Customer Reviews for

Deadly Desire (Riley Jenson Guardian Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Diserering wait

The new keri autrthur book has had me re-read the other six novels. This book has to be as exciting as the others and if you haven't i would definatily suggest reading them before you start on this riveriting book.:)

posted by Gallagher_Bookworm on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interest Wanes

The plot and pace is sluggish as Riley slowly uncovers those responsible for zombie killings and vampires slayings. Not enough happens in this book, and the events and actions that do occur don't happen fast enough. There's simply no tension or urgency to this story. Ri...
The plot and pace is sluggish as Riley slowly uncovers those responsible for zombie killings and vampires slayings. Not enough happens in this book, and the events and actions that do occur don't happen fast enough. There's simply no tension or urgency to this story. Riley's investigation is so slow, tedious and predictable that I constantly had to put down the book and focus on something else for awhile before going back to the story. Even the sporadic fighting and bifurcated finale are uninspired and underwhelming.

Similarly, the romantic subplot is very predictable and boring. The only thing it convinced me of is Riley's unworthiness for Quinn. He should have dumped her yesterday. As for Kye, he's just another male wolf who doesn't seem to have many talents of his own. Series fans have seen the introduction of a competing wolf alpa thrown into the mix before. It simply doesn't interest me.

As for the soul mate crap, I hate it. I hate it in this book and in every other book that uses it. Free will (and the freedom to choose one's own mate) should never be overridden by some supernatural and/or biochemical reaction. Sexual attraction and satisfaction takes place in the mind not the soul. Regardless of whether Riley's soul(s) is/are vampiric and/or lupine, she has only one brain when in human form, and that brain should choose its mate.

Moreover, Riley's rampant libido was fine when she was a free and easy wolf/vampire going to the clubs, but now those incessant and rapacious urges are just over-exploited excuses to introduce new sexual partners and/or grossly contrived/overdone sexual tension(s) within the series. Further, as evidenced by her ceaseless sexual appetite for sundry others throughout this novel and the series (including, but not limited to, Kade, Kye, and previously Kellen), Riley undeniably knows that Quinn is not (and will never be) 'enough' for her. Consequently, her decision to string Quinn along, (when she knows he loves and wants only her), is incredibly selfish and just plain wrong.

posted by dalnewt on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good continuation of the series

    I really liked the latest in this series. I've been back and forth about the previous books, but now that the characters are established, it seems like the plot moves along better. Kye was interesting from the start. I'm not sure why Riley hates him so much (well, really not that much). I felt sorry for Quinn. He desires better than Riley. The whole scene where she tells him they need to see other people was very contrived. I hope Kye is back in the next installment. I also hope to see more of Rhoen and Liander. Maybe we could have a side series about Kade and all his wives???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Did not disappoint

    I love Riley's series. I was a bit hesitant at first because of my expectant level was high, but this book DID NOT disappoint. It had everything the other books had and more. It was a page turner. I love this author because most authors will keep on talking about the " romance " part over and over again, but this author knows enough is enough. She got straight to the point and it was good for a change. Just giving just enough information for our imagination. I don't think I can wait till Sept for the next one, but I guess I don't have a choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    Yay, A new Riley Book!

    It took me a little while to get into this book, maybe because it had been so long since I read the last Riley book that I just felt disconnected from the world, or because Riley just isn't out there almost getting killed every two seconds in this one. Whatever the reason, it may read a bit slow to some in comparison to some of the others in the series. BUT, oh lordy, Ms Arthur makes up for it in the end!

    Riley is investigating not just a series of vampire killings (its the vamps being offed) but a series of zombie killings (the zombies are doing the offing). All of it smack dab in the middle of the full moon. Needless to say Riley gets herself into a spot of trouble. She is trying to juggle time with her super hawt vampire lover Quinn into her case load, and is actually doing a pretty good job, but is distracted by the appearance of bounty hunter Kai into the mix. This unlikeable (or so Riley tries to tell herself) werewolf keeps turning up, setting Riley into a hormonal twist.

    I definitely recommend this book, while not as action packed as previous books, this one has a few emotional and personal discoveries for Riley that will have you hopping up and down waiting for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great urban romantic fantasy

    The supernaturals, especially the vampires and shapeshifters, have made themselves known to humans; and though they are not quite equal under human law, they have the Protectorate to police their kind especially if humans are in danger. Guardian Riley Jenson¿s latest case involves finding a zombie killing people. She tracks the culprit to an abandoned overhang where it and two hellhounds are intently staring at a crow that is actually a shapeshifting sorceress.<BR/><BR/>While there she also meets werewolf bounty hunter Kye whose assignment is to kill the necromancer sorceress as a favor to a friend. During a fight, the crow escapes while the zombie and hellhounds are killed. Soon afterward several powerful ancient vampires are murdered with heads and feet severed; their safes are open and their contents missing. The girls they were with were killed by a zombie. Riley believes there is a link between the vampire executions and the dead girls and the sorceress. Rye stays at her side as they try to track down the crow; each step together enhances their attraction for one another. These unwanted feelings horrify both of them and distracts them enough for them to fall into a deadly trap.<BR/><BR/>Riley is a powerful hunter, but has met her equal in the as obstinate and ornery Kye. Her wolf might want him, but her heart belongs to the ancient vampire Quinn. The whodunit is cleverly developed to keep the audience guessing as to the crow¿s prime identity and why zombies are killing vampires. Fans of this great urban romantic fantasy will appreciate the current tale and look forward to the next installment in Keri Arthur¿s superb saga.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16