Customer Reviews for

Deadly Little Secrets: The Minister, His Mistress, and a Heartless Texas Murder

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

For Anyone Who Ever Doubted He Was Guilty, Read This Book

Perhaps I am a little too close to be objective. I love Linda Dulin almost as much as I loved my own mother. She was the greatest teacher to ever grace the halls of Gatesville High School. I owe her a lot that I will never be able to repay. She taught me more than I can...
Perhaps I am a little too close to be objective. I love Linda Dulin almost as much as I loved my own mother. She was the greatest teacher to ever grace the halls of Gatesville High School. I owe her a lot that I will never be able to repay. She taught me more than I can ever express. When her beautiful daughter, and my friend, Kari died I was shocked at the news. When Linda Dulin told me what she could about the case, I was shocked at the things she revealed to me. As I watched the trial I shed tears for my friend and my former teacher. Yes, I was convinced Matt Baker was guilty long before I read this book; however, it is my opinion that after reading this account even the doubters will believe.

It's a story that shows the tenacity of wanting to find the truth because of the love of two parents for their child and their grandchildren. The book gives details that some of us never knew, and lays the case out very well to prove, not just beyond a reasonable doubt, but beyond a shadow of a doubt that Matthew Dee Baker is a murderer and belongs behind bars for the rest of his life.

I like true crime books anyway. Carlton Stowers, Ann Rule and now Kathryn Casey are some of my favorite authors in this genre. This book is convincing, well written and thoroughly researched. I highly recommend it to anyone who knows the story and to those who do not. A must read.

posted by 14117672 on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bravo!

Bravo!

posted by 17440812 on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    For Anyone Who Ever Doubted He Was Guilty, Read This Book

    Perhaps I am a little too close to be objective. I love Linda Dulin almost as much as I loved my own mother. She was the greatest teacher to ever grace the halls of Gatesville High School. I owe her a lot that I will never be able to repay. She taught me more than I can ever express. When her beautiful daughter, and my friend, Kari died I was shocked at the news. When Linda Dulin told me what she could about the case, I was shocked at the things she revealed to me. As I watched the trial I shed tears for my friend and my former teacher. Yes, I was convinced Matt Baker was guilty long before I read this book; however, it is my opinion that after reading this account even the doubters will believe.

    It's a story that shows the tenacity of wanting to find the truth because of the love of two parents for their child and their grandchildren. The book gives details that some of us never knew, and lays the case out very well to prove, not just beyond a reasonable doubt, but beyond a shadow of a doubt that Matthew Dee Baker is a murderer and belongs behind bars for the rest of his life.

    I like true crime books anyway. Carlton Stowers, Ann Rule and now Kathryn Casey are some of my favorite authors in this genre. This book is convincing, well written and thoroughly researched. I highly recommend it to anyone who knows the story and to those who do not. A must read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting from beginning to end. Kathryn Casey is one of my fa

    Interesting from beginning to end. Kathryn Casey is one of my favorite True Crime authors. Long on background information and the investigation and trial is condensed and not repeptitive. The story moves along quickly. This guy is always up to something. I bought this for the Nook. Usually the pictures on the Nook are small and hard to see, but this book has large, clear pictures. If you've never read a Kathryn Casey book make sure you check out her other books. They are all good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Strange personality of minister revealed along with his secrets and cover-ups over the years.

    This was a book you will not put down. This man thought he was above the law, God, and everyone else, and he thought he could create a new life by getting rid of his beautiful, smart, well-liked wife. I am so glad the parents pursued this case which was not investigated properly in the beginning. The facts are obvious to the reader but the local police saw nothing amiss with the crime scene. A horrible thing for his young daughters to live with...the fact he plotted and killed their mother with no feelings of remorse or sadness. He is where he belongs now. Makes you curious about how the other daughter died....was he involved??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    A plus

    I have followed the news of this case and eagerly awaited the release of this book. Kathryn Casey is one of my favorites and this meticulously researched book does not disappoint. Reading took over my sleeping hours but it was well worth the lost sleep. Well written - grabs you on the first page and doesn't let go. A must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Wonderfully written.

    Wonderfully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo!

    Bravo!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Unbelievabke

    Another case of real life that is more intriguing than fictiin

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Good book; not outstanding for the genre but good

    Fun book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    What a tragedy!

    My heart goes out to the friends and family. This story broke my heart. I found it hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Riveting.

    Glad justice prevailed. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Wow

    This is the best book i have read, Kathryn pulls you into this book, you feel love, anger, emotion....she dont go on n on as some books..Matt is a evil monster..my heart goes to Kari her loving beautiful girls and her family..i feel Matt a supposed loving father had somthing to do with Kassidy's death, i cried as i read the story unfold about a darling lil angel who lost a life she fought so hard to keep..he can keep claiming his innocence but i feel his guilt.....i was so touched by this book i could go on and on..Bn

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommendation

    Very, very good book. I followed this case when it was featured on 48 Hours, Matt Baker and his delusions of grandeur fascinate me. I am planning to read some other true crime novels by Kathryn Casey,. It was a great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Excellent Research

    Read this with no previous knowledge of case. Casey does great in character development and organized story line. It is a page turner; found myself thinking of case even when not reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great book!

    Very interesting book, couldn't put it down! She is becoming a favorite writer of mine! Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    excellent - highly recommend

    This was a very well written book that kept your attention. I could not put it down. The killer was just a constant source of "I just can't believe this personality is a minister". He never ceased to amaze with his ego. While I am sure he is not unique in some of his actions, he did of course escalate to murder in the end with what I believe was the help of another should be ethical profession-- that of a teacher. Don't pass on this one, its a very good true crime read you should pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    hjhjg

    Excellent. Could not put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great Book!

    This was a great book. A wonderful read especially if you live a mile or two from where the Baker's lived and the last church where he was a pastor. So glad the Dulins finally got justice for their daughter and granddaughers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    The first pages of this latest TC book by Kathryn Casey grabs yo

    The first pages of this latest TC book by Kathryn Casey grabs you and you can't let go until the last word. You don't have to know about the case, or the family, you are hooked! I just recently found this author and am working my way thru her books. Each one I've read so far have been captivating, I still have 2 to go, and can't choose a BEST one, they all are great. I will be looking forward to more in the future ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    This is page turner if there ever was one. Casey takes a case ap

    This is page turner if there ever was one. Casey takes a case apart and
    leaves no stone unturned. Once one picks up the book, there is no
    turning back. She is a master at her craft. I have read all Casey's
    true murder books. She is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Wow - great book. I can't believe it could happen but then aga

    Wow - great book. I can't believe it could happen but then again, I
    have met people like this in my past. I really enjoyed it. - Cheryl Engel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2