, original right? (sarcasm intended). It may be kind of new in the genre. But it isn’t in a bigger scale. What is new now-a-days? All the new ideas are well, not exactly new. 




     The plot didn’t do much for me. It was light, extremely predictable and well, not very ‘wow’. But good news for parents, this book is very clean. There was minimal swearing, not much blood and not really much to go around in the romance department. So, this is a safe read for you teens. 




     As for the writing style, like I said above, it was clean. The swearing have been censored, the descriptions, inner monologues were all adequate to the genre. The characters on the other hand, didn’t bother me much. They can be obnoxious at times, but other than that. I think they’re pretty great characters to follow.




     Overall, Deadly Cool was an interesting read. I don’t think I’ll be reading the next two books in the trilogy. But the book was still an enjoyable read with a predictable plot, and characters you’ll like. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Snow

    She sits down in her red slu<_tty dress and smiles at Zero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Cody

    Walks in. His shaggy blond hair gets blown into his emerald green eyes and he brushes it out of his face. "Anyone here?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Jayy

    Alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Lani

    *smirks and then walks around and gracefully climbs up the pole and then wraps her legs on the pole and bent down so her legs are holding her up and she runs her hands along her body and her bo<_>obs then she twirled down the pole*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Iyle

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    To elise

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6