Customer Reviews for

Deadly Lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Fabulous

    A must read series. All 3 books were outstanding. They keep you guessing the entire time. The characters are well developed and have great chemistry. Edge of your seat suspense and amazingly sexy. And kudos to the author for having such satisfying endings. Well played out, not so abrupt as most. Loved it !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When you have nothing left to fear what still scares you?

    FBI Special Agent Samantha Kennedy has chased down the darkness of death and survived to come back and run down yet another fiend. She was once a victim but never sacrificed her beliefs in the system to put away the people that commit the crimes. But when she is face-to-face with a killer that enjoys hurting his victims as much as he does killing them Sam has to ask herself if she is strong enough to take this on and solve the crime? Being part of an elite FBI task force is an honor and Sam knows how to do her job she just is not sure she is able to get past the nightmares and perform the duties as requested.

    Meeting Max Ridgeway was supposed to be a one night encounter but after spending an amazing evening with him she can't let him go and he feels the same. When Max's brother falls prey to the kidnappers she winds up not only in his bed but right in Max's face as an investigator trying to find Quinlan. Sam chases down leads and runs around in circles following false leads and out of control ransom requests. The FBI can't do this without Sam being at the top of her game and Sam is distracted by Max as well as her history with another serial killer that tried to kill and still haunts her.

    As the victim count starts to rise and questions about Max and his involvement start to surface what will Sam do - love him or leave him? All fingers are pointing in one direction and Max has the past to match up with the present crime so what is he really up to and who is he playing for the fool?

    As Max and Samantha start revealing secrets to one another and the curtain of doubt is lifted they become more attached and both start to trust the other. Their pasts are both filled with baggage but both know that together they can conquer anything that goes bump in the night.

    This series has always been a winner and never fails to scare you to death and still make you go ahhh what a sweet love story. Cynthia Eden can write in all genres but I am in love with these characters and hope that Hyde has a story in there somewhere waiting to be told.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The third Deadly SSD police procedural romance is a powerful thriller

    A predatory psychopath devastated FBI Serial Service Division Special Agent Samantha Kennedy. The Fed slowly heals mentally while her superior Hyde has doubts with her being on the Jeremy Briar vicious murder case as he sent her into that Phoenix fiasco. Although she conceals her trepidations behind a badge of confidence that she knows is false; Hyde remains hesitant that she is capable of performing her field work at this time.

    Sam meets and is attracted to Max Ridgeway. She uses sex with Max to regain her self esteem. However, she keeps vanishing almost immediately after and refuses to tell him anything about herself. When someone kidnaps Max's younger brother for ransom, Sam gets involved; leaving Max to wonder who his beloved truly is.

    The third Deadly SSD police procedural romance is a powerful thriller due to the spotlight on Samantha, a secondary player in the previous entries (see Deadly Fear and Deadly Heat) whose teammates and superior worry she does not have what it takes anymore; she uses sex to keep the demons away. However, though she struggles with trepidation, this time Max who refuses to allow her to run away from him is her impetus. With an unexpected potentially deadly twist enhancing the suspense, this is a great entry in a fantastic series with Monica on deck.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Love the book

    Loved Max and Sam together nice twist and turns in the story line also love it with a contractor and SSD great couple thanks for the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Riveting series

    Wish to see more of this series. Loved the romance and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Amazing story filled with action and steam!! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    The third in this series. Loved the suspense and the twisted mi

    The third in this series. Loved the suspense and the twisted mind of the kidnapper. The romance between Sam and Max was HOT. A great thrill ride . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series...

    I enjoyed reading the first two books in this series, but I LOVED Deadly Lies. I have been reading books like this for a while and normally the ending doesn't surprise me anymore... it's about the character development and great story lines even if I know who dunnit before the last page. Not the case with Lies. Each new twist kept the suspense building until the end. I hope this series will continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite of the series thus far.

    I jumped right from Deadly Heat into this one. So it almost seemed as if it was just an "extension" to the other book. The story line is different, but the characters are from the first two in the series. So by the time I made it to this third book I was so familiar with them that it was as if I really knew who they were and how they operated.

    This book follows Samantha, who has some serious problems in the first book. But she's dealing and is back to do what she can to help her team. I really connected with Samantha. She's very smart, and although she's a bit timid at times she can be strong when she needs to. She kind of reminds me of myself. While I like the rest of the characters in the series, and both of the previous books were really good I have to say that this is my favorite so far.

    I've become kind of attached to these characters and I really hope that Eden keeps this series going. It can be a bit difficult to read, as (I've said before) Eden's ability to get inside the head of the killer is a bit creepy. But the writing is great and the story keeps you guessing. With this one I thought I had it figured out, boy was I wrong!

