Customer Reviews for

Deadly Little Games (Touch Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

The best of the Touch Series novels!!!!!!!!!!

This book is completely and 100% AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! The first two were amazing, of course, but this one is definitely the BEST! I read it at one sitting because I just couldn't put it down!!! Ahhh!!!!! But be warned: the ending made me wanna CRY!!!!!!! I completely wasn...
This book is completely and 100% AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! The first two were amazing, of course, but this one is definitely the BEST! I read it at one sitting because I just couldn't put it down!!! Ahhh!!!!! But be warned: the ending made me wanna CRY!!!!!!! I completely wasn't expecting what was to happen and to have THAT happen! OMG a book has NEVER made me feel like that before! Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it NOW!

posted by book_nerd0606 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Touch Fans may want to skip this one.. Brought to you by OBS re

Touch Fans may want to skip this one..

Brought to you by OBS reviewer member Annabell

I have been a fan of Stolarz’s Touch series since the books first came out. Camelia, Ben, Wes, and Kimmie were such great written characters. The mystery behind Camelia and Ben...
Touch Fans may want to skip this one..

Brought to you by OBS reviewer member Annabell

I have been a fan of Stolarz’s Touch series since the books first came out. Camelia, Ben, Wes, and Kimmie were such great written characters. The mystery behind Camelia and Ben’s powers was a wonderful journey to go on. The suspense throughout each of the books builds gradually and one of my favorite things (from the first book) was the stalker journal entries. I liked the way the antagonists were developed in each book. I had liked the way the story was told from Camelia’s point of view since she was a good hearted and relatable character.

So you could imagine my excitement at being able to finally have the chance to read the third installment . . . But my joy was soon depleted. Camelia and Ben get lost in Deadly Little Games. Camiela is so unsure of herself and she makes choices that made me really dislike her. Ben isn’t really part of the story and when he is all he does is whine about Camelia getting closer to Adam and act too much like a punk (not in a good way). Wes and Kimmie are still their banter witty selves which I was grateful for. They were the only salvageable part to the book, outside of the creepy psych sessions with the killer.

The plot was sterile and dragged on to the point of numbing. The entire book basically consisted of Camiela and Adam driving around in his car or hanging out at his apartment (instead of Camiela working her relationship with Ben) discussing the killer who is after Adam, but for some reason they never bother going to the cops even though Camiela keeps saying they should. There was just no point to the plot! The two main characters get completely lost. Adam, the secondary main character, is shallow and has no common sense or brains whatsoever. The revelation of who the villain is, was incredibly anti-climatic and the villain was just so boring and whinny!

I had to force myself to read and finish the book. I kept hoping there would be a point where the story would liven up but sadly, to the bitter end, the story remained just as pointless from the first page. The ending was disastrous!

For fans of the Touch series, you may want to skip over this one and wait for the next installment. Crossing my fingers that the author will redeem herself and bring back the characters I once enjoyed reading.

This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

posted by Openbooksociety_dot_com on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best of the Touch Series novels!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is completely and 100% AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! The first two were amazing, of course, but this one is definitely the BEST! I read it at one sitting because I just couldn't put it down!!! Ahhh!!!!! But be warned: the ending made me wanna CRY!!!!!!! I completely wasn't expecting what was to happen and to have THAT happen! OMG a book has NEVER made me feel like that before! Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it NOW!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    I was in barnes and noble today, saw the book and was like i thought it didnt come out till the 28th. either way i got it and its amazing i already finished it and absolutly loved it. its keeps you hooked leaving you wanting to read more. the only thing im not happy about is waiting for the next one to come out.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ! Best in the series!

    It just keeps getting better and better! This book was soooo good. It surpassed all of my expectations. Lots of action and suspense with equal amount of romance. I did not want this story to end and now I am left waiting and anticipating the next in the series. A must read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait.

