Customer Reviews for

Deadly Descendant (Nikki Glass Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Deadly Descendant takes on the same easy pace as its predecessor

Deadly Descendant takes on the same easy pace as its predecessor, Dark Descendant, but with more heat, action, and emotion! Jenna Black gives readers a greater look into some of Nikki's Liberi housemates, especially, Jamaal. Jamaal is a very out of control character and...
Deadly Descendant takes on the same easy pace as its predecessor, Dark Descendant, but with more heat, action, and emotion! Jenna Black gives readers a greater look into some of Nikki's Liberi housemates, especially, Jamaal. Jamaal is a very out of control character and completely mysterious in the first book, so it's intriguing to see him slightly open up and drop his guard around Nikki.

The assignment Nikki is handed in Deadly Descendant is creepy and just a little shy of downright scary! The crazy descendant of the death-god Anubis is on the hunt and armed with powers unfamiliar, and very harmful, to Nikki and some of the Liberi. The plot leads readers to believe that Nikki might not be able to succeed this time because there is more than one foe working against her. Anderson's traumatized wife is letting her claws show, but this unexpected twist is entertaining and adds to the overall build of suspension. The novel's conclusion is clever, leaving readers excited, awed, and aching for more action.

Black has written the perfect sequel to Dark Descendant and its only a matter of time before she impresses urban fantasy fans with the next Nikki Glass installment.

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nikki--really???

I really do like the series. However it is very difficult to like Nikki. Her personality is not consistent. She describes herself as very empathetic but drives away any one who tries to get close to her by being hateful. You start to think she is getting better but then...
I really do like the series. However it is very difficult to like Nikki. Her personality is not consistent. She describes herself as very empathetic but drives away any one who tries to get close to her by being hateful. You start to think she is getting better but then she is witchy to those trying to be her friend. I realize this is only the second book in the series but you would think by now she should show some progress. I am halfway through this book and I hope to see a more likeable Nikki by the end. I really do like this series--it has great plot lines, good action and suspense. Emma is another character I am having problems with--I hope a "resolution" to her character comes quickly, too as I can see really no reason why she contributes much to the story other than to tic people off and there are already plenty of those characters in story to fill that need. I truly want to continue reading this series as I so enjoyed her other series before. However it is difficult to continue when I really don't like the main character and one of the other main characters is bipolar and worthless. If not for these problems I would give the book 5+ stars.

posted by 16766851 on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Deadly Descendant takes on the same easy pace as its predecessor

    Deadly Descendant takes on the same easy pace as its predecessor, Dark Descendant, but with more heat, action, and emotion! Jenna Black gives readers a greater look into some of Nikki's Liberi housemates, especially, Jamaal. Jamaal is a very out of control character and completely mysterious in the first book, so it's intriguing to see him slightly open up and drop his guard around Nikki.

    The assignment Nikki is handed in Deadly Descendant is creepy and just a little shy of downright scary! The crazy descendant of the death-god Anubis is on the hunt and armed with powers unfamiliar, and very harmful, to Nikki and some of the Liberi. The plot leads readers to believe that Nikki might not be able to succeed this time because there is more than one foe working against her. Anderson's traumatized wife is letting her claws show, but this unexpected twist is entertaining and adds to the overall build of suspension. The novel's conclusion is clever, leaving readers excited, awed, and aching for more action.

    Black has written the perfect sequel to Dark Descendant and its only a matter of time before she impresses urban fantasy fans with the next Nikki Glass installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Nikki--really???

    I really do like the series. However it is very difficult to like Nikki. Her personality is not consistent. She describes herself as very empathetic but drives away any one who tries to get close to her by being hateful. You start to think she is getting better but then she is witchy to those trying to be her friend. I realize this is only the second book in the series but you would think by now she should show some progress. I am halfway through this book and I hope to see a more likeable Nikki by the end. I really do like this series--it has great plot lines, good action and suspense. Emma is another character I am having problems with--I hope a "resolution" to her character comes quickly, too as I can see really no reason why she contributes much to the story other than to tic people off and there are already plenty of those characters in story to fill that need. I truly want to continue reading this series as I so enjoyed her other series before. However it is difficult to continue when I really don't like the main character and one of the other main characters is bipolar and worthless. If not for these problems I would give the book 5+ stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible Series Because of Poor Writing

    I give up on this series. This book, like the last one, is filled to the brim with info-dumps and endless interior monologues. Even during action scenes, having to read through Nikki's blow-by-blow decision-making was enough to make me scratch my own eyes out so I wouldn't have to look at the pages anymore. It goes something like this: ...I have to hit this guy, but if I hit him too hard he might die and if I hit him too soft he won't stop coming after me, so I should probably hit him just right, but soon before he gets a punch in, or else I'll be down and out, so I should time this just right, not too fast, not too slow, use my right fist and pull back while feinting so I can pull this off, because everyone is counting on me and I would feel terrible if I let them down, so I'll just have to hope I do this perfectly the first time, I'm going to hit him just right--" For chrissakes just hit the dude, woman! Some people said Nikki came off as a jerk. I didn't get that impression at all. I blame the writing style for making this a truly horrendous read. Even the little twist and cliffhanger at the end isn't enough to pull me back in.

    For a better example of first person narrative, and an exceptional story that is also urban fantasy, I recommend "Dead Witch Walking" (and all subsequent books) by Kim Harrison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    loved this book! can't wait for the third book

    loved this book! can't wait for the third book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Jenna Black

    I have read one other series she has written and was not gonna read anything else she wrote until I read the first Descendant book. I enjoyed it so much that I read the second one. I think she is doing a good job with her writing skills for these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Great read

    Great new spin on mythology & modern man. Can't wait for the next installment. Not necessary, but best if you read the first in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great story!

    I really enjoyed this book. I cant wait for the third one! I hope Nikki is a tad more likeable though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Wow

    Amazing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    September

    *falls asleep*

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2