    A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. This is not a paid review and is a truthful and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Awesome Book of Deadly Series

    I have read all of the books in Cynthia's Deadly series and these books are amazing. Deadly Lies brings you back together with all of the people in the previous two books.
    Samantha serves on the SSD team, an FBI team devoted to solving serial murder cases. Sam is their computer genius. Samantha has suffered her own horrors which started in childhood and ended in a previous case meant to destroy Sam. After months of therapy she is determined to prove herself as a valuable member of the team. She's seen her share of horrific tortures that humans can inflict on others. She seeks solace in the arms of someone she thinks will be a one night stand and help her to clear her head and feel alive once again.
    Max is a successful businessman. But that success did not come easy. He has a secret from his childhood that haunts him to this day. His stepfather is a rich, successful man and Max is determined to prove his worthiness to his stepfather. So working long hours he fills his nights with casual sex until he meets Samantha then everything changes. He has feelings for her until he discovers her deception. Her lies could be deadly. It may cost him more then he ever bargained for. When a deadly killer strikes Max and his family, he is determined to do everything to keep his promise made to his mother on her deathbed, even if it costs him everything.
    Cynthia Eden writes romantic suspense with twisted villains who will shock you everytime. This book is a must read for all romantic suspense lovers. This series was by far one of my favorite series read in the past year. Its a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!!

    This book was great. I hope there will be another book in this series because it's to good just to stop now. They all have you on the edge of your seat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deadly Indeed

    Award-winning author Cynthia Eden writes paranormal romances and romantic suspense novels. She is currently very busy writing her stories for Grand Central Publishing and Kensington Brava. She has always wanted to write, and particularly enjoys creating stories about monsters, vampires, werewolves, and even the real-life monsters that populate her romantic suspense stories. Cynthia graduated summa cum laude from the University of South Alabama where she studied Sociology and Communication. Cynthia has worked as a college admissions counselor, a teacher, and as an editor. Other titles include: Eternal Hunter, Midnight Sins, and Hotter After Midnight.

    FBI Special Agent Samantha Kennedy is still haunted by her past. On a previous case for the Serial Services Division, she was abducted and forced to endure her worst fear by a mad man. Her fellow agents aren't sure she's ready to return yet, so she pretends to be a more confident and completely in control woman. In an attempt to keep the darkness at bay, she shares an unbridled passion with a handsome stranger. But personal and professional lines are crossed when successful entrepreneur Max Ridgeway's brother is the next in a line of kidnappings targeting rich families. Some victims have returned with scars, some have returned in pieces. The attraction between Max and Sam is undeniable, but neither is who they seem. Yet they must trust each other to work this case of deadly lies or Samantha's nightmares will become all to real... again.

    This is the third book in the SSD series with Deadly Fear and Deadly Heat coming before. Though part of a series, these are stand alone reads. I didn't find this book near as haunting and powerful as the first two, but nonetheless it was a stellar read. Mostly in part because of the author's detail to post traumatic stress syndrome and working it into the plotline for her heroine.

    After reading all three books in this series, what stands out most memorable to me is the epilogues, told through the point of view of Hyde, the head of SSD. He has his own traumatic past and reasons for joining this division of the FBI, which we learn little by little at the end of every book. I don't know if this is the last book in the series or not, but I hope not for several reasons, especially Hyde's.

    As with all Cynthia's books, she spins a web of lies, murder, and deceit so deep you must keep reading or succumb to insomnia. The secondary characters are essential and interesting, the plot is fast-paced, the romance hot, and the setting vivid. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved

    I read all 3 books in this series... just finished this one, loved it. Cynthia Eden keeps you hanging on the whole time. loved it... hope she comes out with another book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    AN ACTION PACKED,SET ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT THRILLER!!DEADLY LIES BY CYNTHIA EDEN

    DEADLY LIES by Cynthia Eden is a heart thumping action packed romantic suspense set in present day Washington,DC. This is the third in "The Deadly Series",Book One,"Deadly Fear",Book Two, "Deadly Heat",but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with twists,turns,depth,details and is action packed from the first page to the last. It has sex,lust, passion,secrets, murder, suspense, romance, betrayal,lies,mystery,a vicious serial killer, struggles with fear,danger,SSD unit(Serial Service Division),FBI,family betrayal,trust issues, finding true love an not letting go of that love. The hero, Max,is sexy, handsome, an entrepreneur,has secrets and attracted to the heroine. The heroine, Samantha, is sexy,smart, mysterious, has secrets,an SSD agent,is a genius with computers, on the trail of a serial killer and out for a one night stand to forget her fears and feel alive again....enter Max.For Max,one night is not nearly enough time with the beautiful,sexy Samantha. They soon meet again,at a party,and their attraction is undeniable.But then all hell breaks lose, Max's stepbrother,Quinlan,is kidnapped.A ransom is demanded or they will find him in pieces.There have been several others,kidnapped and killed.NO POLICE,or they find pieces of him. Max does not know that Samantha is an SSD agent,she goes with him to his stepfather's house,secretly letting her team know another kidnapped.Some secrets are revealed,and together Samantha and Max embark on a roller coaster ride,while trying to trap a ring of bloodthirsty kidnappers.When the truth comes to light,terror is relived,love blooms,sacrifices made,and devastation of a family is lost.If you enjoy the TV show "Criminal Minds" you will definite enjoy this one. This is a fast paced, action packed,survival,terror filled,heart thumping story of a merciless,vicious,psychopath killer who could be one of your family.I would highly recommend this book,but BE WARNED it is a set on the edge of your seat thriller.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Forever,an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    After reading Deadly Lies, I have decided that Cynthia Eden has moved up to one of my all-time favorite authors. I fell in love with this book and couldn't go to sleep after reading it. I highly recommend Cynthia Eden to my fellow readaholics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4