    This is definitely first on my "Books to Get" list. The series is beautiful and I loved the first two books. Laurie Stoalarz does excellent with suspense/horror.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait

    I can't wait for this book. I read Deadly Little Secrets and loved it. Then I read Deadly little Lies and also loved it. Hopefully Adam doesn't come back and Ben won't leave again. Well we'll have to wait and read!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Do you love mysterious novels? well hers an amazing novel, Deadl

    Do you love mysterious novels? well hers an amazing novel, Deadly Little Games by Laurie Faria Stloraz..Deadly little games is an amazing novel that will have you hanging on to the edge of your seat while reading this.Honestly this book is filled with so much intensity and mystery on every page. Using techniques like flash backs, flash forwards and also verbal irony makes this novel so much more interesting, exciting, nervous and intense. Every page is filled with nerve racking news that keeps the reader hooked. I personal was hooked o this novel, i stayed up late reading chapter after chapter not able to release the book from my hands, i couldn't put it down.This novel was amazing, terrific and highly recommended. Deadly little games, this novel is about high school juniors Camelia and Ben, her boyfriend. Ben and Camelia have discovered a powerful bond. They both possess the power of Psychometry, the ability to see the future through touch. For Ben, this gift is an frightening liability. When Ben senses a strong threat or betrayal, and risks losing control. Camelias gift is more mysterious. When Camelia works with clay, (her hobby) her hands sculpt clues her mind doesn't yet understand. Before Ben or Camelia has a chance to fully grasp their abilities, anew danger arrives, but this time Camelia is not the target like in previous books. Adam is,a familiar face from Ben's past is drawn into a puzzle like game that he cant solve alone.Knowing his life is on the line Camelia knows she needs to to help figure out what is going on here. As all of the clues and messages pile up, Camelia must decide whether to help Adam and risk losing Ben because he doesn't like the idea of his girlfriend helping someone he doesn't like. Camelia knows she has to do something fast, she doesn't want to lose Ben but she also doesn't want to suffer the consequences with feeling so guilt if something terribly wrong does happen to Adam. But in these games, who can be trusted? Laurie Faria Stoloraz did an amazing job with this novel and I rely did enjoy this book. I now can say I have a favorite novel that I enjoyed and mean it. This novel had a lot of detail and thought put into it, one of the things I connected with while reading this is that it takes place in a high school age group. I felt like I wanted to be there to experience what was going on in all the drama and confusion. With in every chapter there was a hook at the beginning that made me never put the book down. Id promise myself to only five to six chapters a night but by the time i would notice, ten chapters had been read already, I just fell in love with this book. Although this novel was a thumbs up, I do have some dislikes. I felt like the ending of this novel could have been a lot better, the way it ended made me feel a little incomplete. After all the drama and confusion was done with, to have an ending like that was sort of a bummer for me. that was pretty much the only down side to this novel, though it was probably the most important part. Other than that i loved this book and it rely did inspire me to keep reading and to know that there are books out there that will catch your interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I just love the Touch series. I never know what to expect. These

    I just love the Touch series. I never know what to expect. These read really fast, but they are so good you won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Camelia is...

    Stupid. I cant tell you how much i hate her... She's lying, and hurting, and complaining. Luckily for us, all the other characters remain the same. Wes and Kimmie are still the same; jokers. Always making me laugh. Ben is still... the same. I used to like Camelia, but now she's a stupid girl who can't make up her mind. (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of the best series I've read in such a long time!...I love Laurie though! I think she is a great author! Let's just say I read all 4 books in this series in 2.5 days!!!! Does that explain how excellent they are!!!! Each one you but you HAVE to immediately buy the next to find out what happens! I can't wait for number 5!!!! Soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Perfet

    LOVED IT!!!!! when Ben talked about the tatto and being soul matess its perfect the best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Touch Fans may want to skip this one.. Brought to you by OBS re

    Touch Fans may want to skip this one..

