BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadly Desire (Riley Jenson Guardian Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Diserering wait

The new keri autrthur book has had me re-read the other six novels. This book has to be as exciting as the others and if you haven't i would definatily suggest reading them before you start on this riveriting book.:)

posted by Gallagher_Bookworm on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interest Wanes

The plot and pace is sluggish as Riley slowly uncovers those responsible for zombie killings and vampires slayings. Not enough happens in this book, and the events and actions that do occur don't happen fast enough. There's simply no tension or urgency to this story. Ri...
The plot and pace is sluggish as Riley slowly uncovers those responsible for zombie killings and vampires slayings. Not enough happens in this book, and the events and actions that do occur don't happen fast enough. There's simply no tension or urgency to this story. Riley's investigation is so slow, tedious and predictable that I constantly had to put down the book and focus on something else for awhile before going back to the story. Even the sporadic fighting and bifurcated finale are uninspired and underwhelming.

Similarly, the romantic subplot is very predictable and boring. The only thing it convinced me of is Riley's unworthiness for Quinn. He should have dumped her yesterday. As for Kye, he's just another male wolf who doesn't seem to have many talents of his own. Series fans have seen the introduction of a competing wolf alpa thrown into the mix before. It simply doesn't interest me.

As for the soul mate crap, I hate it. I hate it in this book and in every other book that uses it. Free will (and the freedom to choose one's own mate) should never be overridden by some supernatural and/or biochemical reaction. Sexual attraction and satisfaction takes place in the mind not the soul. Regardless of whether Riley's soul(s) is/are vampiric and/or lupine, she has only one brain when in human form, and that brain should choose its mate.

Moreover, Riley's rampant libido was fine when she was a free and easy wolf/vampire going to the clubs, but now those incessant and rapacious urges are just over-exploited excuses to introduce new sexual partners and/or grossly contrived/overdone sexual tension(s) within the series. Further, as evidenced by her ceaseless sexual appetite for sundry others throughout this novel and the series (including, but not limited to, Kade, Kye, and previously Kellen), Riley undeniably knows that Quinn is not (and will never be) 'enough' for her. Consequently, her decision to string Quinn along, (when she knows he loves and wants only her), is incredibly selfish and just plain wrong.

posted by dalnewt on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interest Wanes

    The plot and pace is sluggish as Riley slowly uncovers those responsible for zombie killings and vampires slayings. Not enough happens in this book, and the events and actions that do occur don't happen fast enough. There's simply no tension or urgency to this story. Riley's investigation is so slow, tedious and predictable that I constantly had to put down the book and focus on something else for awhile before going back to the story. Even the sporadic fighting and bifurcated finale are uninspired and underwhelming.

    Similarly, the romantic subplot is very predictable and boring. The only thing it convinced me of is Riley's unworthiness for Quinn. He should have dumped her yesterday. As for Kye, he's just another male wolf who doesn't seem to have many talents of his own. Series fans have seen the introduction of a competing wolf alpa thrown into the mix before. It simply doesn't interest me.

    As for the soul mate crap, I hate it. I hate it in this book and in every other book that uses it. Free will (and the freedom to choose one's own mate) should never be overridden by some supernatural and/or biochemical reaction. Sexual attraction and satisfaction takes place in the mind not the soul. Regardless of whether Riley's soul(s) is/are vampiric and/or lupine, she has only one brain when in human form, and that brain should choose its mate.

    Moreover, Riley's rampant libido was fine when she was a free and easy wolf/vampire going to the clubs, but now those incessant and rapacious urges are just over-exploited excuses to introduce new sexual partners and/or grossly contrived/overdone sexual tension(s) within the series. Further, as evidenced by her ceaseless sexual appetite for sundry others throughout this novel and the series (including, but not limited to, Kade, Kye, and previously Kellen), Riley undeniably knows that Quinn is not (and will never be) 'enough' for her. Consequently, her decision to string Quinn along, (when she knows he loves and wants only her), is incredibly selfish and just plain wrong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Diserering wait

    The new keri autrthur book has had me re-read the other six novels. This book has to be as exciting as the others and if you haven't i would definatily suggest reading them before you start on this riveriting book.:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    >> It is a good read. I found the whole Kye thing irritati

    >> It is a good read. I found the whole Kye thing irritating. I do not get it. A few issues with a death~ no spoilers here, but, it was disappointing. Keri is really a great author and does a wonderful job creating this world. I just wish Riley could go two chapters without getting crotch twitch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    awesome

    Awesome Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    good read

    great book really enjoy all the books from the RILEY JENSON SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Move over Anita Blake!