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer member Annabell

    I have been a fan of Stolarz’s Touch series since the books first came out. Camelia, Ben, Wes, and Kimmie were such great written characters. The mystery behind Camelia and Ben’s powers was a wonderful journey to go on. The suspense throughout each of the books builds gradually and one of my favorite things (from the first book) was the stalker journal entries. I liked the way the antagonists were developed in each book. I had liked the way the story was told from Camelia’s point of view since she was a good hearted and relatable character.

    So you could imagine my excitement at being able to finally have the chance to read the third installment . . . But my joy was soon depleted. Camelia and Ben get lost in Deadly Little Games. Camiela is so unsure of herself and she makes choices that made me really dislike her. Ben isn’t really part of the story and when he is all he does is whine about Camelia getting closer to Adam and act too much like a punk (not in a good way). Wes and Kimmie are still their banter witty selves which I was grateful for. They were the only salvageable part to the book, outside of the creepy psych sessions with the killer.

    The plot was sterile and dragged on to the point of numbing. The entire book basically consisted of Camiela and Adam driving around in his car or hanging out at his apartment (instead of Camiela working her relationship with Ben) discussing the killer who is after Adam, but for some reason they never bother going to the cops even though Camiela keeps saying they should. There was just no point to the plot! The two main characters get completely lost. Adam, the secondary main character, is shallow and has no common sense or brains whatsoever. The revelation of who the villain is, was incredibly anti-climatic and the villain was just so boring and whinny!

    I had to force myself to read and finish the book. I kept hoping there would be a point where the story would liven up but sadly, to the bitter end, the story remained just as pointless from the first page. The ending was disastrous!

    For fans of the Touch series, you may want to skip over this one and wait for the next installment. Crossing my fingers that the author will redeem herself and bring back the characters I once enjoyed reading.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    This book is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love the mysterious and suspenseful nature of it. Laurie Faria Stolarz puts a lot of thought and detail into this. Who doesn't love teens with Psychometry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    This is good

    The touch series is the best series ever written. On the edge of your seat excitement. I love these books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved the first two books and i hope this is just as exciting and just plain amazing as the other books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    good reaf Good read

    Very descriptive! Great detailing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Ben v.s. Adam

    I believe she belongs with ben. They have way more in common. Be rules!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Truly Different YA Paranormal

    I read this book awhile ago, not realizing that I hadn't written a review on it until now, so I went back and took another look at the book. The Touch books are a great young adult paranormal mystery series. There is more here than just a romance and the paranormal isn't overrunning the story or overshadowing the characters - it is part of their being, so nothing ever feels forced or tired.

    Deadly Little Games is the third book in the series and the mysteries don't let up. While there is a little less excitement in this installment (I think that is only because it isn't Camelia who is in direct danger the entire time), it still moves with a quick pace. Ben and Camelia's power of psychometry is different from all of the immortal, vampire, werewolves type of paranormal, so for those looking for something completely different from the majority of the reads out there - this is a great choice. Faria also has a series called Blue is for Nightmares, which also falls along the line of being different from the usual paranormal. I can't wait for Deadly Little Voices (A Touch Novel), the fourth in the Touch series, which will be out December 6, 2011.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Awsome but could be improved

    I love these books so much amd to be honest i have dark sacks under my eyes because of it. But i just hate ho repetitive it s. Its like "series of unfortuat events" all over again. But its still one o the best books ive ever read. Even though im probably the only 9 year old who likes to read this in the dark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better

    Okay whatever I said about the last one, this one was such an improvement, especially with Ben and Kimmie. So four books in and already I was thinking whether to give this a 4 or 5 stars. I figure 4.5 would be better. So yet again, you got Camelia helping out Adam, from the last book, where there's been weird and of course, creepy crossword puzzles. Where in the last one, there was diary entries, in this one you have patient recordings and the like. And it made me like not only that each book has something different while thrown into the story. It makes me like, the way Ms. Stolarz writes and can still have that creepy atmosphere throughout. Whether its slow or fast paced you can't help but keep reading. No wonder shes one of my favorite authors. Anyway, I wonder what the next one will have. And if there will be some things brought up. Very, very good sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15