    If you like the Anita Blake series, you'll love this one. You've got your sexy vampire/werewolf hybrid, mystery, the ability to commune with the dead, multiple hunky male interests, serious ass-kicking skills and none of Anita's inhabitions! Keri Arthur also has the annoying ability to end her books at a moment guaranteed to make you go out and buy the next one TODAY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series

    This is another great book to the series. I can't put this series down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Good Read

    I like all of her books. This is another good one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ?

    LUV THE SERIES...THIS WAS GIID BUT SHE IS STARTING TO GET SOO STRANGE IT IS OFF PUTTING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!!

    Keri Arthur is a brilliant writer. As the seventh book in the series, it is every bit as entertaining as the first novel. The momentum of the story just keeps on building, and I can't wait for the next novel!! The characters and the plots are extremely well-developed, and I will definitely remember them 10 years down the road!

    If you liked this series, you will also like the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton. Also, for some fun werewolf novels, also try Lori Handeland's Nightcreature series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy Vamps, Hot Weres, What else does a girl need.

    From book one this series had me! Deadly Desire was by far the best of the series so far. Riley Jenson is not all powerful and definitely takes a beating, but she definitaly kicks butt and takes names.

    I love it!

    If you are a fan of the Anita Blake series then this is the next series for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good

    I love all the Riley Jenson series, this one was very good, I like the ending a lot, I liked the fact that Queen was part of the story on this one. For some reason I'm in love with Queen, so I always want to see him in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Riley Jenson Chronicle!

    Once again Keri Arthur does not disappoint with this new Guardian Series tale. Poor Riley and her confusing love life! She has 2 cases she is trying to solve along with her problematic love issues!! This installment has plenty of the adventure, hot romance, and exciting plot twists that will have you reeling and crying for poor Riley. Kudos to you Keri for another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Get Enough

    I really like the turn this book took...last but not least. Although it had it's usual violence, blood and darkness the story was a little more in tuned with emotions this time. I found it very touching in parts. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series of books and I hope she keeps them coming in the future. Keri Arthur is suck an outstanding author and I would highly recommend her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing read

    I would highly recommend all of Keri Arthur's books in this series. This one is no exception. I could not put the book down once I started reading it and finished it in less than a day. Ms. Arthur has a wonderful skill allowing the readers to fall in love with all her characters no matter how minor of a role they may have. This story got even more deeper into the mind of Riley and she makes you truly feel the conflicts this character has with both her werewolf and vampire sides as well as the souls of each. Riley finding her werewolf mate was truly a surprise, but the fact that she doesn't like him adds to the drama and keeps you hanging on to literally every word in this story. I can't wait for the next book to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The drama continues...*posible spoilers*

    Fate just can't leave Riley alone. In the latest of this series, Riley once again has relationship troubles. It isn't until the end that we the readers get to understand that this latest bump in her love life might just well end it. Besides her personal drama, Riley must work two cases for the Directorate--filling the book with action as well as drama. This book did not disappoint and was everything I expect from a Keri Arthur novel. Humor, action, romance, drama. I can't wait what Arthur cooks up in her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps Getting Better

    I have loved this series from the start and as I suspected this book did not disappoint. It was nice to see Riley find her wolf soul mate, to bad she can't stand the guy and poor Quinn let's hope he can find a way to share because that relationship is hot. Lots of action as always and the break neck pace at which it travels leaves the reader feeling tired but wanting more and wishing the book didn't have to end. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Great Read

    Good book to read. Really loved Quinn in this book. Felt bad for him in the end-I hope they stay together. Interesting twist with Kye. Can't wait to read the next one to see what happens with that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16